We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn by Wyndham Coeur d'Alene(Coeur d'Alene)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene(Coeur d'Alene)(Great Value!)
$232
$209
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene(Coeur d'Alene)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort City Inn(Coeur d'Alene)(Great Value!)
$154
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn(Coeur d'Alene)(Great Value!)
$201
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Roosevelt Inn(Coeur d'Alene)(Great Value!)
$339
$169
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quality Inn & Suites(Coeur d'Alene)(Great Value!)
$179
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $267/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Greenbriar Inn(Coeur d'Alene)(Great Value!)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene(Coeur d'Alene)(Great Value!)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveler rating
407
104
17
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
407
104
17
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressresident dogcinnamon rollscookies and milklight dinnerfire pitbeer and wineking suitefront desk staffa great staybreakfast barnice roomevery eveningnice place to stayopen hoursdefinitely stay here againhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 543 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was booked as an overnight stop and when we checked in we were told we had been upgraded to a larger room (not that we needed a larger room there being only two of us). The room had the usual two huge beds and a generous en-suite plus a sitting area in-between. This meant the sitting area was dark and not very inviting. There was a fridge, microwave and the usual facilities - all ok and clean.
We left the hotel and drove into Coeur D'Alene for a wander around and to eat dinner, returning early evening.
We decided to sit outside on the terrace in the evening sun with a coffee (no bar or restaurant at this hotel). We had only been sat down for 10mins or so when the terrace was overun by hundreds of noisy teenagers eating pizzas provided by their guardians. We left to try and find somewhere quiet to relax but it was impossible. Everywhere was overun by noisy teenagers. They were running along the corridors, in the dining room, lobby, pool - everywhere. We were told that there was a music festival on in town and the hotel had booked 70% of its rooms to the teenagers and guardians.
I asked to be moved to a quieter part of the hotel but was told that there wasn't a quieter part of the hotel and the teenagers were spread around the hotel - why? Why couldn't they be booked in a block together or other guests to occupy, say only the top floor. We retired to our room at about 9pm thinking it might be quiet - not so.
Outside our room was an ice machine, a soda machine and a snack machine resulting dozens or noisy teenagers congregating outside all the time.
To be fair to the hotel they did say that there was a curfew at 10pm when all teenagers must be in their rooms and quiet and we were relieved that this was adhered to after a reminder by a guardian.
We decided that an early start for breakfast would probably beat the huge queues to the coffee and snack food areas we had seen the night before, again - not so. At 6:30am there were hundreds of teenagers in the dining room, no tables free even if you could have got some food. It was an hour before we could get a table, which we had to clear ourselves to be able to use it.
The breakfast was basic but filled a corner.
I have to stress that the teenagers had to stay somewhere and they were only doing what teenagers do - this was a management failure to recognise that there was a problem to its other guests. We were not the only guests to have a problem.
On checking out we complained to the reception that if they had told our travel agent that 70% of the hotel was booked by teenagers we would probably have booked elsewhere. To us this was a failure of the management and we will seriously consider wether to book cheaper hotels in future that we consider might be frequented by people looking for a basic overnight accommodation.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms when 70% of the hotel is filled with noisy teenagers spread around the hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sedgtrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Sedgtrav1,
Thank you for your candid feedback. I do apologize that you were not able to enjoy our hotel to the fullest extent.
We did have a group book almost all of our hotel rooms and I apologize that we were not able to assign you a room away from the group; but it was a true statement that this group had booked rooms on each floor and each hallway due to their size and room type selections. Every possible accommodation was made to pick the best rooms possible for guests not associated with the group, including generously offering many complimentary upgrades. I understand your concern in attaining this information in advance, but in our efforts of protecting privacy, sharing information about other guests with potential reservations is not something we do. What we do enforce with our groups is a code of conduct, including a quiet time or 'curfew' that, as you mentioned, we were able to follow through with.
Please contact me directly to further discuss your concerns and what we can do to invite you back to Coeur d'Alene.
-Jessica Glasson
Front Office Manager
jglasson@impressguest.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wow, I can't say enough things about this place. The rooms were extremely comfortable, breakfast and free dinners were excellent, but the staff is what made this such a wonderful place to stay.
We traveled there for my father's 90th birthday, who lives down the street. On the morning of his birthday I brought him for the breakfast, and the staff came out with balloons and a cinnamon roll with a candle, way beyond the call of duty, and he wasn't even a guest there.

Judy at the front desk found for us a fishing guide and charter boat to take him fishing on their beautiful lake.
And Laura in Housekeeping made my brand new blouse spot free after I spilled coffee on it.
Lovely fire pit area for relaxing, and sparkling pool.

Everyone who works there is very warm and professional, so glad we chose this place to stay!

Room Tip: Forget everyone else, this is the place!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJenn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Susan G, Thank you so much for the great review. I am so happy we were able to make you feel special and your father as well. I truly have the best staff in Coeur d' Alene and we pride ourselves on exceeding our guests expectations. We are honored that you chose our hotel for such a special trip. We hope you will be able to return to the area soon. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We Have stayed in many HI Express locations, and this property is at the top of the list for the chain. Front desk customer service was first rate as were all the staff that we had interaction with. The location adjacent to I-90, makes access very convenient. Ideally located near downtown makes this a great place to stay. Very clean, nice linens and comfy beds, couldn't ask for much more. After a long days ride in the jitney, this is a great place to stay in Coeur d'Alene.

Room Tip: As always we prefer the top floor because of noise. We were on the back side and didn't notice any noise at all.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIGCOHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Bigcoho,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your terrific experience. A great night's sleep in our Stay Smart linens and a great morning with our Express Start hot breakfast is the perfect combination and we are proud to add stellar service on top of that! Thanks again and we look forward to your next great stay with us.
-JessicaFOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We've stayed at several Holiday Inn Express locations, though this one was by far our favorite. With a huge fire-pit ringed with adirondack chairs out back, to an oversized patio off the breakfast room that joins with the pool deck - this place was very well designed.

All the 1st floor rooms are accessible from the outside, while the 2-4th floors had large hallways. We were on the 2nd floor, across from the laundry room and heard little noise.

On the down-side, we went down for breakfast as it opened at 7am, and found that it wasn't ready yet. Muffins, and cold items were out, but we waited for 10-15 minutes for the eggs/pancakes/etc. When the eggs did come out, they were definitely the reconstituted kind, and had a very strong metallic/rancid taste - unfortunately we threw ours out and had to stop along the road to get a decent breakfast.

Check-in/out was swift, and the hotel offered a concierge service which was nice.

Overall a decent stay.

Room Tip: Room 210 is across the hallway from the Laundry room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyGries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

AshleyGries,
Thank you for your fabulous description of our building. From our check in, to our friendly & knowledgeable staff, to the range of room features such as outside access doors to large suites with jetted tubs, it is our design to fulfill a mission to 'Impress Guests'. I apologize that our breakfast did not match your, or our, high standards. Please know that we are using your feedback to make sure every aspect of the guest experience is impressive. Thanks again for your detailed and honest review and we look forward to your next great stay with us!
-JessicaFOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Directly off I-90, along a busy access road, the hotel has recently been renovated. It has all the amenities - free wi-fi, indoor pool and hot tub, small gym, and complimentary breakfast. Our room was on the first floor and has a door that goes outside to the parking lot (very convenient for loading and unloading luggage from the car) and one to the main hallway, a king bed, flat screen tv with lots of cable channels, a small frig, microwave, desk & chair, and upholstered chair and futon. Solid room, clean and comfortable. Also, there was a "manager's special" with complimentary chicken Caesar wraps - all the fixings to make your own - plus beer and wine until 7pm. No views and some noise from the interstate since our room faces it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerpetualMovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

PerpetualMovement,
We couldn't have described our room features better ourselves! Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience. I am so glad you were able to enjoy our free Manager's Reception dinner as well as the free hot Express Start breakfast. We look forward to your next great stay with us!
-JessicaFOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews