We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great local eatery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garnet Cafe

The Garnet Cafe
Ranked #16 of 249 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Garnet partners with McLane Farms to offer a farm-to-table experience.
yardley pa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“great local eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Went for breakfast on last day, should have tried dinner too. Felt like I was in a small town in Idaho (which is a good thing when visiting a small town in Idaho). Great food, great service, great prices. What more can you ask for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank art89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    33
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The BEST Place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our friends told us about Garnet several times, but it took us a few years of visiting Coeur d'Alene to check it out...too bad we didn't listen to them earlier! If you want a big, beautiful, delicious, reasonably priced breakfast -- this is the place. We ordered a variety of omelets between the 4 of us and one huckleberry pancake to share. All was beyond our expectations...I enjoyed my share of the pancake -- and I don't really like pancakes, but this was the exception. Service was fine and friendly. We didn't need to eat lunch that day! We will return again, and again!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank msjsings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but what isn't?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I've visited CdA a few times and am always freaked by how pricey everything is... And not that great. This is actually THE BEST of the brunch places I've eaten at, but still, just "o.k."
Sure wish CdA could attract some good chefs... It's such a paradise...'would love to have some ambrosia to match it.
Ok, so I had the corned beef w poached eggs. Kinda dry. Eggs a bit over, rather than lusciously runny... Not much flavor. But filling-- and the lemon curd & rosemary bread was the highlight.
Likes the ball jars. Overall, likes the funky vibe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K8ejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stopped by here based on the internet reviews and weren't disappointed. We arrived about 7 AM when they opened and were immediately seated. The waitress staff was very friendly. We ordered corned beef hash, steak, eggs, and northwest potatoes. The sourdough bread was very good and came with homemade lemon curd (incredible) and raspberry? jam. Everything tasted extremely fresh, homemade, and amazing. Especially the corned beef hash (which is homemade). We though about ordering spaghetti for breakfast (yes, it's on the menu) because it really sounded good. We saw some people behind us order some type of french toast that looked amazing. Overall, we left very full and very happy. Great experience. We are from the south where breakfast is huge, and was happy to see that breakfast is also appreciated in Idaho. Thanks and we will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Wa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Small, intimate café in Coeur d'Alene. I'm a traditionalist for breakfast (2 eggs over easy, hashbrowns, bacon and white toast), however I was talked into trying the Rosemary bread for toast! FABULOUS! We sat at in a little courtyard in the early morning. This is a don't miss for breakfast! You won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank meeshamator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garnet Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Garnet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing