We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Inviting....”
Review of Blackwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackwell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My (now) husband proposed at this property just over 20 years ago...we returned for our 20th anniversary. An beautifully elegant yet comfortable space, the rooms were exquisite, immaculate and inviting. Sumptuous linens and towels, wonderfully luxurious, comfortable beds, cookies and wine at bedtime. It simply does not get any better than this. Stay here if you have the opportunity, you will not be disappointed. Call and book directly through Liz at the hotel, she will look after you so well.

Room Tip: Room #3 has a fireplace and beautiful marble shower.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Blackwell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 195 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

I should start with saying that I work for a hotel in West Hollywood that caters to the stars and is known for its service (that may sound cliche, but it's the truth); the Blackwell is better. I have NEVER in my entire life stayed somewhere with such incredible hospitality. The Hotel itself was Oozing with class; it's abundantly clear that no expense was spared in the remodel. Every single room was beautiful in it's own way and comes equipped with an original clawfoot bathtub.
The staff was amazing! Lizz, the manager, is simply the best; there is no hour of the day that she is not available to help you and she makes you feel at home your entire stay. Even when I lazily woke up late, she would offer breakfast. I asked Theresa for an iron and she offered to iron my clothes for me... INCREDIBLE! The hotel had multiple commons with fireplaces, televisions, or games, and honestly, staying there feels like a home away from home more than any other place I've ever been.
It was my first stay in Coeur d'Alene and this hotel is 90% of why I will be back. They are 100% deserving of your money and it feels like you are getting an incredible value for what you spend. More businesses should operate like the Blackwell. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Blackwell Hotel is a beautiful Inn! The furnishings, beds, and linens are luxurious. But, what sets this inn apart from others is Liz, the inn-keeper. Spending time here is like visiting a good friend, hanging out in the kitchen and chatting over a good glass of wine or two. Liz will do whatever she can to make your stay a good one.
One suggestion I would have would be to expand the information on the website to describe individual rooms with photos of each and their specific amenities. We had a room on the 3rd floor which was quite lovely and not problematic for us but the climb could be for some. Also, some rooms do not have a shower but beautiful claw foot soaking tubs. It would be helpful to know this information prior to booking.
The Hotel is also in a perfect location to shopping/dining in town as well as Tubb's Hill. All are within comfortable walking distance!
We were very pleased with our stay and would certainly return if we are ever back in the area! Thanks Liz for helping to make our stay a great one!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qtpi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is one of my favorite places I've ever stayed in. The house is lovely - lots of charm and character combined with the perfect modern touches and upgrades. The rooms are spacious and the house offers several cozy little spots to sit and relax. We loved the "open kitchen" approach, with fruits, snacks, wine, etc. - not to mention the fabulous cookies - available to all. We felt like we were at home, or rather in someone else's amazing home, and it was so relaxing. We stayed 2 nights. Our room (#2) was fantastic and so restful. There are so many little design details throughout the house that create a beautiful, comfortable experience. Liz and her crew are the perfect hosts! Oh and the location is great too - easy walk into the downtown area. I really can't say enough good things about our stay. Thank you, Blackwell Inn!

Room Tip: Room 2 is beautiful! It felt so spacious and open and comfortable and really luxurious. Several wind...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YouGoGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The old home, full of interesting art, furnishings, and extraordinary wood work is the best B&B we've stayed at. Liz provides a tour upon arrival one of the highlights being the fabulous modern kitchen with double wide refrigerator filled with big bowls of berries cleaned and ready to eat along with other snacks. Food in the kitchen is for guests to use anytime. We stayed in room number 4 with a very comfortable king bed, fabulous linens, sitting room and bathroom. The room had interesting art and furnishings. This Inn is for art, food and comfort lovers. The breakfast has a wide variety of breakfast pastries along with the many beautiful fresh fruit choices. Liz has a great sense of humor and really made our stay fun, as did the many regulars. The darling downtown district is an easy walk. I highly recommend this beautiful and comfortable Inn.

Room Tip: Room 4 was fabulous. It faced the street but even with the windows open we had a quiet, cozy nights...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lizz made our experience- from the time we arrived to the time we left we had everything we needed and more. Free cheese and beer at any point throughout the day- I'd like to see the Coeur d'Alene resort offer that (My friends who stayed at the resort were nickel and dimed the whole time) whereas we were bragging about the Blackwell house.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60878WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a different kind of stop for us. We were on our way up to Lake Louise & Banff in Alberta and decided to stay near the lovely downtown area of Coeur d/Alene. This B & B is a gorgeous and perfectly upgraded older Victorian that is so attractive and inviting. Also, Liz, who manages things in a very personal, yet professional way made it a fun, elegant and comfortable stay. We decided to stay there again on our way back from Canada. BTW, our rooms were very quiet and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
875 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwell Hotel

Address: 820 E Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range: $135 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique hotel with in-room flat screen TV's, Keurig coffee makers, iHome docking stations, and more. Hotel amenities include free WIFI, media room, billiards table and shuffleboard. Walking distance to many restaurants, shops, night life, parks, and the lake. Check-in time between 3pm-6pm. Check-out time is at 11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blackwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwell Hotel Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing