We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a difficult review because the experience is either really great or bad.

The resort was recently remodeled who would place the check in desk at the very back of the motel, pass the bell desk and pass the concierge desk, not helpfull when your hands are full of luggage. I was in a park tower room, nothing Francy, especially for the price. I had no view at all. That said I got a great night sleep but the towels are rougher than sand paper.

Food, especially the catering was out of the park great! Great workout facility too!

Played the course and from the experience of catching the boat till I returned, simply OUTSTANDING.

Conference facility literally had the worst chairs to sit in. Felt like the padding left them in 1990.

Overall it's nice, but expensive.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gubulldogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. Our multi-million dollar remodel has given the resort a brand new look and ambiance for our Guests. The basic layout of the hotel was not changed, therefore our registration desks remain in the exact same area. The owner's wishes to have the check-in desks at the rear of the hotel are so our Guests can see the beautiful view of the lake while they receive their room information. Our bell desk staff offers assistance to everyone who seems to need it as best as they can, and certainly provides assistance for all who ask. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the 5 star golf course during your stay with us. The information about the chairs in our convention center will be directed to the correct management staff and dealt with. Again, thank you for your review, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    270
    136
    91
    73
See reviews for
333
545
31
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Arrived to hotel on a beautiful day. The scenery is gorgeous from the hotel situated right on the lake, Our reservation was mixed up, but the General Manager of the Hotel stepped in and could not be more helpful. As we waited for things to get straightened out, he invited my daughters, husband and I to whatever we wanted from the Starbucks in the lobby. The rooms we stayed in were beautiful with gorgeous views of the lake. We dined at all of the restaurants on the property during our stay and they were ALL excellent. We were even lucky enough to tour the wine cellar! The location of the hotel could not be better, walking distance to virtually everything, shopping, more restaurants, hiking. The beds were very comfortable. Rooms exceptionally clean. The balcony off our room was a bit dated and tiles were coming loose. Work out room was very nice and had a decent amount of equipment. i also had a massage that was outstanding and the spa was beautiful. The pool was a fun boat ride away, but I'm not used to having to factor extra time in to ride a boat back and forth from the pool. if you are a golfer (which I am not), this is the place to be. The course looked gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Your review on TripAdvisor.com is greatly appreciated by all of our staff in northern Idaho. Downtown Coeur d'Alene is certainly a one of a kind experience with all of the local shops, art galleries, and restaurants. We will take care of the balcony right away to avoid any problems in the future, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had a glorious stay at the Coeur d’Alene Resort last week. Arrived for early check-in and were greeted by friendly and efficient staff from bellman to receptionist. Absolutely beautiful view from our ninth floor lake-facing room with balcony. Relaxed before our wine cellar tour with knowledgeable staff. Cellars and stock were impressive. Dinner at Beverly’s was delicious. The menu presented many Northwest alternatives and waitress noted her favorites. All in our party enjoyed the beet salad with creamy garlic vinaigrette. We liked the option of a small plate. I chose the halibut which was good, but just a bit dry. We were celebrating a birthday and that was duly noted with a cotton candy cake. Sunset over Lake CdA was spectacular. Ladies enjoyed a spa pedicure the next morning and relaxation in the serenity room before joining bustling guests. I left feeling well taken care of by experienced staff; I’ll return for more of that treatment and that view.

Room Tip: Go with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Coeur d'Alene Resort, your feedback is greatly appreciated. Our daily wine cellar tour is definitely a favorite experience for Guests and locals alike! I have also enjoyed one of Beverly's beet salads and it was delicious. The homemade cotton candy is also one of my favorites. We look forward to you returning to stay and/or dine with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Remarkable attention to every detail, a staff highly motivated to provide excellent service to please, extraordinary views from a luscious lakeside room, good friends, and delicious dining brought smiles to our faces for this memorable birthday celebration. This stay left us longing for more and making plans to return. Spa and pool are lovely; enjoyed pedicures and huckleberry mimosas, the serenity of the quiet room 1 floor above. The lake and Tubbs Hill setting is stunning. It doesn’t get better than this, folks. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Interior corner room, 9th floor, lake side, afforded view of Tubbs Hill, marina, and expansive lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runninghorse10711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Coeur d'Alene Resort. It is so pleasing to hear how delightful your stay was. We look forward to you spending many more birthdays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We are sitting in the airport in Utah and I would do anything to be back on our balcony overlooking the beautiful lake. Having gone to school for hospitality our expectations are always rather high when traveling and this place is everything hospitality should be. From the shuttle from the airport, to the staff at all restaurants we had the time of our life. The food is amazing, the drinks delicious and if you want a heart attack you have to try the Gooey desert that has enough calories for a year but is well worth it. I recommended the rose pedal brunch a great deal for only $40. I really struggle to agree with any review calling it overpriced. You are in a four diamond on the lake and I felt the outlets were all more then reasonably priced. The shuttle from the hotel to the horizon pool by the golf course is amazing as was the service there as well. We finished with a great dinner at Beverlys a romantic must. This is a romantic, personable, amicable staff with one of the best in room dining teams we have ever had the pleasure of having. The housekeeping was spot on with the room done every day we came back to our room. We spent well over $600 on food and beverage and had amazing interactions with everyone we encountered.

In a day when negatives always seem to be noticed I hope management here takes some time to appreciate the staff you have that make this such an amazing place.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gokingsgogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your genuine review of The Coeur d'Alene Resort. It pleases and encourages all of the staff to hear feedback as positive as yours. The Gooey desserts are one of my favorites too! We look forward to you returning again and again in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The CDA resort has been a staple of this community for more than 20 years. The setting is incredible at the heart of downtown and directly on the water. Most rooms have unobstructed lake front views. The service is attentive with a small town friendliness. The lobby and common areas have recently been updated which give the hotel a very good feel.

The golf course is incredibly well maintained with great caddies (ask for KC) and of course has the signature floating green. Even though it is highly publicized it is still very cool.

This is the only place I would stay in Coeur d'Alene. Make sure you go to Hudsons Hamburgers on Sherman if you're visiting - it's been there for more than 100 years and is truly stepping into a time machine.

Room Tip: Choose the lake front rooms on the higher levels. Unobstructed lake front views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I am glad to hear you always choose The Coeur d'Alene Resort when you visit northern Idaho. We appreciate the business you have brought us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Coeur d'Alene is a very pretty and quaint little town on the shore of a scenic lake. You get to it by flying into Spokane, Washington and driving 45 minutes or so to the east - it's an easy drive. The hotel appears to be the biggest industry in this small town (population less than 50,000).

The lake is very pretty, with the hills descending into the water in amny places. It is large enough to host many water activities, including boat tours, floatplane tours, parasailing, personal watercraft, etc. There are beaches along some parts of the shore, including public beaches.

The town consists of one or two principal streets that provide for a nice stroll, although the "main" street is only five blocks long. Along this street are shops, restaurants, art galleries. There is a lot of public art in the form of sculptures scattered throughout the town, so it is very pleasant, especially on a beautiful summer day.

The hotel has a nice setting. There is a large marina attached, with a lot of boats. Right next to the hotel on one side is a public beach; on the other side is a small hill that appears to be a type of public park, with a walking trail going around the base - a nice way to walk along the lake for a short distance. The hotel has several restaurants and a lounge.

As a hotel, it is nothing special. It is nice enough, with pleasant (but not beautiful) interiors and public spaces. It appears to be an older architecture with some renovations having been done. It is clean and the facilities are well-maintained. There is a high-rise tower (maybe 15 stories) and then a lower section (the north wing) that is only two or three floors. I'm sure there are some nice rooms in the tower, especially facing the lake with nice views. Whatever you do, DO NOT get the rooms in the north wing, even though they are less expensive. They are still not worth the price ($200 in my case). These rooms are reminiscent of an old Holiday Inn, with the door leading directly to an outside corridor. There is no sound insulation at all on the corridor side, and not much on the between-room walls. The bathroom is cramped. There is a small closet. The location of these rooms is abysmal. You have a limited view of part of the lake, but only looking across the top of a large, flat roof with air vents and other features sticking out of it. The view is also blocked by the tower and by some decorative roofs on the far side of the roof. This was the standard 2-queen room with limited views.

I'm sure that the rooms in the tower must be much more expensive, and since I did not see one I cannot comment on the value. One person who was in the tower said that the room was too small for the king-size bed, so that there was only about one foot between the bed and the wall.

I will say that the staff were very friendly and nice - as were the people in town with whom I interacted. The only real complaint I have is the rooms in the north wing and the prices.

Room Tip: North wing rooms are not worth the price and have terrible location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com. The different styles and prices of rooms we provide are to better serve our potential Guests. We want everyone to be able to come and enjoy the beautiful city of Coeur d'Alene. No, these rooms do not have views and we inform our Guests of this at the time of booking. They were, however, newly updated in January and February of 2012 during the multimillion dollar remodel. The Coeur d'Alene Resort has an unbeatable location and is just steps from the lake, downtown shopping and nightlife, and many other attractive features the city has to offer. When you stay at The Resort you are paying for much more than a hotel room, but an overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
847 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Property: The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Address: 115 S 2nd St, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2738
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels and Hotwire so you can book your The Coeur d'Alene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing