We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Hospitality!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cottonwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at St. Gertrude
Ranked #1 of 2 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle Mountain, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Room and Hospitality!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here with 2 kids. We stayed in the hummingbird sweet, it had a queen size bed in 1 room and the main room had a couch, tv, dining area and half kitchen. The hospitality was excellent. Our breakfast was included and the nuns gave us a tour of the monastery which had neat history and european architecture. We hear there is a tunnel from the highschool next door to the monastery. Maybe they'll show it if you ask. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jansoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
29
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were welcomed to St. Gertrude's Inn by several of the Sisters and made to feel at home. What a lovely place to stay! Our room (the Pheasant Room) was big and comfortable, with all of the comforts of home. The rooms in our suite were extra-clean, and decorated with photos of the Camas Prairie. A basket of goodies including homemade fudge was on the dining table for our enjoyment. There are even rockers on the little patio outside each room for taking in the view of the Big Prairie. Our teenage son made out a comfortable hide-a-bed, and relaxed while my husband and I took a twilight walk. We stopped for a time to watch the deer in the hayfield near the Inn; one doe had twin fawns. We walked up the hill to see the lovely carved Stations of the Cross before returning to our room. We were offered yummy chocolate cake as a bedtime snack, and the Sisters gave us information about breakfast, the Museum, and the Chapel. After a quiet night's sleep, the rising sun awakened us. My husband brought me fresh coffee from the Wren reception room. Our breakfast was wholesome and delicious. After touring the Chapel, Retreat Center, Museum, and Gift Shop we had to head for home. Our son asked me to be sure to write an on-line review, and he said to be sure to say it was "Awesome!" I think that about sums it up! It was a blessing to meet so many of the Sisters, and to receive their special gifts of Benedictine hospitality. The next time I "run away from home," I plan to go to the Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a room based on whether you prefer to wake early (East) or sleep in (West).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had a wonderful experience staying at St. Gertrude's Inn this week. Wonderful hiking in the forest. I was so blessed to see 6 does and a fawn early one morning. Very photographic countryside. I slept great on the wonderful beds and the decor is soooo lovely! Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing The Camas Prairie gives you an awesome view and splendid sunrises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful people. Wonderful room. Hiking trails and history to feel all your senses. An experience I will never forget. Can not thank you enough for caring for us while we visited our Dad in the nursing home in Grangeville. Felt like family when we made the concrete leaves!

Room Tip: Pheasant room has an unending view and a birdhouse on the patio. It is at the end of the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tidderclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asotin, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visiting the bed and breakfast at St. Gertrude's Monastery is like wandering into the kitchen of your favorite grandma. The one that would bake you a chocolate cake for dessert - and serve it warm from the oven - just because. And would pull out the ice cream to go with it because warm chocolate fudge cake with cold ice cream is nearly heaven.

Sister Chanelle met us at the entry to the Inn at St. Gertrude's. It was perhaps the nicest welcoming I've ever experienced. There was no registration card to fill out, no corporate hustle and forced pleasantry. Instead, Chanelle guided my wife and I through the Inn and offered insights into the grounds, little tidbits of history, and put us at ease.

St. Gertrude's Monastery sits just outside of Cottonwood separated from the highway by four miles and a century of memories. The grounds of the Monastery overlook the Camas Prairie to the east - wide, sweeping vistas - and, with a short hike to the upper meadows, the snowcapped Seven Devils Mountains to the south stand against the blue sky.

The Monastery itself, fitted into the hills like a natural outcrop of the blue porphyry quarried on site, was started in 1920 and finished in 1924 though there have been new additions - a school, a spirit center, the Inn - throughout the years. Channele was kind enough to show us the Monastery after breakfast our first morning.

You have a choice for breakfast - either a continental in the Inn or breakfast with the nuns. The fare for the nuns is basic and satisfying but the atmosphere can't be duplicated. I enjoyed their hospitality after spending an hour sitting in the Adirondack rocking chairs on the patio of the Bluebird room, sipping coffee and alternately reading and admiring the view.

The Inn at St. Gertrude's Monastery has all the technology you would expect in a upper class hotel - wifi access, large flat-screen televisions,etc. We didn't use any of it. We didn't miss any of it either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longrunningfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What fun to stay next to the monastery, eat with the sisters (or with other travelers if you wish...or continental breakfast at the Inn), hike the forested trails, see the fantastic rolling farm land of the prairie, watch the sun rise and set, see a fantastic array of stars, drink in the quiet, and float on the super comfortable bed. Our room, The Meadowlark, had rocking chairs, Adirondack chairs on the patio, a homemade quilt to wrap yourself in if you wanted to sit outside in the wee hours. There is a hospitality room with snacks and a lovely evening dessert. Breakfast in the monastery features homemade breads and jams. The internet was fast, but we needed neither internet nor TV because the setting alone was enough to entertain. We went on an hour long hike around the property and did not hit all the trails available. The Benedictine sisters have a mission of hospitality and they know how to make you feel welcome. Don't miss the museum and gift shop on the property. I would love to come for a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iconictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

What a beautiful, serene setting on a hill overlooking the broad expanse of the Camas Prairie in western Idaho! The room (Bluebird) was very clean, comfortable,and nicely appointed. Did not expect flat screen tv and lightening speed WiFi (better than places in big cities). 21st Century meets 1909 monaster!. Welcoming reception, evening snacks, and breakfast were all top notch. The on-site museum features local pioneer artifacts as well as a suprising collection of Asian art. Highly recommended as an off-the-beaten path travel experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patagonia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
14.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
64 reviews
15.2 mi away
Whitebird Summit Ranch
Whitebird Summit Ranch
#1 of 2 in Grangeville
42 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hearthstone Elegant Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. Gertrude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. Gertrude

Property: Inn at St. Gertrude
Address: 465 Keuterville Rd, Monastery of St. Gertrude, Cottonwood, ID 83522-5183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of traditional Benedictine hospitality, the Inn offers four well-appointed rooms with pillow-top mattresses and private baths. Each smoke-free room features beautiful antiques, warm inviting colors and outdoor living space, along with a flatscreen TV and wireless internet access.Enjoy a continental breakfast at the Inn or join the Benedictine Sisters for breakfast in the Monastery Dining Room from 7:30 — 8:30 am (observed in silence on weekdays). The Monastery Dining Room, also called the Refectory, is easily reached through the main Monastery Entrance. In the evenings, luscious, homemade dessert, coffee, tea and hot cocoa are available at the inn.Guests can easily walk into the Monastery forest where they’ll find numerous species of wild birds, a spectacular array of wildflowers, and beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Experience award-winning ecological stewardship and spectacular views of the rolling Camas Prairie, Gospel-Hump Wilderness and Seven Devils mountains. Skiing, fishing, river rafting, golf and biking are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At St. Gertrude Cottonwood, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing