We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we expected and more”
Review of Dog Bark Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cottonwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dog Bark Park Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2010

On route Chicago to Seattle, on a great road trip adventure, the only confirmed booking we had was for Dog Bark Park, after being alerted to its existence through a friend who had read Dave Gorman's "America Unchained" book. Me being British and my wife coming from the US east coast, this was our first trip out west and we wanted to meet real people and boy did we! Dennis and Frances are two of the nicest people we have ever met who spent time visiting with us, giving us advice on our travels and talking about a whole host of other things. The room inside "Sweet Willy" was comfortable and clean with so many nice touches including locally home-made produce for us to try. A real novelty and something we will never forget. If your travels take you past Cottonwood, Idaho...don't miss this. No matter if your 8 to 80 and anywhere either side.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoot3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2009

Wish we knew about this place when our boys were younger. Very clean great food and the hosts were the best. Its what Idaho is all about. Great location if you don't mind driving abit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmpWentzvilleMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We had such an amazing time at Dog Bark Park. Dennis & Frances do an excellent job with the B&B and we can't wait to come back. We enjoyed chatting with the, playing with their real dog, and eating all the homemade goodies. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potatomandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We loved this spot. The room, loft and bathroom are surprisingly spacious and comfortable. The food is fantastic (much of it local and organic and home cooked!). The hosts were very gracious and informative. I've recommended this place to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieTrudeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I planned this as a surprise for my wife including the carved stature of our dog that was in the room when we checked in. First thing she saidis we have to get one. It was already hers. the only sad note was checking out. She cried & cuddled our dohg in her arms.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parks-R-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

This B&B is shaped like a giant beagle...which is very Americana and sort of funny. I took my husband there as a "you're in the doghouse" sort of joke and because I thought he would never believe we were staying there, and it was a decent joke. But also a nice stay.

You get the place all to yourself - you rent the whole dog for the night and the owners live offsite. There is an upstairs room that kids can sleep in, but beware that the staircase to the top room (in the dog's head) is really steep and smaller kids might have safety issues (bring a kid gate).

There is a nice bed, a fridge, microwave, games, books and a full adjacent bathroom. The breakfast food is there upon arrival so you can eat when you want. There is no tv or phone, but that can be a plus when you want to get away. There is AC and hot water and the usual amenities.

Cottonwood is in a pretty part of Idaho with lots of nearby outdoor recreation, including rafting, horseback riding, hiking, etc. There is also the Wolf Education Research Center in nearby Winchester where you can visit and see wolves. Restaurants are available in Cottonwood or nearby Grangeville (15 miles). There's a drive in movie theater in Grangeville as well.

Although the hotel is on US 95, there was very little traffic noise. Dogs are welcome, so we were able to bring our dogs and share the experience with them. The hosts are accommodating and laid back. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay for a weekend.

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Missoula, Montana
127
Reviewed January 10, 2006

This place is truly unique & utterly Americana! This bed and breakfast actually is more like a guesthouse because it is a dog-shaped building - a beagle actually - where guests get the whole dog to themselves. Inside it's comfortably and nicecly furnished with a slight dog theme. Breakfast and snack foods are in your room when you check-in. There's a microwave, little frig and everything you might need right there. We had blackberry coffeecake, fresh fruit, rhubarb black walnut muffins and some scrumtious home-made granola, plus dog-shaped cookies on our pillow.
I loved browsing through the wide array of books and magazines; plus there's a good selection of games and puzzles to do. Views of the mountains and farmland were spectacular and we enjoyed spending time visiting the owners at their artists' studio nearby where they fashion wood carvings of mostly dogs by using chainsaws. They are quintessential American entrepeneurs, pursuing a career doing their art & inn.
This is a "must-go" for anyone wanting a laid back, no-where else kind of experience in the most beautiful part of Idaho.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dog Bark Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog Bark Park Inn

Address: 2421 Business Loop 95, Cottonwood, ID 83522-5030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range: $126 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Trip Advisor 2014 Best Quirky Hotel, Idaho's beagle-shaped guest house is as comfortable as it is unique. Being in this dog-house is certainly a good thing! Sleeps 4; queen bed in main quarters and two twin futon mats in cozy loft area. One hour drive from the airport (LWS) in Lewiston, Idaho. Other airports at about four hours drive are Boise Idaho, Missoula Montana & Spokane Washington. Near the famed Hells Canyon of the Snake River National Recreation Area for jet boat tours, hiking, fishing & more. Mid-way between Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks. Dog Bark Park is at the edge of the small town of Cottonwood, Idaho with agricultural prairie views rimmed by rolling hills and mountains. Allow time to unwind here were life feels a bit like yesteryears with welcoming neighbors, uncrowded streets, bird songs, abundant wide skies with starry nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dog Bark Park Hotel Cottonwood
Dog Bark Park Inn Cottonwood, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing