We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tomato sauce salsa and stale chips”

Janitzio Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Caldwell
Restaurant details
Wherever we are
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tomato sauce salsa and stale chips”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This restaurant is not a 5 or even a 4 and is a 3 at best. Sometimes Trip Advisor's reviewers get it wrong IMHO.

It's a clean but older restaurant and the staff was friendly and the service was very good. That's the best thing.

The chips were stale and the salsa literally tasted like watery tomato sauce. We asked for their hot salsa and got hotter but bland salsa. We mixed it with the Pico and the tomato sauce and it was good enough. We had taco's chicken enchilada and beef fajita's. The Fajita's were very good as were the beans and salsa. The chicken was very good but the enchilada sauce had a nutmeg-ish back flavor.. strange. The shredded beef taco's were very good.

So, get some fresh chips, make some good salsa going and toss that strange enchilada sauce and you have some very good food.

We feel pretty qualified to judge Mexican food having grown up in the South West and now live in Texas and have eaten Mexican food all over the US since we full time RV and have visited many states.

Tastes and experience varies and our opinions are just that, our opinions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Monday in Caldwell is a tough time to look for food. Thank goodness this place was open. Would eat here again. Fast and very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Havilandweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Id
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tried it for the 1st time”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife absolutely loved the El Pastor. She also liked the salsa. I though everything was ok but not spectacular. It is hard to beat El Gallo Giro in Kuna but janitzios is less denero$$. We will go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trpshter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A new favorite!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Based on the reviews we decided to try this restaurant. We are so glad we did. The service is friendly and the food is excellent. We had been searching the Nampa and Caldwell area for good Mexican fare without much success. Our search is over. The best fajitas we have found anywhere and the seafood chimichunga is like no other. They plan to start opening on Saturdays again later this year. We are looking forward to it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gleavco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“"The Best"”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

OMG! Fast, friendly and outstanding. Everything from the chips and salsa to the main dish. Excellent!!! I will find a reason to get back to Caldwell just to eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingfoodsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Janitzio Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Janitzio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing