We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hooked on Greek!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olympia Restaurant

Olympia Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 249 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hooked on Greek!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

The best Greek food ever!! Stopped by for a late lunch after attending the CDA Art Festival. Unfortunately for us, it was our last day in CDA, or we would be going back again. We had the stuffed grape leaves and fried cheese (I won't even try to remember the Greek names) for appetizers. All four of us ordered a cup of the lemon chicken soup as well. Since we were too early for the dinner menu (after 4:00pm, we all ordered the souvlaki (one lamb, three chicken). Everything was outstanding!! We are all hooked on Greek food now. Unfortunately, this place probably spoiled us and will be the benchmark for all Greek restaurants from here on. I also want to mention how great the service was.....very friendly and attentive. This is on our list to go back to whenever we come back to CDA.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    40
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“they make you feel like family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

good food, large portions, at reasonable prices, served by really genuinely friendly people.

Will definitely go back when in Coeur d'Alene.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank desertfor123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I have regrets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

My regret is not eating here until our final night in Coeur d'Alene --well, actually we tried the day before (Wed), but they close early (3 p.m.) Mon-Wed. Don't ask me why.

We've eaten at a lot of Greek joints over the years, but this has to be one of my favorites. Really good gyros wrapped in fresh pitas (recommendation: add the feta when asked!). I wish we had another night to eat here.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LEWMARBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Euros are good eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

First night in town, stopped here and wasn't dissappointed. Kind server and good food! Kids meal was spot on, looking forward to our next visit!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Khsharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tensed, Idaho
1 review
“Lasting First Impression”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

When it come to good restaurants (and people), my experience has been that your first impression is usually right. I recently moved from Chicago to the Coeur d' alene area, and have been searching out eateries that live up to my somewhat "big city" taste. Chicago has so many great gyro places, that a quick walk down the street will usually gratify your cravings for this famous Greek delicacy. With my first drive past the Olympia restaurant, the word "Gyros" leapt out at me in friendly blue letters, and enticed me in. I had not had a 'real' Gyro sandwich since leaving Chicago nearly 4 years prior, but I was still skeptical, having sampled the best and worst of Gyros back home. Chicagoans tend to be very picky, yet proud, of our hot dogs, pizza and gyros and they are abundant enough there to spoil ones self with the variety and availability. This is what made my experience at Olympia so special. Upon walking in, I was greeted by friendly people, the beautiful blue and white flag of Greece, the blue and white decor, (even the Pepsi™ glasses where Blue.) Did I mention that Blue is my favorite color? The gyro sandwich was one of the best I have ever tasted. A light, and fresh, cucumber sauce, freshly made 'hot' Pita bread, and the gyro meat sliced at just the right thickness; the price very affordable, and portions generous.The wait staff was so attentive and friendly, and the many customers seemed to all be in a cheerful mood as well, making our first experience at Olympia very enjoyable. I am so happy to have found this restaurant, and plan to return tomorrow to sample the other menu items, such as the homemade soups, (but I mainly want to make it a regular stop for my gyro fix!) The location is within walking distance of beautiful Lake Coeur d' alene, and in the heart of the shopping district as well, while still maintaining a cozy distance, as an out-of-the-way place to eat. What a find. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mooncalf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympia Restaurant also viewed

 
Coeur d'Alene, ID
 

Been to Olympia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing