We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The essence of hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The essence of hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We are sitting in the airport in Utah and I would do anything to be back on our balcony overlooking the beautiful lake. Having gone to school for hospitality our expectations are always rather high when traveling and this place is everything hospitality should be. From the shuttle from the airport, to the staff at all restaurants we had the time of our life. The food is amazing, the drinks delicious and if you want a heart attack you have to try the Gooey desert that has enough calories for a year but is well worth it. I recommended the rose pedal brunch a great deal for only $40. I really struggle to agree with any review calling it overpriced. You are in a four diamond on the lake and I felt the outlets were all more then reasonably priced. The shuttle from the hotel to the horizon pool by the golf course is amazing as was the service there as well. We finished with a great dinner at Beverlys a romantic must. This is a romantic, personable, amicable staff with one of the best in room dining teams we have ever had the pleasure of having. The housekeeping was spot on with the room done every day we came back to our room. We spent well over $600 on food and beverage and had amazing interactions with everyone we encountered.

In a day when negatives always seem to be noticed I hope management here takes some time to appreciate the staff you have that make this such an amazing place.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gokingsgogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your genuine review of The Coeur d'Alene Resort. It pleases and encourages all of the staff to hear feedback as positive as yours. The Gooey desserts are one of my favorites too! We look forward to you returning again and again in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    257
    127
    85
    67
See reviews for
311
524
28
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The CDA resort has been a staple of this community for more than 20 years. The setting is incredible at the heart of downtown and directly on the water. Most rooms have unobstructed lake front views. The service is attentive with a small town friendliness. The lobby and common areas have recently been updated which give the hotel a very good feel.

The golf course is incredibly well maintained with great caddies (ask for KC) and of course has the signature floating green. Even though it is highly publicized it is still very cool.

This is the only place I would stay in Coeur d'Alene. Make sure you go to Hudsons Hamburgers on Sherman if you're visiting - it's been there for more than 100 years and is truly stepping into a time machine.

Room Tip: Choose the lake front rooms on the higher levels. Unobstructed lake front views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I am glad to hear you always choose The Coeur d'Alene Resort when you visit northern Idaho. We appreciate the business you have brought us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Coeur d'Alene is a very pretty and quaint little town on the shore of a scenic lake. You get to it by flying into Spokane, Washington and driving 45 minutes or so to the east - it's an easy drive. The hotel appears to be the biggest industry in this small town (population less than 50,000).

The lake is very pretty, with the hills descending into the water in amny places. It is large enough to host many water activities, including boat tours, floatplane tours, parasailing, personal watercraft, etc. There are beaches along some parts of the shore, including public beaches.

The town consists of one or two principal streets that provide for a nice stroll, although the "main" street is only five blocks long. Along this street are shops, restaurants, art galleries. There is a lot of public art in the form of sculptures scattered throughout the town, so it is very pleasant, especially on a beautiful summer day.

The hotel has a nice setting. There is a large marina attached, with a lot of boats. Right next to the hotel on one side is a public beach; on the other side is a small hill that appears to be a type of public park, with a walking trail going around the base - a nice way to walk along the lake for a short distance. The hotel has several restaurants and a lounge.

As a hotel, it is nothing special. It is nice enough, with pleasant (but not beautiful) interiors and public spaces. It appears to be an older architecture with some renovations having been done. It is clean and the facilities are well-maintained. There is a high-rise tower (maybe 15 stories) and then a lower section (the north wing) that is only two or three floors. I'm sure there are some nice rooms in the tower, especially facing the lake with nice views. Whatever you do, DO NOT get the rooms in the north wing, even though they are less expensive. They are still not worth the price ($200 in my case). These rooms are reminiscent of an old Holiday Inn, with the door leading directly to an outside corridor. There is no sound insulation at all on the corridor side, and not much on the between-room walls. The bathroom is cramped. There is a small closet. The location of these rooms is abysmal. You have a limited view of part of the lake, but only looking across the top of a large, flat roof with air vents and other features sticking out of it. The view is also blocked by the tower and by some decorative roofs on the far side of the roof. This was the standard 2-queen room with limited views.

I'm sure that the rooms in the tower must be much more expensive, and since I did not see one I cannot comment on the value. One person who was in the tower said that the room was too small for the king-size bed, so that there was only about one foot between the bed and the wall.

I will say that the staff were very friendly and nice - as were the people in town with whom I interacted. The only real complaint I have is the rooms in the north wing and the prices.

Room Tip: North wing rooms are not worth the price and have terrible location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com. The different styles and prices of rooms we provide are to better serve our potential Guests. We want everyone to be able to come and enjoy the beautiful city of Coeur d'Alene. No, these rooms do not have views and we inform our Guests of this at the time of booking. They were, however, newly updated in January and February of 2012 during the multimillion dollar remodel. The Coeur d'Alene Resort has an unbeatable location and is just steps from the lake, downtown shopping and nightlife, and many other attractive features the city has to offer. When you stay at The Resort you are paying for much more than a hotel room, but an overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a lovely building with excellent views and great public spaces (in general - see below). Staff and amenity description however might do better. A few too many glitches for such a lovely place. Concierge knew only about shopping, nothing about hiking or biking, and only marginally about watersports (just outside the door!). Room information spoke glowingly about the outdoor pool and pointed it out next to the marina - but that pool is closed and replaced by one accessible by boat or drive (but even that was closed on recent Sat afternoon, making no outdoor pool available on warm day - indoor pool is nice, but...). Staff couldn't agree about how to get to the distant pool - front desk said boat shuttle available only to golfers, operator said to take the boat, and the (very nice) boat drivers said of course non-golfers could go. No one at front desk (three desks) at check out time?
Restaurant with great views and imaginative and excellent food - but service here too that kept forgetting items (including an ordered dessert).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com. It disappoints me to hear you had so many issues during your stay with us. With the many changes in the hotel layout as well as hotel policies since the remodel the staff has struggled keeping up. We strive to make every guest's stay perfect and I hope you will come back to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keller, tx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in the Coeur d'Alene resort on July 3rd. I had made the reservation online for a standard 2 queen bedroom with a "limited view". When we arrived they said we had been upgraded. They put us in a room on the 11th floor with unbelievable views! We overlooked the lake on one side and on the other the downtown area. The room itself was great! The kids were excited to see that it had 2 levels. The beds are on the upper level of the room with a window seat in the corner. The sitting room level had a huge picture window to take in the views. There was a balcony attached, and the room also had a fireplace.The bathroom was large and luxurious. There are 2 sinks that are separate from the shower/bath/toilet area. That sure helps a family of 4 to get ready fast! The rooms were clean and well maintained. I am incredibly picky and I didn't have any concerns. The best part of our room was the entertainment! The view from our picture window was of the marina and the lake. We were able to watch the sailboats, jet skis, float planes, and para-sailing. We were there until checkout time (noon) on the 4th. We could sit at the window seat overlooking the town and watch the 4th of July parade. Then we were able to watch the sailboat parade from the picture window and balcony.The resort itself has plenty of things to do. We had a great time walking around the marina and dock. The town was full of shopping and restaurants, and all within walking distance. I wish we had been able to stay one more night, we would have had a perfect view of the fireworks!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank il0vetexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
It really thrills me to hear how enjoyable your stay was this summer at The Coeur d'Alene Resort. Our location is definitely unbeatable with all of the water activities, shopping and nightlife feet from the front doors. Hopefully we will see your family here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
296 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you're passing through Coeur d'Alene and want the flavor of a great lakeside restaurant that's casual and reasonably priced, have lunch at the Dockside in the classy Coeur d'Alene Resort. Parking in their garage is complimentary when you eat there. Ask for a window table. The floor to ceiling glass provides a lovely view of the water and marina on beautiful Lake Coeur d'Alene.

One of the best salad bars I've ever experienced is at the Dockside. It's a complete meal in itself. Only $10.99 or $4.99 with an entree. Fruit salad, chicken salad, green salad, rolls, soup, veggies and cream puffs are but a few items to whet your appetite. Their pistachio salad is to die for. Everything's freshly prepared and attractively presented in a long buffet.

As if that's not enough, I ordered (and split with a friend) the Turkey Avocado Melt with homemade cranberry chutney. Absolutely delicious and the French fries were outstanding. Service was good, too.

It's easy to rave about the Dockside. Bright and cheery with a water view and fantastic food. The perfect setting for a special lunch.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PanoramaPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your reviewon TripAdvisor, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at our Dockside restaurant. Hopefully you will be able to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had an amazing week at this resort. To start off, when making our reservations, we mentioned we were staying there for our honeymoon, and they went way out of their way to upgrade our room. We ended up in room 1479, and I will absolutely request the exact same room every time we return. The view was incredible. In one direction the breathtaking lake, in the other, the city lights, and straight down was the marina and the ever busy boat dock. The room itself was clean and spacious, with a deck compete with lounge furniture. The bathroom, vanity, and closet were all large and the living area was seperated down by a few stairs, giving it the feel of a seperated space. The couch faces out of the large bay window. The resort was very lively with enough different resaurants, bars, and activities to do something new every day. We were their for a week and never ate at the same place twice, and each meal was more delish than the last. Of course, you must visit the little down town area just a block from the resort. Its filled with everything from little yogurt shops, art gallaries, resaurants, shops and everything in between. There are always people walking, yet it maintains its relaxed feel. Don't forget to rent some jet ski's. There are several vendors near by that rent them at very affordable prices. A can't miss for exploring the 30 mile lake and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Coeur d'Alene Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us in Coeur d'Alene. It thrills me to hear how enjoyable your stay with us was. Hopefully you will return for your anniversary, or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coeur d'Alene Inn
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Property: The Coeur d'Alene Resort
Address: 115 South 2nd Street, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#3 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Coeur d'Alene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing