We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Onalaska, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The elevator was stained & smelled horribly, had to use stairs because the smell was so bad. Very outdated hotel, lumpy bed. I asked for extra pills for the sofa bed & was told I needed to come down & get them...not "sure I'll bring them right up" or they could have told me the extras were in the dresser, which we found later. On another website they claim to have all flat screen TV's, not true!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    65
    63
    40
    34
See reviews for
107
63
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Decent side of average. We stayed in worse and our 10 day road trip but also stayed in equivalent rooms for cheaper. The only negative thing I would say is that the indoor pool was freezing. Stopped in CDA on our way back home 10 days later, and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celticl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We tried to check in at 4:00 as that was check in tie according to their sign on the wall. We were told to come back in 20 minutes. We left and came back with no room still. It took over an hour just to get a room. While checking in they tried to charge me more than what I was quoted. I wrote down what I was quoted along with the confirmation number. I told them that they are not going to charge me anymore than what I was already quoted and booked the room for. The guy had no idea how to put it into the computer. I told him it wasn't my problem how he got it into the computer but that is all I am paying. He finally figured it out. We got our room and it was half way cleaned. there was a thick layer of dust along all the walls inside the room. the TV was old. the mini fridge looked like it was from the 1970's. The outside doors are not supposed to open without being unlocked by the key. It opened right up with out the key. No security there. The beds were old but ok. the breakfast was terrible. Prepackaged foods that tasted terrible. We opted to eat out. We attempted to go into the pool and hot tub. The water looked brown. The pool walls were brown from who knows how long it was last cleaned. The pool was ice cold and the hot tub was scorching hot. I used the washer and dryer there. Which there is one washer and one dryer for 4 floors. When I went to check on my clothes someone opened the dryer and left it open. I stayed down with it until my clothes dried. We had a 2 queen bed room. It came with 2 towels. I called and asked for 2 more towels and 2 more pillows; 3 and a half hours later after another call we finally got them. I was less than impressed with this hotel. We usually stay at another hotel when we go to Silverwood. Next time I think we will stay there again. The hotel security wasn't up to par. There was free wifi but it was very slow and I kept getting kicked off.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel entirely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a large clean bedroom but it all needed updating and the room and carpet smelt musty. Adequate toiletries, hairdryer, ironing board/iron. The room also had a kitchen area with coffee/tea making facilities,fridge.microwave and sink. The breakfast was dreadful. We were seated on long table (two in the area) we had polystyrene bowls, plates and cups and plastic cutlery. On the second morning of our stay at breakfast time there was not enough cutlery for all the guests and though eventually more was acquired we had to wait some considerable time. The bread/baguls ran out and when this was replaced it was all frozen. I had to ask at reception for someone to empty the bins which were in the eating area as they were over flowing onto the floor. The tea/coffee machines were in the reception area away from where we were eating. There were a lot of guests as it was the start of the school holidays, however the hotel should be aware of this and it certainly could not cope with the amount of guests. The hotel was situated some distance from Coeur d'Alene and I would advise anyone wishing to visit this area to stay somewhere closer to the town.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel nearer into the town of Coeur d'Alene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We chose this place for our yearly family trip to silverwood I looked at a few rooms before I decided which one was the best fit for our family of five we ended up in the west wing which was the nicest the most disappointing thing was the old TV's and the breakfast was not great no hot food we won't be staying here next year

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyside_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We got a super cheap deal for a week's stay at this hotel. It was clean but it's quite old and could use a good update. The tv was old, beds were older but not too bad. The pool was great, and breakfast was ok. The location was great, right off the freeway. It wasn't a bad place to stay but I wouldn't pay full price.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alita32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed one night on our way to Montana and it was a perfect place to stay for us. The hotel is pretty clean and the staff were very friendly. The pool is very nice and great for young kids. The hotel is a 10 minute drive to downtown. Rooms were very spacious with good beds. The only negative thing was the wifi wasn't working!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraVida6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene

Property: Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene
Address: 702 W Appleway Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-9338
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the premiere, year-round resort area of Northern Idaho is the Shilo Inn Suites- Coeur d'Alene. With 139 spacious suites, it's the ideal place to stay for business travelers or vacationing families. The hotel is convenient to local attractions, the Convention Center and is easy to find, located at Exit 12 off Interstate 90. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur d'Alene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
Shilo Inn Suites - Coeur D'Alene Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing