We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great establishment right by our hotel”

Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Eagle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999. With three locations in Boise, Eagle and Coeur d'Alene that capture the spirit of Idaho and the Northwest, Bardenay Restaurant and Distillery is a cornerstone of Idaho's restaurant and bar industry. The original establishment is located in a once empty warehouse on the Historic Basque Block in downtown Boise, Idaho. On April 25th, 2000, history was made when we served the first cocktail to included spirits distilled in a restaurant in the US. As the nation's first restaurant distillery, Bardenay has set an industry precedent as the first full service restaurant and bar with the ability to create handcrafted liquor on-site. Our distillers are happy to give tours as time allows. Please ask your server if you are interested in a closer look at our operations. p.s. We are only allowed to sell our fine spirits by the drink. If you would like to purchase a bottle, you may do so at many of our state liquor stores.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great establishment right by our hotel”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We went here with friends that lived in the area. This was a great place to socialize, eat and drink. We sat out back on the patio/deck area - it was chilly that evening and a shame their outdoor heaters were not mobile to pull by tables. Good solid restaurant - no real complaints.

Many different food items to choose from. A number of us had the seafood and everyone enjoyed their entrees. Salads were good also. Service was pretty good given their was not a free seat in the place on a Saturday evening.

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn right next door so this is a plus for those staying at the hotel to have such easy access to this quality a restaurant in the same parking lot.

Highly recommend and we would/will visit again when we return to the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mini6322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    106
    31
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good Food & Varied Menu”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The seared ahi is always a great choice. I ordered the grilled fish tacos and wished the corn tortillas had been grilled so the contents didn't fall through both tortillas. Our server was prompt and attentive keeping our glasses full and needs met. Dessert was offered which isn't always the case in a lot of restaurants. Open and warm feeling atmosphere, but loud.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GourmetAddict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch here three times”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Ate here over a year ago at the recommendation of a friend and was impressed with the service, variety of the menu and the atmosphere. They seem to always people there but the service is always good and the food is better. Haven't been disappointed yet and have ordered something different each time. Friends compliment this restaurant as well. Try it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great bar and food including Gluten Free Menu”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My son and Daughter in Law suggested meeting at Eagle's Bardenay Restaurant and Distillery. We had dined and imbibed at the downtown Boise location and were interested in what the Eagle location had to offer. It was a really good choice. As we entered we observed the high window which exposes the tall and obviously functional and nicely designed Still. Well, that made us thirsty so we began our evening with one of their specials, the Bardenay Bond (Vodka and Gin stirred , not shaken) in a martini glass. We enjoyed the Satay shrimp along with the Ginger Chix as hors d'oeurves while engaging in good conversation about the just completed State Girls Championship Soccer game we had just attended and in which our Granddaughter's team was victorious.

The daily special steak was so popular that it was sold out and so I substituted the Beef Filet which was perfectly cooked and flavored, one of the best I've had. We also enjoyed the Halibut, the Fish Taco and the Gluten Free Tuna Salad. It turns out that the chef's family has a member with the Celiac condition so their separate menu of Gluten Free offerings is larger than you find in most restaurants and certainly carefully prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food,aumbiance, and service”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I love going to this restaurant whether for food or just a drink. the service is always good and the
charizo red bean soup is a must. Sri is are always great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing