We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary skiiing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamarack Resort

Tamarack Resort
Boise
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Extraordinary skiiing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Of all the Western Idaho resorts, Tamarack opened first, and had the best snow. While Bogus was a literal rock garden in places towards the end, I didn't hit one rock the entire season at Tam. 2800 ft of vertical, and rarely a crowd. Because there are no waiting in lines, 3 hrs of skiing at Tam is like 9 hrs of skiing any place else.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fooj888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My New Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I move to Idaho too late for the 2012 ski season, but I didn't miss 2013! I live 8 miles from Tamarack Ski Resort, and it is where I have spent most of my time this winter. The most spectacular thing about this resort is the view from the top of the mountain! A close second would have to be the lack of people! I have never waited in line for a chairlift, but I occasionally have waited for a drink. There is a great variety of terrain and runs, and the snow conditions have been good this year, even though the locals say the snow has been scarce compared to prior years. The only complaint I have is the lack of beginner runs. My girlfriend has been learning to snowboard this year, and the only beginner terrain was a catwalk which is obviously frustrating for a new snowboarder. All in all, a great hometown resort that is a bit of a sleeper. I

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TO419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
355 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great day of skiing! No crowds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had a great day of skiing here on a Saturday in February. No crowds, good snow, beautiful views. What I liked most about skiing in Idaho was that the lift tickets were more than hafl the price of a resort like Vail or Heavenly, with no crowds and good skiing. Tamarack isn't big, but the "trails" (mostly glades) they have offer a lot of variety. So even if you went down the same run twice, it would feel completely different. You can tell they started to put a lot of money into development, and then had to stop. And I hope they get that money again b/c it looks like it'll be really nice when its done. Had some planned mountain expansion too. And some permit only skiing areas for a real back country experience. Definitely go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelreimagined_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been sking at many resorts in Idaho, and Tamarack has some of the most beautiful views I've seen. Also not having to wait in line is a wonderful experience and the feeling of having the mountain to yourself is a unique one.

Helpful?
Thank blurbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascade, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Tracks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I've got to hand it to the home owners association who have kept Tamarack open these past few seasons. It has a great family feel and awesome powder. Go Thursday's for fresh tracks!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarack Resort also viewed

 

Been to Tamarack Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing