We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, but fair for the price”

The Inn at Priest Lake
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Priest Lake
Ranked #3 of 3 Coolin B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very average, but fair for the price”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

There is nothing special about this place, but the price was fair for where it is (4 miles from beautiful Priest Lake) and what you get. I believe that this hotel was closed for 2-4 years during the great recession, and re-opened this year. I'd like to see them make a go of it, and understand that they may be under-capitalized right now.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs ask for room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had to travel to Northern Idaho for the EMT & Fire Training "skills week" session last week and after reading the reviews of The Inn at Priest Lake, I was a bit concerned about the accommodations.

The hotel has been recently renovated and was far better than I was expecting. Since I was part of the EMS Academy I received a discounted rate of just $60 a night for a suite with a kitchen (stove, mini refrigerator, sink, microwave, dishes and utensils), living room, and Jacuzzi tub, along with a king sized bed.

Since the attached restaurant has not yet reopened after the remodel, The Inn catered all of our meals for the week by bringing in a chef who was amazing. Each delicious meal was something different and no one left hungry. I had never heard of a Bourbon, Bacon, Caramel cake before, but after trying it I want to find it again. Three wonderful tastes combined into one delicious desert, simply incredible.

The staff of The Inn were very pleasant and went out of their way to make sure that we had everything that we needed.

I will be planning a vacation back to the area next summer and we will definitely stay at The Inn at Priest Lake again.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a suite if possible, its well worth it for the conveniences you receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Priest Lake for a family reunion. Luckily, we were not in the room much. As the last reviewer said, there was no hair dryer(and none to borrow), no iron, no frig or microwave and the room had a cat smell. Wealled the staff to check our heater that was continually on, and they couold not fix it. We had to use the air conditioner to balance out the heat n the room. There was no staff from 8:00 at night to 7:00 in the morning but the front door was left open. I did think te room was overpriced for the amenities provided.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwhybark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie D, Manager at The Inn at Priest Lake, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Inn at Priest Lake to stay for your family reunion. In response to your review, I would like to apologize if your stay was not as you would have liked it. It sounds like there was some mis-communication going on - The desk hours during the summer as were posted at the desk and in the rooms were 10 pm on week nights and 11 pm on Fridays/Saturday. Our live in staff member has a an apartment above the desk as is reachable during non-business hours. It's true at this point, we do not have microwaves in our standard rooms (kitchenette rooms are available with microwaves and small fridges), but we do have blow dryers available at the desk for use as well as irons and ironing boards. We hope that you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We admittedly checked in very late and didn't have a reservation. The Inn looks very nice from the outside with big timbers and stone. The rooms are very economy and the walls rattle when other people go in our out of their room. The hotel is very clean, but is nothing special. It's about the same level as a Days Inn.

Make sure you head down into Coolin on the water. Check out the stores, the marina and the view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priest River, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

No frig, no micro, no flat screen, no hairdryer, no breakfast, but oh wait they did have bugs (not bed bugs), a small prehistoric TV (with a whoppin' 6 channels) and hard beds! They say they are going to remodel....they had better because Motel 6 is way better than this place and they don't charge $120.00......yes folks I said $120.00!!!! To their credit, they do have a pool and beautiful trees. You can get a kitchenette for $140.00 but we did not look at those rooms. As of now they will be the same.....let's hope they remodel soon because their rooms are a total ripoff!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrybur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie D, Manager at The Inn at Priest Lake, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn at Priest Lake! In response to your review, the current management company took over in September 2011 and has worked very hard to start upgrading the "tired" rooms. We have completely renovated the lobby and large conference room due to a major water leak last winter. We are in the process of upgrading our satellite service so we can offer more TV channels and will be hopefully putting in flat screen TV's this winter as the budget allows. The plan for next summer is to continue providing a continental breakfast during July & August on the weekends at this point, but potentially adding more days as occupancy allows. For those guests that would like a fridge and a microwave we do have kitchenette rooms available. Thank you again for your input - we appreciate the opportunity to listen to our customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coolin hotels

Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Priest Lake is gorgeous. This motel is a few blocks from the lake, not on the lake. Rate was $115 + tax which I thought was overpriced for their limited amenities. The onsite restaurant/lounge has closed; no fridge; no breakfast provided; no hairdryer; and no decaf coffee (I know, picky, but important.) Even the soap was sparse. Wi-fi available, but not strong signal. It's a clean basic room that is adequate if you don't plan to spend much time at hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie D, Manager at The Inn at Priest Lake, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Unfortunately, this review is about the previous owners. The current management company took over in September 2011 and has worked very hard to establish new standards for the hotel. If you have any questions or concerns, please call our front desk at 208.443.2447 or send us an email at frontdesk@innatpriestlake.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Inn itself is okay, but the staff is very rude and not at all welcoming. Our room was not cleaned well. Would not reccomend this place and will not return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idahogirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolin
17.9 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
160 reviews
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
21.5 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 6 in Sandpoint
85 reviews
18.4 mi away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
471 reviews
12.6 mi away
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Priest Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Priest Lake

Property: The Inn at Priest Lake
Address: 5310 Dickensheet Road, Coolin, ID 83821
Location: United States > Idaho > Coolin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Priest Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Priest Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Priest Lake Coolin, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing