We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We arrived on a Friday night and stayed until Sunday morning. Nancy was a wonderful hostess and provided us with a great ideas and options for going to dinner to celebrate our anniversary. Everything in town (Coeur d'Alene) is within walking distance to enjoy the shops, restaurants and walk along the boardwalk at the Coeur d'Alene Inn. We highly recommend 315 Martini and Tapas restaurant for a nice dinner and live music. Quaint place in an old home and the smaller plate entrees were delicious. The breakfasts and snacks Nancy served were excellent. Highly recommend for a nice couples get away! We may return at Christmas to see enjoy the Holiday trimmings and time away again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rusty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 159 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way from Whitefish Montana to Seattle. The breakfast was amazing: delicious and plentiful, as well as very accommodating to our likes and dislikes. The house itself is beautiful and the rooms and beds, very comfortable. The recommendations for dinner were excellent. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iclcaf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and found it to be a completely enjoyable and comfortable experience. Very clean with good breakfast and a very accommodating hostess-Nancy. We were able to walk everywhere and the property is on one of best streets in the Garden District of CdA. We loved Toby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here overnight--the B & B is nicely appointed; the rooms are large; the common rooms are spacious. The breakfast was delicious and hearty. The location was just a few blocks away from the downtown area. I was impressed by the decor--it was very nice and charming. I would definitely recommend staying here! I liked that there wasn't a 'curfew' for us. There were plentiful snacks available. This was a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring your swimsuit because there is a hottub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdahoRileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Staying at McFarland B and B was the best decision we made in Coeur'd Alene. It's located right in the downtown historic district. The B and B is a lovely home and the accommodations couldn't be better. We recently stayed at very nice B and Bs in Europe and this one is an example of the best of American B and Bs. Excellent food, big clean rooms, hot tub outside, wrap around porch to sit on and a generous and helpful host. Book it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathykoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Mcfarland house is a beautiful home, both inside and out, with a nice location within walking distance to the lake and to restaurants. We just stayed here one night, but arrived maybe around 4pm, so we made it in time for wine and cheese that's put out in the evenings. She gave us the tour of the house.

My husband and I aren't huge B&B people, generally we're more private and don't love socializing with other guests, but this was one of those B&Bs where you could have it either way. We actually did chat a bit with another couple while getting wine and cheese, but the house is very private and even at breakfast, there are enough tables that each group can sit by themselves.

The room was lovely and very comfortable, we loved the bed. There was a big fan to keep it cool. In general, it felt like Nancy had thought of everything. It had the amenities of a hotel in the sense that there were bathrobes, plenty of products, etc, but had the nice touch of a b&b with things like a firstaid kit in the room. I can't even begin to think of all the other little things that she's probably factored in over the years after hearing, 'you know what would make this place even better??' -- i think she might have found everything!

We liked that you could get bottled water or a few snacks downstairs anytime, and unlike other B&Bs we've stayed in, there was flexibility with breakfast. I don't remember the exact timing, but you could arrive right up until 9:30am, which was perfect for us. The other one we stayed at was 8:30am and with the time difference, felt like 7:30am -- not on vacation!

Nancy was more than happy to give tips for the area but also seemed private herself which worked well for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurengucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nancy is so welcoming and efficiency is everything. Gave us a tour and let us know all about how we would be treated. Bed was luxurious and finely appointed. Breakfast was a frittata, chicken sausage, potatoes, croissants, fresh blueberries, strawberry, melon, granola, yogurt, cereal....do I need to keep going? Breakfast was a feast. Street has plenty of parking, is tree lined (shady) and an easy walk to shops and restaurants. Loved CDA.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WineSnob_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coeur d'Alene hotels
0.4 mi away
Blackwell Hotel
Blackwell Hotel
#2 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Roosevelt Inn
The Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenbriar Inn
Greenbriar Inn
#4 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Coeur de Lion B&B
Coeur de Lion B&B
#7 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
21 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Bed & Breakfast
Aspen Meadows Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 10 in Coeur d'Alene
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
#5 of 22 in Coeur d'Alene
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 601 E Foster Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-3048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range: $133 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McFarland Inn Bed & Breakfast is one of the most elegant, historic homes in Coeur d’Alene. Built in 1905, we are located on a quiet, tree lined street within walking distance of the lake, park and downtown attractions. For its 100th birthday, the home was completely renovated to add 21st century amenities while maintaining its original charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your McFarland Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McFarland Inn Bed And Breakfast Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing