We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas lights - way overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Coeur d Alene Cruises

Lake Coeur d Alene Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Christmas lights - way overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We were expecting an actual cruise around the lake, all along the way seeing beautiful christmas light displays...not so. There is one large display as you leave the dock, followed by about 10 mins of trolling across the lake. Then you arrive at the 'north pole' where a Santa does some bad shtick, reads the names of all the children on board and says they've been good this year, and lights a big christmas tree animated to music. Then you drive back to the dock and see the same display as before. And this is all for over $20 a pop (not including drinks). Not what we were hoping.

Pros:
Indoor/climate controlled boat
Not very long (good if you have little ones)

Cons:
Very cheesy (most appropriate for about 3-8 year olds)
Displays are underwhelming
Most of the time is spent trolling across the lake at night
Way overpriced
Disorganized (passengers were wandering the dock beforehand because no one was leading the group and no one told us where to load the boat).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    54
    19
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Christmas light cruise.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Yes, it's pretty! Yes, kids will enjoy it! However, it is way over priced for adults. On top of that if you want a drink on boat they charge you. I think they should offer one free non-alcoholic drink a voucher or something.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamper6511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great day on the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We try to do the St. Joe river cruise every year. It's a 6 hour cruise and includes lunch.
Sometimes it seems long, but I can't really think of a better way to spend a nice summer day.
The scenery never disappoints and lunch is pretty good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobst55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pirate's on the lake?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were in the area and wanted to have a little fun, we thought why not. This cruise of course caters to the young but we enjoyed it anyway. A great way to have a little fun with your children or grandchildren.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank solostar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Afternoon Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

A wonderful way to spend a couple of house on a hot sunny day in Coeur d'Alene. My two teenage sons, husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the cruise listening to the history of the area and enjoying the views of the amazing homes along the shore. If you go across the street to the Information Centre they will give you coupons for $5.00 off per ticket! Would recommend this cruise to everyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cadetsoccermommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Coeur d Alene Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Lake Coeur d Alene Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing