We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Flamingo was a very pleasant surprise.”
Review of Flamingo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coeur d'Alene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Flamingo was a very pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

A stranger recommended this place to us and it was great. The owners of this very small motel put a lot of thought and effort into the rooms. They are lovely. Each room is different.
Even the greeting cat is delightful. The prices are very good and the rooms very clean.
A great find on an unexpected overnight.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    52
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
57
150
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We stayed one night of a road trip and enjoyed it. The owers were friendly. offered to show us a couple rooms to choose from (each one is different). They have gone to a lot of effort to make each room appealing and comfortable. I was a little dubious at first about the rate, but it was worth it for the quiet and excellent sleep I had. I rarely sleep well the first night anywhere, but did here. We had a lovely send off from the Maine Coon Cat in the early morning. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Have the owners show you the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georginajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

The owners are warm and inviting along with their friendly cat. Typically we stay in the chain hotels but recently have decided to support local owners and we were not disappointed. We had never stayed in a theme room but chose the Victorian room which was tastefully done, clean and cozy adorned with a lovely bouquet of fresh flowers. It was reasonably priced and was within walking distance to many great restaurants and pubs and in the summer would be great as it is close to the lake. We will stay here again and would happily recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamonCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Cute, clean. convenient. Sure. But did I just here somebody sneeze in the next room? And now I just heard --- a foot step - Really. And what is that knocking rattling sound? ANd that crash - the shower curtain just fell off the wall.

I am tired, need night time rest and I feel like I am in a noisy, friendly, ant colony.

The hotel is very convenient to town - and well taken care of - the walls are simply paper thin and the heating system is clanking away. Heavy sleepers - come enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveler0978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, OR
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stopped here on our way home from our Winter Wonderland Honeymoon in Yellowstone. While the weather outside was cold and frightful, inside this motel was so delightful. We stayed in the warm and toasty Flamingo Beach Themed Room. The owner was kind enough to have the heat cranked up for us before we arrived, so it literally felt like Miami Beach in our tropical getaway. He was also kind enough to recommend a romantic comedy for us to watch from their collection. And we didn't leave the room the whole time we were in Coeur d'Alene. A great place to stay, super comfy bed, and it was a treat to pop a quarter into the machine and experience the "Magic Fingers Bed".

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrealyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Not much for theme rooms but these were tastefully decorated, not overly done or suffocating you with decor. Owners were friendly and pleasant wit a very friendly cat. Clean rooms with nice amenities. Good coffee, and nice toiletries- for Couer D Alene which is ridiculously expensive this place was refreshing. A little road noise but it dies down while the night is still young- I will be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyjo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

On a cold, snowy winter night we opened the door to our room at the Flamingo Hotel and felt we were transported to a Jimmy Buffet song. From parrots on the wall to the lush carpet and the bed (with Magic Fingers, no less!), my husband and I felt we should have slipped into our swimming suits and had a margarita! Keeping with the Jimmy Buffet theme, we watched a pirate DVD, thanks to the warm and friendly owner.
We would STRONGLY recommend the Flamingo Motel. We will look forward to returning there for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolofadang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
859 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
807 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 718 E Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#6 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#7 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a B&B without the breakfast, all rooms have been remodeled with uniquely different themes. Eight one bed, three two beds & two are 2-bedroom suites (one with a full kitchen). Rooms are all street level with parking in front of each room. Situated within the seven blocks of "old downtown" Coeur d'Alene beside the Lake, all beaches, restaurants & art galleries are within walking and the street fairs, parades, marathons and classic car shows start right out front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing