We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hectic July forth visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Poulsbo, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hectic July forth visit”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed three days over the forth of July week. Overall we enjoyed our stay. For us, it was a nice place to go but would not go back. It was not convenient for us. You have to take a water taxi to the pool and golf course which sounds cool but gets old real fast. We go to the pool a lot and because of the hassle of the water taxi, we only went twice. If you are a golfer, you go ahead of the pool folks and they actually had people get off the boat to accommodate (late) golfers.. Not cool. I think the owners/managers do a great job marketing but the execution was lacking. The staff did the best they could but were obviously overwhelmed by all the people there for the holiday. There was lots of non-guests coming in and out of the hotel during the whole forth of July. There was someone at the door but it was just too much to handle. The hotel did offer lawn sitting which was a nice touch. The cost is very high and for the money I want everything a lot more convenient.. I am sure there are tons of people tht love it and return year after year, so they won't miss us.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the indoor pool. I could smell chorine. If you like to sleep in I would no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kathy K,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us this 4th of July. I understand your concerns regarding the golf shuttle boat and will be sure to relay this information to a higher authority. Unfortunately, in a small Resort town, the inflated number of tourists is something all the local businesses face. We do our best to keep up and will only work harder for next years holidays. Thank you for your feedback and I hope we see you back in the future.

Chelsea Vanos
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    286
    142
    95
    74
See reviews for
350
559
31
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in early July and believe we received the corresponding value for the premium price we paid. Hotel is well maintained on all dimensions. We have a lake view room without a balcony. It was a well appointed room, slightly undersized with the ability to open the windows and enjoy the fresh summer air (which we did frequently). The golf course is also worth the premium pricing as the ground conditions are top rate and of course, the chance to play their famous floating green. Their gym area is top rated with a very nice indoor pool/whirlpool area.

The hotel pool is over by the golf course, is located steps away from their small lake front beach and features an infinity pool overlooking the lake. It is a very nice pool area which requires a short boat ride or a 5 minute car ride to reach. (It is quite enjoyable to take the boat ride to the over to the pool and to get a close look at the golf course.) We dined once at the Lakefront Grill in the hotel and had a very good meal. Our favorite meal was at a local establishment called Moon Time Grill featuring a few nice beers on time and very tasty food at great prices.

We walked Tubbs hill each day. (It is a nice 30 minute, moderate walk if you walk the perimeter. If you cut through the middle of the hill the walk becomes more difficult) We took the 90 minute lake cruise which tours the south end of the lake and also rented bikes in town for a two hour, 15 mile ride along their paved, off-road trial system. While hilly, it was fun to ride a paved route not along cars. We would highly endorse all of the listed activities.

Last, we did try the spa services. I would save your Spa day for the Coeur d'Alene Casino rather than the Couer D'Alene Resort. The Casino is $75 vs. $115 (or so) at Coeur d'Alene Resort and the Casain has a sauna, the best whirlpool I've ever experienced and a cold soak pool. Both areas have nice relaxation areas, but I was disappointed that the Resort lacked any sort of steam room, sauna, whirlpool, etc in the Spa given the premium pricing. Like I say, if you are in Coeur D'Alene area stay one day at the Casino, lose a few shackels at the slots, play their golf course and do a massage are their Spa (if that is your thing)

Room Tip: Recommend a balcony room (they all face the lake) or a lake facing window room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Tcubsfan,

Thank you for your glowing review on TripAdvisor.com. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience the local trails and a cruise on the lake. Everyone here is looking forward to your next stay with us in Coeur d'Alene.

Chelsea Vanos
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritzville, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sorry to hear of Gail H's complaints about the CDA Resort because our 4th of July experience was just the opposite! Friendly staff greeted us from the start of our trip to the end. Our accommodations were clean, comfortable and QUIET. I enjoyed a great wine tour with Eric up at Beverly's and it was far from expensive. It was free and included a glass of wine of my choice! These tours are offered to all guests and are done daily I believe. We enjoyed a wonderful meal when we attended the Steaks and Sparklers event that also provided a great view of the fireworks later that evening. The Resort is inviting from every aspect in my opinion and we are already looking forward to our next visit. It is definitely at the top of our list of places to stay. We've been there several times and have never been disappointed!

Shary

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms that come with a fireplace and balcony offer an extra special treat. Looking out at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GramShary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
GramShary,

I am thrilled to hear how enjoyable your 4th of July experience was here at the Resort. Our daily wine tours at 4:30 p.m. are certainly a must when visiting. They are actually open to our hotel guests as well as the public. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We will all look forward to your next visit to Coeur d'Alene.

Chelsea Vanos
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Coeur d'Alene is a beautiful place to go !!!!

It overlooks the lake and is in the center of a small town, you can walk from the hotel to the main st. to the shops and restaurants. At the hotel there is a fine dining restaurant and a casual one (which was just ok). Booking a room I highly recommend a tower lake view, request a high floor for best views !!! The room, bathroom area is top notch yet still with a cozy feel.
FYI did not see any night time entertainment at hotel or much of one in town so you can catch up on your rest. lol

The hotel staff..... between the friendly girls at the front desk seeing my 2 little maltese and playing with them to inquiring about things, to room service and bell men, to internet booking and inquires inquires with Kristin on by email, to the staff at the boat dock filling up on gas and golf course staff as well (comes with caddie so be prepared to tip them for 4 plus hrs work). The caddie Blake made it more enjoyable with his personality and golf knowledge. So especially to Blake thanks. Everyone of them were fantastic !!!!

I rented a pontoon boat with new sun adventures, new boat, nice people, quick easy no hassle so I would recommend them. Book boat in advance. One of the best prices I found for 8 hrs at $425 and good on gas too since I did 90% of the lake, $70 to fill. There are a couple of marina's on the lake for gas, food etc Just ask them where there located on that lake.

Highly suggest going to tubs hill, sooooo gorgeous, love it ! Its starts the back end of the hotel. The path is smoothish to walking up onto rock. There are spots to swim either from the rock or small beaches. Flip flops might be a bit difficult for some people so maybe running shoes.

Golf course is beautiful. FYI there is a beach and an infiniti pool that over looks the lake, there are boats that ferry you from the hotel to the golf course and back, pretty sure its free for hotel guests. We drove, which is 2 right hand turns from hotel just on the other side of tubs hill.

Gift shop has some nice CDA shirts, good prices. Also, there is a small plaza outside of hotel, nice cute and quaint. Good gift shop there that will have everything you need. The hotels Italian restaurant is there as well its located on the outside of plaza on the main st, so sit at the patio. I didn't eat there but heard it was good from other people.

Hotel is very pet friendly. One time charge for $50, that's it !! so worth it. Doggies can even sit outside at whispers bar, you can order food or sit and look at the marina or the stars depending which time your there. lol all while fido is by your side. Also take your doggie to tubs hill. Most local patio restaurants I saw people with dogs there so your baby doesn't have to spend all day in the hotel.

Swimming.... tubs hill or the beach to the side of hotel which goes for quite a ways, it's nicer further past the busy park where the beach is located, great place for a stroll as well. There is NO outside pool at hotel only indoor !!! you need to go to the golf course, shuttle boat every 1/2 hr, and 10 min to get there. Its worth it to go there, either for couples or families. They have towels there for you to use.

Enjoy and have fun cause you will !!!

Room Tip: Tower lake view room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staceyb254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Stacey B,

Thank you so much for sharing your first experience in Coeur d'Alene on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you were able to partake in many of the activities offered through the hotel and the local businesses. I definitely remember your precious maltese babies you brought with you, very sweet! I will relay this wonderful information to all our department heads. The staff will be happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully, we will see you back soon.

Chelsea Vanos
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whetstone, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This resort is a great place to stay over the 4th of July. Right on the lake with a beach, park, marina, fireworks, etc. The hotel is a bit overpriced as the rooms are nothing special. Very small room with no safe. Door was very hard to open and had to get hotel staff to open the first time. No one fixed it so it was a constant problem. Hotel elevator was broke for a couple of days.
But, if you are staying in Coeur d Alene, this is a great location. Walking distance to many good restaurants and everything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoobggu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Stoobggu,

Thank you for sharing you experience on TripAdvisor.com. I have followed up with our engineering management to double check the problems you had were truly fixed. I am glad to hear your 4th of July experience was so wonderful. Thank you again and I hope to see you back in the future.

Chelsea Vanos
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just spent the 4th and the weekend at the Coeur d'Alene Resort for a family gathering and wedding. Never have I experienced such service and assistance in making the whole visit very special. Traveled with our two children and four grandchildren. The accommodations were perfect - could watch the fabulous fireworks from your bed! - and near all the important recreational opportunities in Coeur d'Alene, the most beautiful setting on earth. Took a cruise of the lake and enjoyed the spectacular infinity pool overlooking the lake. Played some golf and hikes some trails. The finale was a beautiful family wedding at the Resort's event space, again overlooking the lake and getting a second surprise fireworks display. The best time ever!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. Great views and very relaxing. Make sure to take a lake cruise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carle101447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Carle101447,

I am so glad to hear your 4th of July experience was so unforgettable. We work very hard to make all Holidays extra special and it thrills me to hear it paid off. Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience on TripAdvisor.com, and I hope you are able to visit again in the near future.

Chelsea Vanos
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Everyone, and I mean everyone in the world needs to see and experience Coeur D Alene Idaho and the best place to stay for the experience is this resort. There is no where in the world more beautiful and the availability of experiences is endless. While there you must (even if you are a hacker like me) golf at their famous Floating Green Course. It is unbelievable. This is an opportunity for one of those lifetime "wows" . We just returned from our 8th or 9 th time there and cannot wait to return. GO!

Room Tip: Lake side is the ONLY way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Rebecca2651,

Thank you so much for your positive review of the Resort. Coeur d'Alene is a hidden gem and we want everyone to come experience it for themselves. We greatly appreciate your continued support and cannot wait until your next visit.

Chelsea Vanos
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
864 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Property: The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Address: 115 S 2nd St, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2738
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Coeur d'Alene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing