We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Golftober fest

This is a 5 star golf course... I could not believe all the amenities... Heated seats in the golf... read more

Reviewed October 14, 2018
Michael W
via mobile
It's all about the floating green

Yes, this course is good but I was put off by the lack of signage on the course, having compulsory... read more

Reviewed September 26, 2018
Maria M
,
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 175 reviews
  
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
136
24
2
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
24
2
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating green pro shop bucket list driving range fore caddie hit balls tee boxes cart path pristine condition green fees practice area challenging holes forward tees drop zone beautiful courses boat takes red geraniums
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 174 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

This is a 5 star golf course... I could not believe all the amenities... Heated seats in the golf carts a pre golf massage... GPS on all carts, We had our own caddy... And the course is Immaculate... We got to hit balls into the lake on the driving range.. And a floating green what a hard hole... So if you're looking to impress this is definitely the golf course to go to...

Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Guest Relations Manager at Coeur d'Alene Resort Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Hi Michael!

Thank you for your awesome review and for coming to play with us during Golftober Fest!

We hope you enjoyed the craft harvest beers and ales that were featured on select holes and the complimentary hotdogs hot off the grill! It's so great to hear that you loved all the amenities that we offer to make sure you have the best time out on the course. And of course to prepare you for the challenge that is the 14th hole!

Thanks again Michael and we would love for you to come play with us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Yes, this course is good but I was put off by the lack of signage on the course, having compulsory caddies and fairways that have seen too much traffic and not enough investment. I've done it, hit the floating green 3 days running. I did enjoy my visit but am not in a hurry to return.

Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Guest Relations Manager at Coeur d'Alene Resort Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2018

Hi Maria M!

Thank you for your review - We truly take all your comments to heart!

Congratulations on hitting our floating green 3 days running, now that is something to brag about! The engineering of the first and only floating, movable golf green, allows the 22,000 ton island to move along an intricate underwater cable system to varied distances from the tee - Anywhere from 90 yards all the way up to 220 yards!

Thanks again Maria M and we will make sure to pass all your feedback along to our Management Team for further consideration!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

The main reason this does not get 5 stars is because the tee boxes are not set up correctly compared to card yardage. This was not one or two holes, so how are you to record a proper score? The course is already short and the two forward tees were not accurate. All in all, a great time...some challenging holes and well maintained overall. The forecaddie was unassuming and friendly. This is a bucket list place to play based on the only floating green anywhere! You get a certificate for not having a wet ball off the tee, just a fun day...but it was terribly smokey from the fires, otherwise great. Lots of clothes in the golf shop, good breakfast food in the restaurant before our round is a bonus.

1  Thank Travel4GolfAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Guest Relations Manager at Coeur d'Alene Resort Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Hi Travel4GolfAnywhere!

Thank you so much for your great review and for coming to spend the day with us out on the course despite the smoky conditions!

We are so glad we were on your bucket list to play and that you were able to come check us off! Recognized as one of the most unique and recognizable golf holes in the world, our 14th hole is the first and only floating, movable golf green! We also really appreciate all your feedback and will make sure to pass your comments along to our Golf Course Management Team for further consideration!

Thanks again Travel4GolfAnywhere and we would love to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Really beautiful course. I wasn’t sure if it would be worth the hype but it definitely is. I did NOT hit the floating green on the first try, but I did on the second. It was expensive but honestly worth every penny. I shot a 81.

1  Thank nytravelluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Guest Relations Manager at Coeur d'Alene Resort Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Hi nytravelluver!

We just wanted to say thank you so very much for your wonderful review and for coming to play with us!

That famous floating green can sure be a challenge but congrats on hitting it the second go round! How did you enjoy the boat shuttle out to the green once you were on?

Thanks again nytravelluver! Come back for another round soon!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

I love playing this course and have played it a half dozen times now. They treat you very well... get you a custom bag tag, caddy, etc... the course is lush and well taken care of. The rough isnt too deep, but deep enough to hang up in. The tees have wonderful views of the mountains and lake. The fairways are a little forgiving but also enough of a challenge for the great golfer. I appreciate the greens because they are well manicured and well designed. The caddies are top notch and required for every two players. The club house carrys everything you will need plus what you may want. The staff are kind and helpful. Lastly, the floating green is a challenge - but fun. You get to take a boat out to the green and how many people can say that! Overall, ita a class act course - wonderful views, classy, course good for great golfers and those who just like to get out and hit the ball. A must place.

Thank travelfromIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Guest Relations Manager at Coeur d'Alene Resort Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Hi there TravelfromIdaho!

Wow - Thank you so very much for your raving review and for coming back to play with us again and again!

Not only do we love to hear that you appreciate the greens, but it's great to know that you find our famous floating green on the 14th hole both a challenge and fun! Our two custom designed, hand crafted, Honduran Mahogany lake shuttle boats are just one of the extra special touches to make your experience like non other!

Hope to see you again soon! Perhaps for GolftoberFest? We are celebrating the autumn festivities of the Bavarian Oktoberfest with craft harvest beers and ales featured on select holes!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

I’ve always been intrigued by the “world’s only floating green”. I have played golf courses all over the world - on 5 continents -so I really needed to experience this one. I actually didn’t even consider whether or not the rest of the course was worth our time.
Boy!! Was I ever pleasantly surprised! The grounds, themselves, were immaculately kept, the greens and fairways were in perfect shape, and the staff was beyond helpful. Our caddie was sweet, personable, and he knew the course perfectly. He certainly deserved a more than average tip.
...as for the floating green...I missed my birdie by inches, but received a certificate of par. Even guy driving the boat was a wonderful companion.
This course does not disappoint.

Thank sreiter2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Guest Relations Manager at Coeur d'Alene Resort Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Hi there sreiter2017!

Thank you so much for your review and for coming to play with us!

With your experience with golf courses all over the word, we couldn't be happier to know that we were on your bucket list and did not disappoint! It's great to hear what you thought of the grounds and even greater to hear that all our staff was able to make your time all the more enjoyable! Congrats on your par on the floating green!

Thanks again sreiter2017 and we would love to see you out on the course again!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

It was so much fun to play here. We had talked about playing here for years and it did not disappoint. It was a beautiful and the scenery cannot be beat. We I had played better and I can't wait to go back!

Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Guest Relations Manager at Coeur d'Alene Resort Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Hi Craig S!

Wow - Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind words!

We love to know that you had wanted to come play with us for years and you were finally able to! There is nothing better than playing right along the water of beautiful Coeur d'Alene Lake! We can't wait for you to come back again either!

Thanks again Craig S!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

It’s famous for the island hole which was fun but the whole course was user friendly. We had a caddie that wasn’t that helpful but that’s ok. I would play this course again next time In town.

Thank lesliebauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Guest Relations Manager at Coeur d'Alene Resort Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Hi there lesliebauman!

Thank you very your great review and for coming to spend the day on the course with us!

Our floating green on the 14th hole is definitely a treat! How did you do on it? We love to hear that you will be coming back to play with us again - There is no better compliment!

Thanks again lesliebauman, until next time!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

Carts are all gps enabled with detailed hole maps and an actual caddie will go out with your group. $25/per bag tip typical. Don't get too close to greens and nature areas with the cart or the engine will die and you must push it back to safety

1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Guest Relations Manager at Coeur d'Alene Resort Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Hi there Jeff S!

Thank you so very much for your raving review! We are so glad that we were able to help cross an item off your bucket list!

From the very beginning playing the course is a treat! You arrive in a custom mahogany lake shuttle and then are greeted by a personal forecaddie. Then the breathtaking lake views from nearly every hole will help ease the tension of the formidable challenge presented by the floating green on the 14th hole!

Thanks again Jeff S and we really hope you come play with us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

My son phoned in for a golf gift certificate. He was sold a $225 certificate for a round of golf. What he wasn’t told, was that they are running a $99 special. So when we tried to call and ask them if we could use it on two $99 rounds we were told no. So beware for Internet or phone orders, they do have $99 specials.

1  Thank chatabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Guest Relations Manager at Coeur d'Alene Resort Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Hi there chatabean!

Thank you for your review and for speaking to us on the phone regarding this matter!

We do sell golf gift cards for various prices and this one was an “all-season, anytime” golf round gift card. We do periodically promote local specials in the local newspapers that are only valid on very select dates and only for local residence.The great news is your son can play anytime with this gift card and is not restricted to play on the select dates of the special!

Thanks again chatabean and we look forward to seeing your son out on the course!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews