We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Odd Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meltz Extreme Grilled Cheese

Meltz Extreme Grilled Cheese
Ranked #3 of 249 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Fusion, American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We take comfort food seriously, Extremely seriously, but with some twists. Combining our passion for Extraordinary flavor profiles with our love for the Extreme, MELTZ is the culmination of years of culinary experience. Fusing layers of flavor, our sandwiches go beyond your expectations and what you may imagine. These sandwiches are deliberate in every way to bring you an Extreme combination of textures, flavors, spices and heat. Oh, we still make simple, familiar grilled cheese sandwiches. But if you're looking to Kick Up Your Comfort, we've got something on the menu for you!
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food, Odd Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you like melted cheese (and I love it), it's hard to beat a Meltz grilled cheese sandwich. They're big, loaded and gooey good. Plus, you have plenty of options for customizing your sandwich. If you want the full return-to-childhood experience, get a cup of the tomato soup. We'll definitely go back for the food but we'll get takeout. While the service is very friendly (if a bit slow), we found the sermons and Christian rock blaring from the religious radio station a little jarring (although it will assuredly be a plus for others). But dine in or take out, it's good food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Marshall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    76
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Meltz is Grilled Cheese HEAVEN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Sweet lord in heaven. There is a God in heaven, and a Grilled Cheese Sandwich God behind the Grill, and his name is Joe McCarthy, owner ( w/ his wife Brianna), operator, and HGCO ( Head Grilled Cheese-Ologist). What the mighty McCarthy has wrought @ Meltz is as mind-blowing as it is mouth-watering. He is a creator of culinary wonders heretofore unmagined, using precise and amazingly creative balances betwixt meats, cheeses, veggies, peppers, onions, etc, and don't get me started about his dips! Sweet lord above!! I could write a novel on his dippin sauces alone!! When in beautiful, tranquil Coeur d'Alene Idaho, Meltz Extreme Grilled Cheese is an absolute, no doubt about it, slam dunk 10,000% MUST VISIT AND TRY-your stomach will love you for caring so much about its well being that you took the time and went and tried out Meltz! Seriously-this place is fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Cheesy goodness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

These grilled cheese sandwiches are fabulous. I wish I could make these at home. The location at the gas station is a bit odd but I suppose the rent is cheap. The selection is large and the chips are really good, too. We had such a good meal the first time, we went 20 minutes out of our way to visit the second time. Full size sandwiches are ~$8.50.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

If your in town you have to try this place. I have never had a grilled sandwich like this before. The only thing I can say bad is they need a bigger place because of the amount of people buying food here. You have to try it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Famdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Passion for FLAVOR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Potsticker is above and beyond a sandwich. The layers of flavor and dipping sauce screams instant gourmet. Culinary LOVE went into the creation of that one. Will be back for more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EatClean2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meltz Extreme Grilled Cheese also viewed

 
Coeur d'Alene, ID
 

Been to Meltz Extreme Grilled Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing