We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot breakfast and plenty of it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jimmy's Down the Street

Jimmy's Down the Street
Ranked #17 of 249 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hot breakfast and plenty of it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Jimmy's has been on tv. Lots of eggs, biscuits are big and good. Clean and owner is always there saying hello. Good food and good people. Nothing gourmet about this place. The small individual apple pies are worth going back for. If your in Coeur D Alene Idaho you might want to try it.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maggie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    49
    21
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, nothing fancy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Usually ate breakfast there on vacation. Lots of food and darn good. Nothing fancy. Make their own apple pie and it is great. I'm going back next year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Would go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stopped by this place because of DDD. I am not a fan of white gravy or biscuits, but thought, lets go out of my comfort zone. The biscuits were so good and the gravy I could eat. The food was good old home cooking and the waitress was very attentive. Would definitely go back again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank feistyfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“A review of Jimmy's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

So normally I love all of Guy Fetti's pick restaurants. Jamie and I tried this diner on our recent 11th year anniversary trip to the area. It started off as all the others, a line out front to get into the place, that's a great sign! Shortly thereafter we were seated and ready to dig in. The owner/hostess gentleman was very nice and we were seated and ready to go. Our waitress was super friendly and charming. Oh Boy Here We Go! Can't Wait! From there though things slipped into mediocrity. The service dropped off a bit but that's OK because the food is gonna be outta this world, but then it came and not so much. Jamie ordered the Jimmy's skillet and I got the Chicken Fried Steak skillet ( the one that Guy had ). OK first rule of hot food, its gotta be hot!? It was luke warm. Hey I know I am not Guy, but Jimmy Gimmie some hot food please! The chicken fried steak tasted like it was prepared the night before and rewarmed. The meals also came with biscuits and gravy. Jamie is a "B-n-G Aficionado" and she ranked the effort as average. So on this day the food was just average. I would like to give them another try later and see how they do. Jamie and I are very forgiving and we are very fond of Mr. Fetti's opinion.

Thank You!
Kind Regards.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pecan Roll to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Loved this place! I am now a chicken fried steak convert! So great. The white gravy was killer too and I don't usually like the stuff. The pecan roll was unreal...delish. HUGE too! The breakfast potatoes are better than the hashbrowns (and I usually love shredded hashbrowns). The service is great and the owner takes the time to talk to you / check in and see how your meal is. I would never consider going to Coeur d'Alene and NOT going here. Who wouldn't rather patronize a small business instead of a chain? Especially when the food is better and the service so personalized!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank love_the_sun_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Down the Street also viewed

 
Coeur d'Alene, ID
 

Been to Jimmy's Down the Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing