We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem along scenic Highway 55”
Review of Ashley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashley Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cascade
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem along scenic Highway 55”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This inn is family-owned, but rather than the usual small, intimate B&B, it is a large, elegant hotel, beautifully furnished in Victorian country style. The Mountainview Suite, with its king bed and sofabed, worked well for our family of three by allowing us to spend the evening together. We took an evening walk to the nearby Payette River, which appeared to offer possibilities for water-related recreation.

Ashley Inn offers a generous buffet breakfast and lovely background music in the dining area. When reserving, I had asked about gluten-free options on the buffet, and to my delight there was an egg casserole labeled "gluten-free."

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpfafflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley_and_Katrin, Owner at Ashley Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear JPFafflin, Thank you for your kind words. Hopefully next time you'll be able to enjoy the canoes and kayaks.
Also, we found quite a few guests now like to have gluten-free items available, so we are trying to include more items in our regular breakfast.
PS- I love the way they make the egg strata now, using potatoes and no bread.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    35
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
127
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here with another couple for two nights the end of July. Our room was quite large, with a sitting area, two queen beds, and a gas fireplace! There's a nice breakfast buffet with cold and hot items, and delicious fresh-baked cookies with milk in the evening! We also had free access to canoes and kayaks nearby! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathiOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Still remembering our trip to the Ashley Inn to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary in 2007 this month and I want to return! The room was very nice and felt very homey to us without all the responsiblity (LoL). The bed was comfortable as well and we enjoyed a peaceful, restful night.
Cascade is charming, the people are friendly and the area has that slower pace that a vacation should have. We enjoyed an evening walk around the grounds and through the town and window shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ashley Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We were so glad you could spend your anniversary with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time. Don't forget, you can come up for any celebration! We love to see wonderful people enjoying themselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Being in a small town in Idaho, I was a little worried about what we would find upon our arrival on our maiden voyage to that state. Being from So. Cali and a pretty seasoned traveler, I thought I might have too high expectations, so as we traversed the beautiful countryside with it's quaint but dated hotels and motels along the way I braced myself for what we would find. As we passed the tiny antique theater (only open 2 nights a week and that's in the summer), pharmacy that also sells clothes that is also an espresso bar (love that place), I further downgraded my expectation....when VIOLA, this gorgeous looming building comes into view. I thought if the inside was anything like the outside, we were in luck! Needless to say, walking into the lobby was breathtaking with it's lounge patterned after a Victorian living room complete with crystal chandalier, grand piano, and winding staircase. Still, I would not put away my trepidation completely until I laid eyes on our actual room. The staff was wonderful and we collected our keys, when we opened the door all I could say was WOW. Gorgeous. Such attention to detail from the pillows that match the wallpaper to the books on the mantle. We had a gift basket with cheese, crackers, chocolate, Idaho huckleberry jam, and coffee cups. In addition, a bottle of sparkling non-alcoholic "champagne" with fluted glasses. I can't tell you how special we felt! In spite of the beauty of the property from room to pool to hallways to dining room, my absolute favorite is the jacuzzi bath surrounded by french windows, complete with aromatherapuetic bath salts and the ability to choose your own underwater light colors. Don't worry, there is a gorgeous marble walk in rain shower for the guys. While the beauty of Cascade lake and the surrounding mountains were glorious, I loved being able to so look forward to going back to our room! For me, the Ashley Inn was the highlight of our trip and wished we could have stayed longer than our two nights.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ashley Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
You have a lovely way of putting things. Thank you for your review of The Ashley Inn. We hope you will be able to tell your friends in So. Cal. also. If you ever come when it's warm like July or August, you will be able to use of kayaks or canoes. Thanks again, Ashley & Katrin, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I am shocked every time we visit The Ashley Inn at how relaxing it is! Life seems to be put on hold the minute you walk through the doors. My kids enjoy the pool for hours while I sit in the hot tub or read a book lounging in the wicker patio furniture. Cookies at 8:00pm are a big hit - although we are generally watching a movie in our room (from their amazing library), we count the minutes until the time they are served. Sometimes we will get a pint of ice cream at the front desk to accompany the delicious hot cookies. Just thinking of it makes me want to hop in the car for a weekend retreat! It is our favorite place to visit - if you haven't been there, don't wait - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kozups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, ID
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed one night at the Ashley Inn along with some friends. Our rooms were beautiful (our friends had the Governor's Suite which is gorgeous and really deluxe). Everything about the hotel was very warm and inviting, from the decor to the friendly and helpful staff, to the lovely heated pool and hot tub. The beds & pillows were very comfortable. I was really amazed at the quantity and quality of the breakfast that was provided, especially considering the few guests that were there (mid-week) at a very slow time of year. We found the atmosphere very relaxing, they had soft, beautiful music playing that caused me to feel uplifted. The warm cookies they served at 8pm were delicious. I took a morning swim in the pool and it was great. Loved it all.....can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IdahoDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

It's the personal touch that sets this apart from an ordinary hotel--both in the service and in the way they decorate their property. We were there the day after Christmas, and everything was gorgeous, even the hallways were decked out. It's the luxury that sets this apart from an ordinary bed & breakfast. The amenities such as the in-room fireplace and therapy tub (with bubbles and light show) make this really the best of both worlds: both fancy and intimate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascade
11.1 mi away
Tamarack Resort
Tamarack Resort
#1 of 2 in Donnelly
101 reviews
14.6 mi away
Long Valley Motel
Long Valley Motel
#2 of 2 in Donnelly
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cascade Lake Inn
Cascade Lake Inn
#3 of 5 in Cascade
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Creek Lodge
Bear Creek Lodge
#4 of 10 in McCall
3 reviews
11.0 mi away
Owyhee Cottages At Tamarack
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Inn

Property: Ashley Inn
Address: 500 North Main Street, Cascade, ID 83611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Cascade
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cascade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashley Inn is a cozy hotel with a friendly attitude giving you the privacy of a hotel with the warm of a B&B. Winter is a wonderful time up in the Idaho Mountains with snowmobiling, skiing & ice fishing. What a wonderful adventure to go to the Idaho Mountains and stay in luxury. Your stay includes our breakfast buffet and freshly baked cookies at 8 pm. Charming rooms w/ fireplaces & cozy white robes. Good value. Enjoy "Star gazing". Come here on Scenic Byway, Hwy 55, just 75 miles N of Boise and 25 miles south of McCall. Summer, you can use our beach, kayaks & canoes for free. Lake Cascade offers golf, fishing, boating, whitewater park and rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Inn Cascade, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing