We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rembrandts

Rembrandts
Ranked #7 of 74 Restaurants in Eagle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Coffee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Really great ambiance. The food is good but it takes forever to get your order. The service is slow. Very slow. Coffee drinks are okay, but I am a "its about the coffee not the creamer kinda gal" I like to taste my coffee in my latte. As I said the food is good but if you are really hungry or pressed for time this is not your place. Always busy though!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thatwillbesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
150 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Tasty eats at fair prices in cool vibe setting with poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Tasty eats at fair prices and funky fun vibe in a universally accessible space re-purposed from a church. That's the good stuff. Woefully disorganized service leading to painfully long delays in the simplest of orders, lukewarm coffee and no soap in the loo. That's the needs improvement stuff. It was a good enough stop for us on a Sunday about noon for a bite of brunch. We might try it again next time we're in town but it wouldn't be at the top of our list.

COOL VIBE: Seating inside or out on a nice patio. Bright colors on walls and furnishings with a mix of sofa seating with coffee tables and standard height tables and chairs in the largest dining room and in standard height tables and chairs in a smaller dining area at the back. Ramp built at the side of the building to allow people who can't climb the stairs to get in the door. Including people with disabilities and people pushing strollers. Kudos for good access.

THE DRILL: Stand in line and order at the counter from options printed on blackboard overhead or which appear in the case. Pay for your order, they'll give you a number and bring your food to your table. Eventually.

SLOW SERVICE: The woman sitting at the table next to us nearly wailed, in a comical way, "It's only a lemon bar! They only have to put it on a plate. How can that take fifteen minutes?" She asked a good question about the "how". Because one could see staff bunched in the kitchen and then come out with something on a plate, wander around, go back to the kitchen with plate, come back again to the dining room and wander some more. When they finally found the "home" for whatever they were carrying, eventually our order too. (We waited over 20 minutes for a slice of quiche to be heated and delivered to us along with coffee cake. ) The staff folks were friendly and sorry for the delays. But looks like management has process issues here to fix.

Looking at other TA reviews, seems our experience with service chaos wasn't an anomaly. To have maximum enjoyment at Rembrandt's, I'd say set your expectations to the low side for service and you'll be happy. Because the food and pricing are both good.

GOOD FOOD & VALUE: The poblano chile quiche here was some of the best quiche we've had. Coffee cake too. Serving sizes were so generous that even sharing both items, we couldn't finish them. Two coffees (@$1.75 ea) + one quiche ($6.50) + one coffee cake ($2.25) = $12.25 for eats for two. We thought it a good value.

TIMING TIP: If our Sunday visit was typical for crowds in and out, looks like a good lull to be able to get a seat is around 12:30. Although if your experience is like ours, be prepared to have to bus tables to have a place to sit given the staff seemed to not quite get to it.

THE LOO: I have this thing about hand washing. Which is I choose to do it after using the loo. Yet there was not one drop of soap in the ladies. With the "employees must wash hands signs" posted and not one drop of soap...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piacere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
257 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

After waiting in line for 15 min to get a cup of coffee ( pretty good coffee I have to admit) we did not enjoy that much the excellent ambiance. Service is plain unfriendly, which is not typical for Idaho.
We ordered two cups of coffee , they brought one for my wife and did not bother to bring mine. When asked they said- help yourself. They do not even give a napkin or saucer with the cup of coffee.
We are new to the area, but we will probably stay away from this place.
If you like health food - run away. Check out the 8 inch diameter cinnamon rolls in the picture.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sonostrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere, below par service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a unique place to eat. It used to be a church and it is lovely. The pastries are wonderful, as are the sandwiches and quiches. We have been there many times and always enjoyed the food. However, the service is not good. It is very slow and often the food is not all delivered to the table at once. Because of this, I have begun to find other good lunch places to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GenieBIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

An old church, restored as a cafe, including the alter and stained glass windows. IInteresting to visit, even if you dont order coffee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tami_Sutcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rembrandts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing