We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Nice Premises, Rude (front office) Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The hotel is directly on the Lake and next to Tubbs Hill which is the biggest plus point.
It is directly on the main 2 streets where a lot of the hotels/bars are located.
We stayed on July 4th weekend and the fireworks are on the lake about 500 yards from the hotel and were fantastic.
The facility is beautiful and well maintained. We had a corner room on the 5th floor overlooking both the Marina and Tubbs Hill with an awesome view. The room itself was gorgeous with a split level design. The King bed was up top and 2 steps down to the sitting area with a sofa which was the size of a twin bed and comfortable sleeping for one child.
We did request an Air Matress which was fine. (for an extra$15 per night)
Balcony faced the lake and was great.

The Hotel checkin staff sucks. They are rude, disorganized, and somewhat sleazy.
I agree wholeheartedly with a lot of reviews where they try to sneak in charges or give you wrong / misleading information. Our room (though we were paying for 2 adults 2 children) came with only 2 adult entrees for breakfast. Apparently they are supposed to give you some type of coupons. They never did. Trying to straighten it out took forever. Even then they were very cheap on doing it ( for example charging $4 for a juice as an extra while coffee was included.)

The restaurant inside (DockSide) provided good food and service. I thought prices were reasonable for such a restaurant.
We did not use the pool and spa, though the facility has one.
The property is well maintained. Parking is $17 per day and they do not tell you about it upfront.

One thing they did not tell us, but we discovered by reading some materials is that the hotel does have a boat ride (free) to their private beach located at the Golf course. Its a nice 10 minute boat ride that is worth doing. Both the boat taxi captains were extremely friendly.

Tubbs hill directly across the hotel is a nice 2 mile hiking experience but is poorly marked on the trails for firstimers.

In a nutshell
The front staff needs an overhaul. They are ruining the experience of staying there. They need hospitality training. They look like they may be friends/relatives of the developers and not true professionals. They are ruining the overall experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BbBbBbBbTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,583 - 1,589 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

First of all, in room coffee isn't complimentary. Secondly, if you don't want alcohol in the pre-filled refrigerator, they'll charge you a $10.00 fee just to take it away. AND if you want to check out early, even if you didn't pre-pay for your reservation, they charge you a $75.00 early check out fee. All of this at a hotel that charges premium for their rooms. Service was mediocre. Wouldn't stay here again at this price with this service and nonsense.

Oh, and be careful at the spa. I got charged $245.00 for a 50 min. massage. Fortunately, somene at the spa caught their mistake and called to let me know they credited my visa...it was only $145.00.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gocougs92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Traveled with a large(30) golf group, so spent most of the days away from the hotel. rooms were clean and service excellent. Price very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alohasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We went for a special occasion. Every room was over priced we thought, but it was a special occassion and we never do "that sort of thing" so we justified it that way.
But the noise level for that priced room was rediculous.
I won't recomment it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Rude, ignorant and openly judgemental to unique people. Freely overcharge then try to explain how they are within their rights. Extremely overpriced hotel. Worst and most expensive stay at a hotel I have ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ireneq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed with family and our kids at the CDA Resort over a long weekend. The room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the view was fantastic. However, everything in the hotel was ridiculously expensive. I mean, $16 for a ham and cheese omlette? Really? They had restrictions on kid pool hours which no one mentioned until we were swimming so that wasn't cool either. Oh, and they don't mention until you check in that they automatically charge you another $17/night for garage parking. You can, however, park on the street and they will remove the charge at your request. If your looking for a great value, look elsewhere. This would be a great choice for romantic weekend splurge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goddessrfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

It's a nice hotel. But it screams BUILT IN THE MID-80s. The lobby has low ceilings which makes it feel cramped.

The staff was pleasant but in now way went to any great lengths to offer me service.

The bed was very comfortable.

I had a room with a view of the lake which was great. The room looked modern, I assume it was recently renovated. The bathroom was superb, tile/marble floors and very cool shower. Room was clean.

I didn't experience the noise others have mentioned but my stay was during the week when the place was kind of dead. To the people who compalined about boat noise in the summer.....what do you expect? The hotel has a marina with a hundred or so boats. If you want quiet, rent a cabin in the mountains instead.

$17 for parking is ridiculous when rooms start at $200 a night. This isn't New York City where land is at a premium and parking is hard to find.

In general I had a good experience and would recommend it. But for the price you can do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSmith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
922 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coeur D Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Address: 115 S 2nd St, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2738
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range: $139 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Coeur d'Alene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing