We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“America The Beautiful”

America's Rafting Company
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Cambridge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your guide to unforgettable Idaho Whitewater Adventures!
Reviewed January 3, 2016

Without a doubt it was the most peaceful, beautiful 4 days that we have spent in our lives. Becky and Parker really know how to make the experience one that you won't forget. The scenery is breathtaking and would you believe me if I said the food was gourmet?! Brie and fresh fruit...banana bread french toast!! Trust me, you will not forget the experience.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank DodiDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"made from scratch"
in 2 reviews
"hells canyon"
in 2 reviews
"arc"
in 3 reviews
"lauren"
in 2 reviews
"deer"
in 3 reviews
"scenery"
in 3 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 15 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2015

Just home after the combo hiking-with-horses and white-water rafting outing, 8/3/15 - 8/7/15.

What an outstanding adventure!

The Seven Devils is stunning. Varied hiking from forest to grassland, steep to (thankfully) less-aggressive slopes; trails sometimes seemingly designed for elk and mountain goats (we saw both, as well as deer and bear) and creek crossings where it's your choice: boots off or take your chances with getting your socks damp (quite refreshing, it turns out.) And at the end, a plunge in the Snake River before a well-deserved ice-cold margarita.

Becky, Parker, John (the 'horse guy') and the guides Andrew, Rick and Woody were outstanding hosts. We also briefly met Heinz. Friendly, outgoing, attentive to their guests' every need. Lots of tales around the campfire of previous adventures and their own experiences on the trail or on the river (many rivers, actually.) If you've forgotten something - Chapstick crisis, toothpaste - there's probably some in Parker's 60+ pound pack. Plus advice about keeping your feet safe; blister dressings if you weren't paying attention; whatever you might need.

Backpacking with horse-assist was new to me. Having so much of the heavy stuff taken in by John's beautiful animals made our packs very manageable (but, to be clear, you do have to carry your clothing, personal items and sleeping-bag all 3 days so bring a backpack big enough, or Parker and Becky can provide one.) Don't bother about a sleeping pad: you can't possibly carry in one as luxurious as the one the horses will bring in and that will be unrolled in your tent by the time you get to camp in the afternoon. Don't forget rain gear. The weather can turn on a dime up there and there were a couple of brief showers that were more refreshing than anything else. I broke out my rain gear once but only had it on for about 5 minutes before the sun was out again.

The food is great and prepared to order. The team was very attentive to our vegetarian needs and a fellow-hiker's serious food allergies. There are sodas, wine (we brought a couple of favorites of our own which appeared as if by magic at dinnertime) and craft beers. Margaritas, screwdrivers and more. Though often it was the long draught of icy stream water that tasted the best.

Have a lot of water - 32 oz containers - and it'll be replenished with filtered lake or stream water regularly.

The pace was perfect - never a feeling of 'hurry up' over tougher terrain and we always made camp on time. A swim in a mountain lake along the trail could always be fitted in. There were a few sections that were challenging for a fit sixty-ish fellow but always enough time after a steep section to catch one's breath and have a snack and get rehydrated.

Then the rafting: the first view of the river is from 6,000 ft or so up. Hard to believe that in a day or two we'd be down there and those insignificant-looking white streaks would be revealed in their true colors! Much as I loved the backpacking, the rafting, and especially the kayaking, was the best. The guides clearly know this river intimately. Every descent was carefully planned and thrilling without feeling dangerous.

I'd never been in a kayak before but with the careful coaching and guidance and strategizing of what line to take, which way to point the kayak (and what to do if you got 'flipped') of Parker and the river team I graduated from gentle ripples through some warm-up Class 1 and 2s to full-on Class 3 (successfully negotiated though there were a few moments when that wasn't the most likely outcome...) and a Class 4 (didn't turn out so well but I was hot and needed a dip in the river right about then.) Three other beginners made it through Class 3 and 4 rapids and almost made it look easy.

All-in-all an unforgettable experience and I can recommend America's Rafting Company unreservedly as the right team to guide you through every stage of the adventure.

John F.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2015

This was an absolutely glorious 3 days on the Snake River in Hell's (yes, it's HOT!) Canyon. Our delightful twin guides Heinz and Woody were on their best behavior (?) with their parents along on the trip (Andrew was kind enough to take the gear boat and let the boys spend the days paddling with their folks and the other 3 lucky participants -- me, and Don and his 14-year-old son Marshall.) The first day was unseasonably cold, and the fishing was amazing! Betsy hauled in one bass after another to start off the trip. The boys made sure we got the best camping spots, and the incredible dinners (thanks, Becky!!) the three of them cooked up in the Dutch ovens were really impressive. All the work was done for us -- everything set up when we arrived in camp -- an apart kitchen, a lovely "dining room", the bedrooms (tents) in beautiful locations, and a prime spot for the openair loo. We all enjoyed the hikes to the historic cabins and homesteads, and the myriad stories (tall tales some, I'm sure) that went along with all the stops. We saw 5 bald eagles the first day, were visited by several deer in our camps, and spotted one little river otter (no rattle snakes, thank goodness!). The high adventure of the trip had to be the quest for the sturgeon, and final success the last evening just as we were finishing dinner. He finally bit on the bass saved from early in the day -- he jumped, we ran down to the bank and and prepared for a fight. He took a lot of line and fought hard (broke one reel, which led to Eagle Scout level consulting about fishing knots and other possible solutions...). Finally two men in a boat and one in the water brought him to shore for inspection and photos -- 6 feet long? 100+ pounds? REALLY awesome! I highly recommend this trip, or any of the others offered by Parker and Becky of America's Rafting Company. Great folks offering wonderful outdoor adventure in a beautiful and historic part of our country.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank klik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2015

Not one detail was missed by America's Rafting Company. Their guides were well trained and filled to the brim with knowledge of the area and stories to keep you entertained. Dining (not just food) was above any expectation I could of had. I'd gladly adventure with them again.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank TrevorJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2015

Spent a week backpacking and rafting with Parker and Becky and crew and was blown away by the itinerary, the FOOD (seriously delicious), the adventure, and the care that ARC took to make sure we we taken care of. One of my favorite parts were the stories that the crew had about the area -- and stories about their own experiences in the wilderness over all these years. So entertaining and knowledgeable. And the views from the top of Dry Diggins were a Top Ten, epic, outdoor moment. Can't wait to do this with them again!

Date of experience: September 2014
2  Thank annie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed America's Rafting Company also viewed

Been to America's Rafting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing