We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet Luxury”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The room was beautiful and comfortable. The rest of the place was fantastic. Nancy was the perfect balance of professional and accommodating, and I felt at home anywhere in the inn. We took a bike ride on the Centennial Trail along the lake and had dinner at the place Nancy recommended, which was very good. We ended up taking advantage of a last-minute cancellation and staying an extra night. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: The tub in Huckleberry is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCW_9a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    15
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
100
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our room was beautiful, comfortable and provided everything anyone could want. We enjoyed visiting with Nancy who was very helpful about local information. Nancy has provided two very nice lounges with both a fridge and microwave available for guests as well as containers of goodies scattered throughout the house. We were just passing through and had only one night in CDA, but we hope to return. When we do, this would be out first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCswampmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was our second visit to McFarland Bed and Breakfast. The Inn is, of course, beautiful and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the same room as the first time. It is very comfortable and cozy with a king bed and a spacious bathroom. We like that the Inn is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Nancy, the owner is a gracious host and a great cook. Both breakfasts were delicious and different from each other. She took the time to ask if we had any dietary restrictions. She is also very knowledgeable about the area and can suggest restaurants and attractions. We enjoyed our stay very much and will be sure to return.

Room Tip: We peeked in all the rooms on our floor and they are all beautiful with local history touches. Choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at McFarland Inn on Valentine's day. It is in a historic part of Coeur d'Alene and a short walk to the downtown. We were in town for an art show. The house is beautiful and the charming host, Nancy, had decorated for the occasion - there were chocolate treats, home-made cookies, and red roses in our room. Wine and home-made appetizers were provided in the evening in a warm, well-appointed family room where we talked with other guests. We slept very well - it was very quiet in the house even though it was fully occupied. Breakfast was in a sunny room that looks out to the yard. The food was fabulous - home-made granola, quiche, fresh fruit, yummy potatoes and home-make heart-shaped pastries. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and it was very comfortable and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idah0biologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were spoiled by this trip... the gourmet breakfast with warm fresh baked biscuits, fruit plates, coffees, teas, eggs, sausage... the king sized bed that gave us the best night's sleep ever... the gorgeous Christmas decor (there were THREE trees fully decorated on the first floor alone!)... the wraparound porch, immaculate cleanliness, MANSION that was the McFarland Inn. We will be back! I couldn't recommend it more, and I will hold all future hotels up to this impossible-to-beat high bar. Nancy insists on the highest of standards for every small detail in the house, and absolutely went out of her way to make us feel warm and welcome. Thank you Nancy!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joviandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
283 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Nancy, the owner, is a delight. I have a number of dietary restrictions that makes fixing breakfast for me a challenge. Nancy rose to the occasion, above and beyond my expectations. Our two breakfasts were very delicious and very different. She really made us feel welcome and cared for during our stay.

The room is actually nicer than some of the hotel rooms we've stayed. The bed was very comfortable.

I think I've resisted booking with a B&B because I have negative stereotypes in my mind: shared bathrooms, garish decor, intrusive owners. Thankfully, at the McFarland Inn, all of my pre-conceived notions were wrong!

My husband I felt so spoilt. We would like to try other B&Bs in the CDA area, but we may never do so because we LOVED the McFarland (and Nancy!) so much!

Room Tip: The Kootenai room doesn't have a connected bathroom. It's across the hall. But it's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
198 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The house itself is a very well maintained 1905 home on a tree-lined street in the downtown area of Coeur d'Alene - within an easy walk of the main area of the town and the waterfront. The accommodations were wonderful - from the cozy bedroom to the private and upgraded bathroom to the extremely comfortable and large bed. The owner is very personable and we had great times conversing with her. Loved the complimentary wine and cheese in the evening; but the gourmet breakfast was delicious! She has a great recipe for diced Sweet Potatoes. We had a wonderful experience and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
SpringHill Suites Coeur d'Alene
#1 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
Days Inn Coeur d'Alene
#7 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coeur d' Alene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 601 E Foster Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McFarland Inn Bed & Breakfast is one of the most elegant, historic homes in Coeur d’Alene. Built in 1905, we are located on a quiet, tree lined street within walking distance of the lake, park and downtown attractions. For its 100th birthday, the home was completely renovated to add 21st century amenities while maintaining its original charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McFarland Inn Bed And Breakfast Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing