We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inn with the personal touch”
Review of The Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Roosevelt is everything I love about B&B's. The inn is well located for access to all the attractions of downtown Coeur d'Alene. We walked to restaurants, parks and shopping. The Roosevelt's owners, Tina and John, are welcoming and attentive hosts. John is a native of Coeur d'Alene and can share many interesting stories about its history. They met our every need from trail advice to dog sitting.The atmosphere in the inn is warm and comfortable. The rooms aren't large but they are attractive.The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet. There's even an evening turndown service complete with chocolates on the pillow. Breakfast is awesome. I usually didn't even make it to the egg course because the waffles with orange zest and homemade granola were just too enticing. Well behaved dogs are permitted and even welcomed at the Inn. If we find ourselves in Coeur d'Alene again, we will definitely stay at the Roosevelt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi Ellen!

Thanks for the excellent review! We really enjoyed getting to know you, your son and your little dog Ellie. It was great timing that you happened to be here during the Hydroplane races... what a bonus!

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our famous breakfast buffet! It is a common tale we hear that people often don't make it to the egg course due to the enticing orange zest waffles, fresh baked scones, fresh fruit salad... need we say more!

Maybe next time you visit you can bring your golden doodle to join in the fun! The more the merrier!

Until next time,
Tina & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was my first B&B experience and it will not be the last! The Roosevelt Inn staff went above and beyond to welcome me and made sure I wanted for nothing. Breakfast was incredible everyday, with a variety of choices on the buffet and from the kitchen. My room was comfortable and cozy, the hot tub a wonderful amenity, and the grounds were beautiful and peaceful. It was an absolute bonus to have the company of their golden retriever out and about the grounds who was always ready for some pets and a game of fetch. Plus it is located just blocks from the lake, charming shops, and restaurants. First rate all around!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMC507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks for the fantastic review Kelly! We're so happy that you chose to stay with us for your cousins wedding and that we have won you over to bed and breakfast bliss!

We're glad that Rohan was such an enjoyable companion while you enjoyed your time on our beautiful lawn. He just loves having people to play and love on him!

Thanks for mentioning our proximity to downtown. We believe this is one of our greatest assets. We're very close to all the activities and dining and yet far enough off the beaten path to enjoy a serene afternoon on the lawn.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Tina & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Roosevelt Inn is an excellent place both for a wedding and to stay. John and Tina went out of their way to make sure all went well. John did a great job in officiating the wedding and Tina made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. We took advantage of their hot tub as well as the great breakfast that was served the next morning. I highly recommend The Roosevelt either for you wedding, an overnight stay or both.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bell Tower Suite which was a great room. It was our honeymoon and it nice to sit u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hey you two newlyweds! Thanks for writing such a lovely review. We were so thrilled to be a part of your wedding, it was a very special day and Christine was such a beautiful bride!

We're so happy that you enjoyed the Bell Tower suite and we hope that you will return again for your first anniversary!

Best Wishes for a long and happy life together,
Tina & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing - bread pudding at check in, homemade granola with Greek yogurt and local honey for a light breakfast or fresh waffles, eggs any way, fried potato hash and bacon/sausage if you like. Sitting outside on the well kept grounds with a glass of complimentary wine and snacks made for an enjoyable evening. My husband and I would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdomeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day! We're glad you enjoyed ours! We must agree that the granola is to die for... made fresh here in our kitchen. We're glad that you enjoyed so much of our offerings... you didn't mention the cookies though! We think you need to come back and try some of our fresh baked cookies :)

We look forward to another visit soon!

Warmest regards,
Tina & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

These folks saved us from a smokey motel room at The Coeur d'Alene Resort. We had driven 5 hours to the lovely town and just couldn't bring ourselves to stay in the room we were given there. We have never left somewhere like this before - but we just had too. We called the Roosevelt Inn and they were able to take us on short notice. We got the very last room! We were so pleased when we arrived. Their sweet Golden Retriever came sauntering over to the beautiful fence to say hello. This lovely old school sits on a beautifully landscaped lot with lots of nice outdoor spaces decorated with tiny, twinkling white lights. Our suite was perfect - a room for us and a smaller room with a twin bed for our daughter. The proprietors were so welcoming and you get a lovely welcome snack of delicious bead pudding. There are always cookies and coffee and tea. There are many amenities - check out their very good website. On Monday nights they do dinner and a movie outside - you have to be sure to reserve in plenty of time though - they even let our daughter help pick out the movie from their collection. Breakfast is good and plentiful with the option to choose from a bit of a buffet to a hot cooked option (or both!). It was clean and tidy - with nice turn down service and a true eagerness to be helpful. Coeur d'Alene is their home - so they are full of great advice and genuinely want you to have a good time.

Room Tip: If you explain what you are looking for they can likely choose a great room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

So sorry you were given a smokey room at the Resort but we're sure glad that it brought you our way!! It was pleasure getting to know your family during our evening chats, and Rohan sure enjoyed playing with your lovely daughter.

It was fun doing 'Movie on the Lawn' with you all and watching "Enchanted"... great choice!!

Thanks for all the lovely compliments, and we're so thrilled that you enjoyed the service and hospitality that we offer here!

Wishing your family all the best!

Sincerely,
Tina & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

In Coeur d'Alene for our niece's wedding, 5 siblings and our adult children booked into the Roosevelt Inn for the days surrounding the event - and were thrilled by our selection. Our charming hosts, John and Tina Hough, treated us like royalty and provided a beautiful spot for us to relax and enjoy one another's company between wedding events. The Inn is gorgeous, the surrounding gardens and lawn a lovely place to relax, chat and and even play with the Golden Retriever, Rohan, who graces the property with his presence and charms all the guests. Breakfast consisted of both buffet items like fresh fruit salad and homemade scones, fresh from the oven and make your own Belgian waffles with real maple syrup, as well as a daily special hot dish such as Eggs Florentine - all delicious. Available to guests at all time, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and awesome homemade cookies!! Our weekend was wonderful, not in small amount due to the comfort we enjoyed at the Roosevelt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hey there RV Wedding Road Warriors!! 3 weddings in one summer on the road... we're sure glad we were one of those stops along the way!! And a break from the RV :)

What a lovely occasion to come to CDA for, and to top it off with a birthday celebration... that's memorable!

We're happy that you decided to extend your stay an extra night and that we were able to accommodate you with our "impromptu" bedroom so you could stay with the family group another night.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and that the road will bring you back our way again someday! We'd love to hear your husband sing!

Warmest regards,
Tina & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A wonderful experience for my whole family at the Roosevelt! We were well taken care of in this delightfully elegant converted schoolhouse. The owners were diligent in the care & comfort of our group. My room was very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. The grounds were beautifully maintained. I will definitely stay there again & highly recommend The Roosevelt to others!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Love the play on your name in your Trip Advisor handle... that is hilarious!

We really enjoyed your entire group, it was a fun wedding weekend and we're thrilled that your stay with us added to the pleasure of your experience. It was lovely that your daughter was able to join you for breakfast one morning and we hope that you both enjoyed our famous breakfast spread.

The Williams room is a great choice for "elegant calm". The overstuffed chair and view of the maple trees from the window makes for a tranquil retreat.

Hope you'll make it back here again someday, and best wishes!
Tina & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
915 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
0.6 mi away
Blackwell Hotel
Blackwell Hotel
#2 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Inn

Address: 105 E Wallace Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range: $98 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roosevelt Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Historic Coeur d'Alene Inn with 15 rooms and suites all with queen or king beds and private baths. We have been described as a boutique hotel with the home comforts of a bed and breakfast. Our Gordon Ramsay designed menu will delight the pallette. Voted best breakfast several years running by Inn Traveler Magazine as well as best handicapped facility and romantic stay in the Northwest. We provide a lovely ball room on property as well as complimentary fitness facility at OZ fitness center just around the corner. Located just a few short blocks from the lake and all the waterfront activities and downtown dining makes The Roosevelt Inn an ideal location for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roosevelt Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Roosevelt Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing