We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bistro on Spruce consistently good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro on Spruce

Bistro on Spruce
Ranked #81 of 249 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bistro on Spruce consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

It's in midtown, not downtown, so is often overlooked, but Bistro on Spruce is a jewel of a place. We recently hit up their happy hour menu (3-5:30) and it was definately worth it. Wines by the glass 1/2 price (hello 2 for 1) and all the small plates quite tasty. Only problem was, we had too many! We will definately be back again for happy hour!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chazzbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    21
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Under-cooked Pork, Charcoal Cabbage and Missing Salmon.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

First with the positive. We had a very professional server. She was friendly, adult and efficient.
We had the Pork Rib Eye Chop and the Smoked Salmon Ravioli. The pork was pink inside as filet style. This may be gourmet somewhere but not in our house.
The knee slapper was a slab of raw cabbage complete with stem that looked as if it had been passed over with a butane torch. The complete one side was burn black and crusty. Nice trick but we didn't buy it so our server brought a side dish that was to be the 'grilled' cabbage mentioned in the menu. It turned out to be same chopped raw cabbage in a vinegar solution.
Could not find any salmon so decided menu must have said 'salmon colored'. Then after reading the menu online later we realized that it was not salmon and capers and onion filled ravioli but salmoncapersonion filled ravioli. Another nice trick, especially as the palomino sauce completely overpowered everything.
We are kicking ourselves for not just paying for our wine and walking out as soon as plates arrived but were exhausted from a day of power shopping.
A seating suggestion:
If you are being taken to one of the two booths in the back and you see the large table in front of them filled then decline as the noise will come right in at you.
Another suggestion:
BEFORE you order make a trip to the washroom and before you take the few steps down, look both left and right. It's not pretty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2olddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
144 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“More than just a sandwich for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Great experience! We often stop for lunch on our way home to Seattle in Cda. This by far our best choice yet. We didn't want sandwiches(although they looked delicious).
I had a polenta with fungi and beef. Speechless ! Probably the best polenta I've ever had. We also tried the soup of the day and clam linguini and for dessert Irish car bomb, very tasty! Will return!

Helpful?
Thank Bingitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
140 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Many restaurants in this area come and go, particularly ones not owned by the local resort, but Bistro on Spruce is predictable, consistent, has a well-trained and friendly staff and always, a good menu which varies dependent upon the season. It's one of our favorites and we go here more often than any other in town. Good for lunch, dinner and brunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Met with friends for a birthday dinner gathering, my first visit to this Bistro. Cozy atmosphere, delicious fare. Two ordered lamb and found it delicious. Two ordered shrimp and grits (who'd have guessed that grits could be so creamy and fantastic). We arrived in time for tapas, and the Mediterranean veggie dips and the calamari were wonderful. I enjoyed a chardonnay that I'd not had before, but unfortunately can't remember the name. Others enjoyed tasty micro brews. I will go here again, can't wait to try the halibut tacos tapas. They must be fantastic. Though the place was busy, we enjoyed a booth and noise level was very tolerable. Also noted a nicely enclosed meeting area that could be rented for larger groups. Waitress was a bit scattered getting our order right, but the entire meal and dining experience was fabulous.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank runninghorse10711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro on Spruce also viewed

 
Coeur d'Alene, ID
 

Been to Bistro on Spruce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing