We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new "go-to" restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cellar Restaurant - CLOSED

The Cellar Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 4th Street
Description: Coeur d'Alene's Premier Restaurant & Bar. Featuring live music, modern northwest cuisine, handcrafted cocktails - selected local beers on tap and one of the most extensive wine lists in the area with a 3000 bottle cellar, "AWARD OF EXCELLENCE" from WINE SPECTATOR 2013 thru 2016. Truly a sight to behold! Our cuisine highlights the best of local farmers and producers to create an unique dining experience paired. We strive to create authentic food and hospitality for our guests so they feel like they have experienced something a little different and special. Life can be so good...
Coeur d'Alene, ID
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our new "go-to" restaurant”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My hubby and I tried the Wine cellar last night for the first time and were very,very pleased with the food, ambience, and service.
I recently finished a Peter Mayle book and have had a hankering for a good Bouillabaisse. This is easier said then done as, more often than not, bouillabaisse in USA restaurants tends to be overly spiced, too tomato-y, or overdone on the shellfish. To avoid disappointment, I asked for a taste of the broth prior to committing myself to this dish, and.....holy moly, it was spot on. It had a perfect balance of saffron, tomato, and fish essence. I ordered my bouillabaisse without hesitation, and was very very pleased with my meal.
For starters, we shared a delicious baked brie that was a bit unusual in that it was baked in a loaf of crusty bread, with an apple chutney on the side and a wine reduction accent. My husband, however, was disappointed with his Prime Rib soup, saying it was too spicy.
For dessert I had a wonderful Carrot Cake cocktail that was totally delish.
The setting for the evening couldn't be better, in the basement with the many different architectural textures (ceiling beams, stone wall, brick columns) under soft lighting. A pianist and bass player provided nice background music (e.g. Sting), with no vocalist. We took a seat at the rear of the dining room, not wanting to be overpowered by the music coming from the stage, but this wouldn't have been an issue as the volume was just right no matter where you were seated downstairs.
We thought the prices very reasonable ($19 for the bouillabaisse, $10 for the shared baked brie), and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    67
    25
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hayden, Idaho
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Downstairs is very tastefully decorated. However, it is not the place to sit if you want to carry on a conversation or listen to the music. Large groups will sit down there making it hard to hear your companions. Perhaps due to those groups our service was slow & the food was on the cold side. My ribeye steak was a little chewy. The wine and deserts were very good. I am a local & probably will not return. Expensive meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TerreG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went here for dinner because we heard on the street that it was good. Word on the street was correct. Of course, the wine selection was expansive and was reasonably priced. Reason alone to visit. But we also had an incredible seafood pasta dish and bouillabaisse. And if you can find something to put their onion marmalde on, do it. That stuff is incredible. The service was really good and our waiter, and those otherse we listened to, were very helpful. When you ask, "What is good?" they don't tell you, "Everything."

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lawilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Meh.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went on a date with my husband around fathers day and wasn't very impressed with all the hype. The food was good, over priced though and the drinks were pleasant. I would probably return for a cocktail or a glass of wine and that's about it. It's a nice place, I like that Icon is gone, I guess I can be grateful for that too. My husband on the other hand thought the food wasn't that great, but hey, he's hard to please when dining out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacedbabe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wine Machine! Try it.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been coming here for years through all kinds of ups and downs in service, cuisine and ownership. What a ride it has been. All the drama aside. They have a wine machine dispenser, like those coffee dispensers in the 70's that drop your cup and cream with coffee? It's just the oddest thing to pair with fine wine, but definitely worth a look at. If you are wandering down Sherman, try it out. Put a few bucks in the slot and out comes pours from bottles you could never normally afford to buy in the dining room.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing