We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“They made me feel important!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They made me feel important!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wow, I can't say enough things about this place. The rooms were extremely comfortable, breakfast and free dinners were excellent, but the staff is what made this such a wonderful place to stay.
We traveled there for my father's 90th birthday, who lives down the street. On the morning of his birthday I brought him for the breakfast, and the staff came out with balloons and a cinnamon roll with a candle, way beyond the call of duty, and he wasn't even a guest there.

Judy at the front desk found for us a fishing guide and charter boat to take him fishing on their beautiful lake.
And Laura in Housekeeping made my brand new blouse spot free after I spilled coffee on it.
Lovely fire pit area for relaxing, and sparkling pool.

Everyone who works there is very warm and professional, so glad we chose this place to stay!

Room Tip: Forget everyone else, this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJenn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Susan G, Thank you so much for the great review. I am so happy we were able to make you feel special and your father as well. I truly have the best staff in Coeur d' Alene and we pride ourselves on exceeding our guests expectations. We are honored that you chose our hotel for such a special trip. We hope you will be able to return to the area soon. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    92
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
156
159
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, ID
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We Have stayed in many HI Express locations, and this property is at the top of the list for the chain. Front desk customer service was first rate as were all the staff that we had interaction with. The location adjacent to I-90, makes access very convenient. Ideally located near downtown makes this a great place to stay. Very clean, nice linens and comfy beds, couldn't ask for much more. After a long days ride in the jitney, this is a great place to stay in Coeur d'Alene.

Room Tip: As always we prefer the top floor because of noise. We were on the back side and didn't notice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGCOHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Bigcoho,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your terrific experience. A great night's sleep in our Stay Smart linens and a great morning with our Express Start hot breakfast is the perfect combination and we are proud to add stellar service on top of that! Thanks again and we look forward to your next great stay with us.
-JessicaFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We've stayed at several Holiday Inn Express locations, though this one was by far our favorite. With a huge fire-pit ringed with adirondack chairs out back, to an oversized patio off the breakfast room that joins with the pool deck - this place was very well designed.

All the 1st floor rooms are accessible from the outside, while the 2-4th floors had large hallways. We were on the 2nd floor, across from the laundry room and heard little noise.

On the down-side, we went down for breakfast as it opened at 7am, and found that it wasn't ready yet. Muffins, and cold items were out, but we waited for 10-15 minutes for the eggs/pancakes/etc. When the eggs did come out, they were definitely the reconstituted kind, and had a very strong metallic/rancid taste - unfortunately we threw ours out and had to stop along the road to get a decent breakfast.

Check-in/out was swift, and the hotel offered a concierge service which was nice.

Overall a decent stay.

Room Tip: Room 210 is across the hallway from the Laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyGries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
AshleyGries,
Thank you for your fabulous description of our building. From our check in, to our friendly & knowledgeable staff, to the range of room features such as outside access doors to large suites with jetted tubs, it is our design to fulfill a mission to 'Impress Guests'. I apologize that our breakfast did not match your, or our, high standards. Please know that we are using your feedback to make sure every aspect of the guest experience is impressive. Thanks again for your detailed and honest review and we look forward to your next great stay with us!
-JessicaFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Directly off I-90, along a busy access road, the hotel has recently been renovated. It has all the amenities - free wi-fi, indoor pool and hot tub, small gym, and complimentary breakfast. Our room was on the first floor and has a door that goes outside to the parking lot (very convenient for loading and unloading luggage from the car) and one to the main hallway, a king bed, flat screen tv with lots of cable channels, a small frig, microwave, desk & chair, and upholstered chair and futon. Solid room, clean and comfortable. Also, there was a "manager's special" with complimentary chicken Caesar wraps - all the fixings to make your own - plus beer and wine until 7pm. No views and some noise from the interstate since our room faces it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerpetualMovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
PerpetualMovement,
We couldn't have described our room features better ourselves! Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience. I am so glad you were able to enjoy our free Manager's Reception dinner as well as the free hot Express Start breakfast. We look forward to your next great stay with us!
-JessicaFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This Hotel is clean and convenient and has all he amenities you would expect at a Holiday Inn Express. We booked online and upon check-in, the clerk told me he couldn't give me the rate I reserved at; it was $20 LESS! When does that ever happen? They have a friendly Weimaraner who is the resident mascot and the hard-working staff is friendly from bottom to top. It's obvious that they love their work which is indicative of great management. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Bed was great with choice of firm or soft pillows, the shower was good, but I seemed to lose hot water rather quickly. They have a nice machine on all 3 floors; two of which were broken, making my search for ice an adventure. They had warm fresh baked cookies at the front desk in the evening and a free breakfast each morning, complete with eggs, biscuits and gravy, selection of breakfast meats, cereal, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, toast and bagels, hard boiled eggs and yogurt, coffee and a selection of teas. I didn't use the pool or spa, but it looked nice. All in all, a great choice at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Mark P,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and the review you shared. You highlighted parts of our hotel that we are most proud of including comfortable & clean rooms, evening cookies, a great hot breakfast, and of course our service-minded staff! Of course our favorite part of the job is meeting and welcoming great guests such as yourself. To address two notes you mentioned, we have just replaced two of our hot water heaters and fixed two of our ice machines. I am truly sorry these impacted your stay, but know that they have gotten proper attention. We look forward to your next great stay with us!
-JessicaFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nang Rong, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I am a well traveled and very busy person of wealth and high standards. I was raised in Coeur d'Alene and return every few years for both business and leisure. I tell you this because I normally cannot be bothered with requests to fill out online surveys or write reviews such as this. I can merely offer the word of a well meaning, experienced traveler. This hotel satisfied my every need and was 100% convenient and courteous in doing so. I cannot say such things often or of many.

I was particularly pleased that all amenities were open and available 24 hours and that the maid service is well organized as to not bother me unless summoned. Once summoned, the maids are prompt and effective. I live and work in Asia and therefore keep a somewhat nocturnal schedule at times. Furthermore, the phone charger that I forgot there was waiting for me at the front desk two days later.

Room Tip: I loved my single king with extra living space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Nathan S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. Your opinion means a lot to us and it is a pleasure to hear that we were able to accommodate a special schedule and impress you even after check out in making sure an item left behind found its home. Our housekeepers and all staff have a mission to 'Impress Guests' and we thank you for the assurance that we are on the right track! Thanks again and we look forward to your next great stay with us.
-JessicaFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've stayed frequently at Holiday Inn Express and this one is definitely at the top of my list. The hotel is about 7 years old but it still looks very new. The rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. It is easy to get to I-90 and to downtown Coeur D'Alene. The breakfast is very plentiful with lots of choices. There was plenty of seating both inside and outside. I had a suite which faced the back of the property and was very quiet. The room was large with 2 TV's, small kitchenette area. If you needed any dinnerware, etc. you only had to ask for it. The pool and spa were indoors. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of facility are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grove911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Grove911,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. It is a pleasure to hear from such a seasoned traveler, especially about your great stay! I am glad you were able to enjoy one of our spacious and quiet suites, all of which are on the backside of the hotel away from the highway. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to your return!
-JessicaFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Address: 2300 W Seltice Way, I-90 Exit 11, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-8982
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#4 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fall in love with Coeur d'Alene this season at the Holiday Inn Express Coeur d'Alene. This new award-winning Coeur d'Alene hotel will meet and exceed your every expectation! Located close to beautiful Lake Coeur d Alene and just minutes from Silverwood Theme Park, Kootenai Medical Center, North Idaho College, University of Idaho, and Lewis and Clark State College, this hotel is a perfect location for both business and pleasure! This Coeur d'Alene hotel is complete with 101 non-smoking guestrooms, including 36 over-sized suites with parlor area and wet bar. Suites include 2 flat panel screen HDTV's. All rooms contain a microwave and refrigerator. 6 deluxe suites have a double-sided fireplace, two person jetted tub, and two flat panel HD TVs. The indoor pool and spa area is ready for your enjoyment, decorated with whimsical sea creatures. Bored at the end of a long day? Relax next to our custom built outdoor fire pit. We also provide a guest laundry facility, boardroom, and fully equipped business center. Our Coeur d'Alene hotel offers easy freeway access and close proximity to shopping, restaurants, and tons of entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Coeur d`Alene
Holiday Inn Coeur D'alene
Coeur D'alene Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing