We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded my expectations”
Review of Oregon Trail Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oregon Trail Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buhl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We are in the middle of a long family vacation and this little oasis was just perfect. As a self proclaimed "germaphobe", I thought this place was beyond clean. The owner checked us in and gave us wonderful advice about where to eat and where to go find ice cream. The many needs that our family had such as extra soap, towels, ice were personally taken care of. I'd say the coolest thing here is that in front of the motel facing the main drag through this cool little town is are some chairs and a table under a tree in a perfect lawn. Talk about relaxing!!!
I actually don't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseV784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been on the road in the western US and Canada for some four-plus weeks now, and this motel outdid pretty much everyone in everything.

Things that rule:
- The breakfast is awesome. It doesn't have anything super special, but everything they have is of the very highest quality: bread, cake, butter, jams, coffee. It's all local and very tasty indeed. The sourdough was the best toast I've had anywhere! (Be sure to ask about the store they buy the baked goods from and pay them a visit, too.)
- The staff are very easy to approach and super helpful. We spent a good 15-20 minutes just talking to them during our one-night stay. The owner, Rick, seems to really enjoy running the place.
- Our room was very spacious, clean and in excellent condition.
- The beds are especially nice. I had the best sleep in a long time!
- The owner's bulldog, Mr. Wilson, is absolutely adorable and totally stole my heart.

Things that don't rule:
- It can really stink in the area, if you're not used to it. Just the nature of being in the country, nothing to do with the motel.

All in all, I was bummed to have to leave after just one night. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you're anywhere in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlaakso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We started an Idaho wine tasting trip at Oregon Trail Inn, where we stayed three nights. We were extremely pleased with the clean and comfortable feeling of this renovated motor lodge with Classic Charm, which paired beautifully with the nearby wine country that we visited. Rick (owner) is extremely friendly and concerned with ensuring the guests are happy and well taken care of. He was also informative about different places to visit (when you're not wine tasting!) and offers a complementary breakfast of pastries and coffee from local vendors. We would stay again, and have also recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Due to a an Accident nearby we were forced to find a place to stay in Buhl Idaho. The tow truck driver brought us to the Oregon Trail inn it. It was late at night but the manager was welcoming and very helpfull the place was very clean and quite the bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked great. the price was right and in the morning they provide a selection of tea's and coffe along with some of the best local pastries I've ever had. Would stay there again if we were in the aera.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We spent 2 wonderful days at the Oregon Trail Inn. Even though the weather was a bit of a challenge, our room was terrific, warm and cozy. Recently remodeled, clean and has a new fresh feeling. Rick is an excellent host with wonderful coffee in the morning. He recommended a great Mexican restuarnt for dinner out. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Surprisingly Great! My wife's words. This Oregon Trail Motel is ultra clean with white linens, comfortable pillows and the room has a new fresh feeling. After our complementary breakfast with local breads, jams and coffee, Rick (owner/manager) helped us plan our day and suggested a local eatery. We have decided that we will make Buhl our mid trip stop everytime.

You will want to call and reserve a room - it was nearly full when we drove in.

Room Tip: Have Rick show you a few of the rooms-he know all the details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevilCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I once again had the opportunity to stay a few days at the Oregon Trail Motel in Buhl, Idaho. Rick as always is accommodating, professional, delightful and adding new things to the property. His attention to detail is evident, rooms are great, comfortable bed, all the amenities first class. Each morning Rick has a local business deliver fresh sweet breads and great coffee. I look forward to my next trip..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrown56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buhl
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Twin Falls
318 reviews
13.5 mi away
My Place Hotel - Twin Falls, ID
My Place Hotel - Twin Falls, ID
#11 of 15 in Twin Falls
4 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Sawtooth Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Amber Inn Motel
Amber Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Eden
45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Oregon Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Trail Motel

Address: 510 Broadway Ave S, Buhl, ID 83316-1320
Location: United States > Idaho > Buhl
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buhl
Price Range: $58 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oregon Trail Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Oregon Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oregon Trail Motel Buhl, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing