We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings for a day”
Review of Blackwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blackwell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay more than we can say. We were treated so well, we were given the royal treatment! Breakfast in bed, incredible rooms, a raging fire, it was amazing! The house is so beautiful and the manager is incredibly pleasant. Our every need was seen to! The shuffle board and entertainment area in the basement as well as all the details put into the restoration were our favorite part of the Blackwell. We will definitely be returning for anniversaries and any special occasion we can think of! Thanks so much for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace! It's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 201 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The decor is top notch, the staff is so accommodating, it is also a short walk to downtown. If we ever go to Coeur d'Alene we will for sure be staying here. The breakfast was simple, relaxed and prepared with marvelous service. double living rooms with a fireplace created a fin place to sit at night. Nice romantic getaway!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Razzle28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We really enjoyed are stay at Blackwell Hotel. Beautiful room. Wonderful staff. Liz the Manager is very nice. Big spacious rooms. I loove the open kitchen snacks, tea, coffee at any time. The place is 5 star. We unfortunately chose to stay on new years eve and there were a few partiers at the hotel/bnb who kept up celebrations until 4am. Which I am sure was happening at all the other lodging in the area. So we didn't get much sleep despite the comfy beds.

Room Tip: Easy walking distance to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowflake_jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I would stay here again. The place looked great. Was decorated well with Christmas decor. Loved the shuffle board table down stairs. I liked the detached from room bath rooms, you get your own bathroom. The tubs were lovely. I just wish I would have brought my robe and slippers. Felt like staying at a luxurious house. The concept of getting to help yourself to anything in the fridge was great. Will recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWynecoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I were traveling across the country on a military move and fate had us staying the night at the Blackwell Hotel. It was literally like something out of a fairytale. The hotel's keeper, Liz, warmed us instantly with her charismatic energy and sincere hospitality. The house itself was enchanting, boasting a stunning decor and cozy fire-lit rooms. Liz, and the owner, Bill, took the liberty to give us a personal tour of the house, explaining the historical and architectural significance of each room. They then recommended places to eat and find entertainment. Needless to say, I enjoyed a memorable, romantic night with my girlfriend and made amazing friends in Liz and Bill. We pass our highest recommendations for this quaint, but charming establishment.

Room Tip: Suite #1 was outstanding. Also, with regards to fitness, there is a day spa 5 minutes away, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMY1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Blackwell hotel. The facilities were impeccable and the service was great. We appreciated the mixture of elegance and comfort. The hosts couldn't have been more hospitable.

Room Tip: We loved the room with the fireplace for a chilly fall weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill W, Public Relations Manager at Blackwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to have positive feedback from all our guests! Come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My (now) husband proposed at this property just over 20 years ago...we returned for our 20th anniversary. An beautifully elegant yet comfortable space, the rooms were exquisite, immaculate and inviting. Sumptuous linens and towels, wonderfully luxurious, comfortable beds, cookies and wine at bedtime. It simply does not get any better than this. Stay here if you have the opportunity, you will not be disappointed. Call and book directly through Liz at the hotel, she will look after you so well.

Room Tip: Room #3 has a fireplace and beautiful marble shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
883 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwell Hotel

Address: 820 E Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range: $137 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique hotel with in-room flat screen TV's, Keurig coffee makers, iHome docking stations, and more. Hotel amenities include free WIFI, media room, billiards table and shuffleboard. Walking distance to many restaurants, shops, night life, parks, and the lake. Check-in time between 3pm-6pm. Check-out time is at 11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Blackwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwell Hotel Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing