We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle Fork of Salmon River...6 day rafting trip”

ROW Adventure Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The ROW Adventure Center is the leader in outdoor activities in Spokane, Coeur d'Alene and the surrounding area. From whitewater rafting the Spokane River to lake kayaking the Coeur d'Alene...ROW Adventure Center has the activity for you! Since 1979, RAC's parent company, ROW Adventures, has delivered unique, innovative adventure travel tours worldwide. During this time ROW has have served over 200,000 guests from sea kayaking in the Galapagos Islands to whitewater rafting in the Northwest. ROW has been named annually by National Geographic as one of the "Best Adventure Travel Companies on Earth"...and we are right in Coeur d'Alene, Idaho! The ROW Adventure Center was an idea of the founders, Peter Grubb and Betsy Bowen, for many years. "We wanted to bring our years of experience in adventure travel home!" explains Peter. The ROW Adventure Center now operates all of the local activities in Spokane and Coeur d'Alene for ROW Adventures. We offer both guided and and self-guided whitewater rafting, lake kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, biking, and fly fishing trips, equipment rentals, and guided walking food, wine and history tours of Spokane and Couer d'Alene.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 3 (one son 9 yrs old) had an AMAZING time on the middle fork of the salmon. Our guides were fun, knowledgable and professional. We met many wonderful new friends and we are certain we'll stay connected. This is an awesome trip for anyone with a sense of adventure and anyone who loves being on a beautiful remote river. The fishing was great, white water was awesome but not scary. Our family loved this trip and ROW and hope to travel with them again!!!

Thank Jenkins H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Manager at ROW Adventure Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your review! We always love to hear that our guests make some friends in adventure...a lot of ROW guests still keep in touch with them years--even decades--later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 170 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I recently booked a 3/4 night and day bicycle package with Row Adventures, d/b/a Silver Bike Tours. Perhaps, because I'm a lawyer I was very concerned with paying for the tour six weeks in advance as requested/demanded by the web site. Well, I was wrong. Very wrong. With one, very minor mistake on Row's part; this was the best outfitter we had ever contracted. They literally babied us with emails and phone calls making sure every mile of our trip was satisfactory, and boy was it ever! When I look back on the accommodations, equipment and transportation provided by Row, they were absolutely outstanding. DO NOT HESITATE to work with this great bunch of people.

2  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Manager at ROW Adventure Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your kind words! We believe the ROW difference is in guest service, and that translates through each of our trips/activities. We're honored to be among the best outfitters in your experience, and would love to have you on another trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Rafted the Clark Fork with ROW and a few friends this week, and had the greatest time! The weather was beautiful, but more importantly, the guides were excellent! Both Jake and Jonah were so engaging and funny. There was quite a bit of information on local history, which was a bonus! Lunch was delicious! Jake was great with kids, and Jonah's raft looked to be having an absolute blast. A great trip for young ones and adults, highly recommended.

1  Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Manager at ROW Adventure Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks for your review! Jonah and Jake are great guides, and we're so glad that you had such a fun time! We hope you'll visit us in our Coeur d'Alene office or join us on another trip soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

ROW Adventures is the one to go with for your Snake River trip!

I and a friend took a 5 day trip, which included other guests whom we had not previously met. My understanding is that 14 is the maximum group size, and this is one reason we chose ROW. This size group means individual attention, ability to do a greater variety of activities, better safety and more time to get to know your fellow guests. Our trip had 4 guides (Shane, Kalisha, Connie & Jess) and 1 swamper (Keenan) … who were a well organized, competent crew who worked efficiently and effectively together, as well as were professional in all respects. Our group of guests included two high schoolers and one ten-year-old, two guests who wanted to fish, one who brought a mandolin, one who wanted quiet time to catch up on reading and several gregarious folks who took advantage of social times. Whether on the river or in camp, the ROW crew had something for everyone and made sure each guest enjoyed themselves.

There were three types of boat that we could choose: paddle raft, oar raft and inflatable kayak (called a ducky). It was great fun to try them all. The guides were completely familiar with every rapid, pool and eddy on the river. No matter which vessel you were in they gave ample instructions and support for a fun and safe ride.

The rapids on the Snake are what are called "pool and drop" which means that after each rapid, or drop, there is a calm pool where we drifted, enjoyed the scenery, spotted wildlife (big horn sheep, deer, otter, etc), went to shore for a hike or an interpretive talk. There was Indian rock art, pioneer homestead cabins, an abandoned mine adit, a USFS museum. ROW makes a point to visit as many of these sites as possible during our trips and provide well researched information about each place. On our trip, Connie (who is a long time resident in a nearby town and one of our ROW guides) actually knew some of historic characters and told us some great stories that you won’t find in any book.

Each morning, one of the crew launched ahead of the rest to go down river, locate our next campsite, set up camp and pitch our tents. Our campsites were on grassy benches or sandy beaches. The guides prepared our meals and let the rest of us relax and socialize. Before the trip, each guest provided information about food preferences. Amazingly every one of the 14 of us were accommodated for every meal.

Of all the group trips/tours I’ve taken to various places around the globe, this was the most congenial and cohesive group I’ve experienced. While the spectacular surroundings had something to do with this, I believe is this was also according to ROW’s design. There was professional and thorough guest contact & information exchange before the trip, attentiveness during the trip and a wrap-up banquet in Lewiston after the trip, followed by a personalized thank you card mailed a few days after the trip. If you take a trip, don’t bypass the final Lewiston banquet, as it’s a nice conclusion to ease you back into your terrestrial-bound life.

2  Thank Zipster16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Manager at ROW Adventure Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We appreciate your review, and we're so glad that the missions of ROW were reflected in your trip! Superb guest service is the ROW difference, and we take pride in the quality of our guides. Thank you for detailing your adventure on the Snake...we thoroughly enjoyed it and would love to have you on another trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was great. We went kayaking at Coeur D'Alene lake on 4th of July. The lake was a bit rough but after we got into Cougar Bay, it was just beautiful. Kelly, our guide was the best.

Thank stoobggu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Manager at ROW Adventure Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks for your review! We love Kelly too, and we're so glad you had a good time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ROW Adventure Center also viewed

 

Been to ROW Adventure Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing