We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't Have Asked for More”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oregon Trail Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oregon Trail Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buhl
1 review
“Couldn't Have Asked for More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The Oregon Trail was the first stop on our cross-country trip from Washington State to Washington, D.C. We arrived late, after a long day of driving. The office was closed, but the manager appeared in a minute or two after dialing the provided number. After a smooth, super-quick check-in, we settled into a clean, attractive, comfortable room for the night. The bed was cozy, with quality linens. The shower provided great water pressure and nice, long-lasting hot water. The room was quiet--we slept like babies. I'm not sure if I've ever had this much value in an affordably-priced motel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
35
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

For a motel this inexpensive, I did not have high expectations. Boy was I wrong! The motel is super clean, cute and comfortable!! The rooms are WAY more spacious than they look on the outside. The owner is amazingly friendly, and there is even a complimentary breakfast in the hotel office (we ate in our room since the office is small) Included in the breakfast was bottled water and bottled orange juice. SO happy we stayed here. The owner had a crib (a real crib, not a cheap pack-n-play) set up for us in our room when we arrived for our toddler. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akmorgan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

S. Melansons - New Brunswick, Canada: I booked this motel after liking the website for the motel & reading excellent reviews from others who stayed there. After flight complications to get to Boise from Toronto Canada via San Francisco, we finally arrived in Buhl at the Oregon Trail Motel where we stayed July 7th-8th, 2013. The owner Rick was extremely helpful, friendly, funny and outgoing. Rick provided great information on the surrounding area and sites I had mapped out to visit. His motel mascot and pet, Wilson, is totally adorable.....loved Wilson. This motel had a very personal touch and made you feel very much at home. Our motel room was spacious, very clean, bed & linen very comfortable. We had a great healthy light breakfast each morning with local breads, yogurt, juice, coffee which was delicious and greatly appreciated. I would 100% stay at the Oregon Trail Motel again if ever travelling in the area again and highly recommend this motel to anyone booking accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We saw the great reviews and decided to get off the interstate. The backroad trip was beautiful. The Inn is unassuming, but the most welcoming of all the hotels we stayed at on our trip. Rick, the owner/innkeeper, is very personable. His bulldog, Wilson, is the official welcoming committee. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are awesome and soooo comfortable, we didn't want to get up. There was even great breakfast food and conversation. Definitely not your hotel box experience. It was well worth traveling off the fast track.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Made a reservation at the Oregon Trail Motel. Rick, Wilson, and his staff, are to be commended for the cleanliness and comfort of this little motel. The day we stopped the outside temperature was 102 degrees, the room A/C worked excellent, keeping the room quite cool and comfortable. The Queen bed was comfortable with fresh new linens, fluffy towels in the bath, new carpets on the floor, quiet from traffic noise, many nice extras. The motel is located just minutes from downtown Twin Falls . I have stayed in many big chain motels and have never seen this type of service or cleanliness that is offered here. Rick takes pride in his business and it shows as soon as you walk into the office. We will definitely return . Thank you again Rick !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWCARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Oregon Trail Motel is a gem (in the Gem State, no less)! My room was clean, comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast the next morning was a treat with excellent coffee and a delicious muffin. The owner, Mike, is very personable and accommodating. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vkatzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

So glad we decided to go with The Oregon Trail Motel when breaking up our drive between Ketchum & Hell's Canyon. Our room was really clean & spacious. We had 2 extremely comfortable queen size beds with nice linens, new carpeting, super cool fridge & a.c.. Even the sample bathroom amenities were something special. Rick was the nicest guy - very friendly & helpful. His side-kick, Wilson, is a bulldog with quite a lot of character! While my husband & I travel often, this is actually the first review we've ever taken the time to post. Doing our homework prior to the trip, we kept noticing how pleased other guests had been with this place. Now we can appreciate why. Considering its location, it was ideal for checking out Shoshone Falls & Evel Knievel's jump site for his attempt across the Snake River, & then relaxing at Miracle Hot Springs later that evening. Our breakfast, which was included with the room's affordable cost, was just what we needed to get the day started. The made from scratch blueberry muffins were delicious. Being a tea drinker, myself, the special teas - so many wonderful flavors to choose from created by "The Republic of Tea", in addition to coffee for my husband, was much appreciated. An assortment of many other breakfast items was also available. While the motel is located on Buhl's main street - which can be somewhat busy during daytime hours - the traffic was very light, practically unnoticeable by the time we were ready to turn in (around 9:30-10 PM) for the night. Very glad we followed the favorable recommendations already posted & stayed at Rick's place. If we ever make it back to this part of Idaho, we're looking forward to spending more time at The Oregon Trail.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a swimming pool - check out Miracle Hot Springs - just minutes away with 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buhl
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Twin Falls Hotel
15.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Twin Falls
Shilo Inn Suites - Twin Falls
#10 of 14 in Twin Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sawtooth Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Twin Falls
16.7 mi away
Hagerman Valley Inn
Hagerman Valley Inn
#1 of 1 in Hagerman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
15.0 mi away
Blue Lakes Inn
Blue Lakes Inn
#1 of 14 in Twin Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oregon Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Trail Motel

Property: Oregon Trail Motel
Address: 510 Broadway Ave S, Buhl, ID 83316-1320
Location: United States > Idaho > Buhl
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oregon Trail Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Oregon Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oregon Trail Motel Buhl, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing