We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Building, Cheap Silverware & Glasses, Typical Buffet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Dragon Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Dragon Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 84 Restaurants in Caldwell
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
161 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Old Building, Cheap Silverware & Glasses, Typical Buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The restaurant is in an old free standing building in Caldwell. I would never have tried it since the exterior turns me off. Unkempt parking lot, building needs paint, and a name like Golden Dragon is enough to keep me from entering...but an organization I belong to had a luncheon meeting here I wanted to attend. The service is fabulous and the only reason I gave it a decent rating. The wait staff is attentive, friendly, and sincere. I believe they really do their best to keep the place clean yet when you have old, scratched, and cheap plates, utensils, table, and chairs, you can only do so much. The buffet is mediocre at best. The selection is good with appetizers, soups, rice, noodles, desserts, and basic typical Chinese buffet items and the taste is OK. Yet the ingredients and preparation are not top quality. The beef was awful and had the consistency of mush. The Egg Foo Young was heavy. The fried items salty salty salty. The price was 7.95 for all you can eat. Perhaps the menu items would be the way to order to get hot fresh food but the quality of ingredients was just not there and did not make me want to try it again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StacysMom_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Recent visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have driven past this restaurant many times, so when a friend took me to dinner there I was quite excited. What a let-down. The buffet food was warm, not hot. The deserts were good. There was a good selection of food. Wait staff, were friendly. Definitely not the best Chinese food that I have eatern.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mother2bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst food ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Food was greasy and disgustingly processed. Found a hair fried into the crab pop. When I told the waitress she said it doesn't matter it could bw anyones hair and the management wont do anything about it. We wont be back. We we're warned but wanted to form our own opinion. Wish we had listened.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank btanis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“My family enjoyed the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We like to get the diner for four and then combine different meals like Orange Chicken, Ham egg Foo Yong, Sweet and Sour Soup, or Chow main. The shrimp is batter and deep fried. The food is delicious and the service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davepamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
215 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not my cup of saki.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Ok, so I didn't think this was so great because I don't normally eat deep fried food. I will say the the buffet is clean and well stocked. The salad area was a little lacking. The desserts were pretty good. If you wanted a big variety, I think this would fill the bill.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebOnVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Dragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing