We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid if you can” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackwell Island RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coeur d'Alene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackwell Island RV Park
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

As other reviewers said, the old people that manage this are cranky and they are treating clients poorly.
The Game, Arcade and another room are always locked because "of kids that destroyed stuff" bs. The beach does not exist as it is just a small area of grass by the river.
If you are lucky you get a spot by the highway and you hear... traffic.
They charged 51$ / night and they wanted money in advance even for a couple nights.
The bathrooms are clean.
Lights are missing at the pullthrough-s.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    25
    5
    8
See reviews for
56
40
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Blackwell's for 3 nights in late August. The best part about staying here was probably the cheerful staff who never failed to have a kind word or helpful information. The sites were large and level and the showers were clean. Everyone there was friendly and in a good mood. There was even a floating restaurant close by where we had appetizers. The only negative came on our last night. We were next to the party room where a group of revelers decided to set off fireworks which scared our dogs and of course is against the law. Plus, there were forest fires nearby, so who would want to set off fireworks?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camperchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

First let me start by saying Blackwell rv Park is overpriced. Like, so overpriced that at first you think they're kidding. They're not. And then, for anything in the world, anything they can possibly think of, they will add an extra fee! They take your money, hand you their laundry list of rules, some common sense that anyone knows not to do and others that are basically saying "we don't want to hear or see you while you're here, just get in your rv and stay there.
Before I booked with them well in advance, I made sure they had wifi because I need it for my business while I'm away. Very important. They assured me that was no problem, every space had great wifi. It was a totally different story once we get settled in. I needed to check in with my work and make sure no one was having any problems in my absence. There wasn't any wifi to be had. I called the office for assisstance and the best they could do was tell me that sometimes it doesnt work very good, I should move closer to a window and theirs was working fine. Whoever the lady was, she was rude and not helpful. Her tone was that I was inconveniencing her. during our stay it never got better. I don't know how theyre allowed to advertise that they have wifi.
The grounds were well kept. It was clean. They have the BEST showers of any rv park we have ever stayed. They're almost just like home. Very clean and private. Overall, we would stay here again because there are so few places to choose from. And Blackwell RV knows that. That's why they can charge pretty much any price they want. We were there for 3 nights in the middle of week and there was no vacancy on any of these nights.

Room Tip: Don't get the spaces near the highway unless you want to hear traffic all night long. Try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B3ccaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was surprised to read the negative reviews. We had a very positive experience at this RV Park and we plan to return later this summer. We spent two nights with our family and friends in RVs at Blackwell. The location was perfect for participating in a basketball tournament in CdA. We found the owners to be extremely helpful and kind. In fact, we were offered the opportunity to camp at a site closer to the water when they noticed we had teenagers with us. The kids had a great time watching movies outside our RV and we had no complaints about the management. During the day we were off the property playing basketball, in the evenings we thankful to have access to clean showers and a safe place to just hangout. The meeting room was not open during our stay, but the grounds were all maintained well and we enjoyed hanging out outside.

Room Tip: The sites near the water were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I was concerned about staying at this park after reading some of the bad reviews of people with children. We have a two and six year-old. Our experience at this park was great. The staff were friendly and gave special information on activities for the children. The park is clean and there are many staff patrolling the area to help with any problems that you may have. Many of the staff also live at the park as RVers and were a fount of information. The pads are level and sites are neat. While we were there, we saw them adding in rock to sites to ensure that there was plenty of room to accomodate detached trucks that parked 5th wheels.

The highlight for our children was the beachfront swimming area. The other items (game room, arcade, and playground) were clean but not impressive. We did sign a contract with regards to oversight of our children (we would not let them roam freely, etc.), but there were many children at the park and it was still quite peaceful for both older retired couples as well as young families.

If I were to make suggestions, I would say that the cable tv service signal was pretty weak and I wished there were laundry facilities on both ends of the park. This was a beautiful and professionally managed park. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were lucky enough to visit BLACKWELL ISLAND for a month. We would've LOVED to have stayed another four months..........unfortunately for us, this is a much loved RV park and extending our stay was not possible as they were booked solid. Matt was so accomodating~accepting my calls to change our site numerous times due to our specific needs. The staff is incredibly helpful; the facilities unbelievably clean and the location so conducive to anything you might want to do. Be sure to visit the Wednesday night Farmer's Market 4-7pm; Roger's Ice Cream (for the BEST burgers!); Jimmy's Down the Street for breakfast (Guy Fieri visited them!!) and Michael D's for lunch. The Iron Horse on the main drag is a must do before the Farmer's Market for a great happy hour. Coeur D'Alene Chocolates has AMAZINGLY homemade caramels; lastly, the Seaplane tours are spectacular as is the city beach. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to an AMAZING vacation at Blackwell Island. We can't WAIT to get back there this September!! Thank you to the Hall family for sharing their little slice of heaven!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELINFO4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Going on our 10 th visit of no less than 10 days each and really enjoy park travel 9 hrs each year to get there from Canada . Great people and great staff. Says something when a park this size is booked a year in advance for Jly 4 firework show at CDA

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2015yyctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwell Island RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwell Island RV Park

Property: Blackwell Island RV Park
Address: 800 S Marina Dr, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-7149
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Coeur d'Alene
Number of rooms: 182
Also Known As:
Blackwell Island RV Park Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing