We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Better than their pictures. For a motel category, it would be a four or five.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coeur d'Alene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Motel
Save
You added Flamingo Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better than their pictures. For a motel category, it would be a four or five.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

What do you measure a place like this against? More like three if you compare to a resort or hotel. But I'm looking at its category. Quite refreshingly better than their pictures. Couple owners from California who have taken this little spot and really classed it up. It is very simple and for the person who wants to venture out into the city, shops, water or whatever rather than do it all at the hotel. Rooms have a theme, but are not corny, just interesting. Spotlessly clean, but obviously older.

We've stayed in a cabin theme room, Route 66 (my favorite two room suite), Tuscany (o.k.).

You are steps away from everything in the heart of Coeur d' Alene. Not the CDA resort, but way cheaper and less hubbub.

Noise factor, ok, watch the cold season. We've stayed at different times. In cold, pipes clang at night, in our room, it was really bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a m in from two street. If you go off season, like winter, ask about which rooms the pipes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    49
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
137
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plain City, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The nicest people run this motel. Each room has a theme to it. Ours was the Golfer's room which was very nice. My husband had never experienced the magic fingers machine which was attached to the bed so he put a quarter in and it did it's magic. Relaxed us after a long hot ride on our motorcycle trip. After we had left the hotel and got a long ways down the road I realized I had left my Harley Davidson sunglasses behind. When I turned my phone on, I already had a message from them that they had found them and would return them to me. I So Love this Place!!

Room Tip: Room 1 right by the road could be a little noisy. They steered us away from that one when we made o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for just one night and loved it. The location could not be beat, within walking distance of everything you would want to see downtown and yet nice and quiet. We stayed in the "Beach Room" and it was really cute. We had a very comfortable king size bed, a little seating area, a fridge, and everything was spotless. The beach décor was unique and fun and check in was a breeze. Compared to the price of staying anywhere else in the area this place was a bargain and much nicer than a lot of the other options we looked at.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rawnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just wanna say we stopped last minute here and the hosts were excellent . Loved our room and the privacy . Very quaint and the closeness to downtown and the beach was perfect . Location , location , location was awesome for a great time .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Wa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a quaint, fun motel within walking distance to the lake and restaurants. We stayed in the "Americana" room (think 4th of July, apple pie and mom) where it had a king size bed, 2 recliners and a stand with coffee makings, etc. They offer free DVD movie rentals if you are so inclined. The room was spotless. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeshamator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 and it was quaint and lovely. We turned down the Coeur d’Alene Spa/Resort to come here and spend our money wisely and so glad we did. This is so clean and tidy and close to everything. We ate at The Fork just a few blocks away and it was fantastic. Peterson’s grocery just down the block so we loaded up our in room fridge with some munchies and wine/beer. Just love the place and it shows pride of ownership in every corner. Save your $$ and come here!

Room Tip: Nice King bed in "Americana" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poopsie__44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a VERY well run motel. The owner remodeled all the rooms himself - each with a different theme. I stayed in the " cowboy" room which was fun. Easy walking to many restaurants and the lake. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Last two questions are n/a
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alane
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 718 East Sherman Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#6 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#7 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a B&B without the breakfast, all rooms have been remodeled with uniquely different themes. Eight one bed, three two beds & two are 2-bedroom suites (one with a full kitchen). Rooms are all street level with parking in front of each room. Situated within the seven blocks of "old downtown" Coeur d'Alene beside the Lake, all beaches, restaurants & art galleries are within walking and the street fairs, parades, marathons and classic car shows start right out front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing