We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably my favorite hotel on this trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bonners Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The indoor pool had the warmest water I've ever been in for a hotel pool, the hote tub and sauna were fabulous too. The rooms were very clean and looked newly updated. The rooms have balconies that overlook the Kootenai River and it was very peaceful.

The hotel has a restaurant on location and restaurant dinner staff was not the greatest, they were VERY, VERY slow and our waitress was not friendly at all, but the hostess was great. We ate yellow watermelon, which none of us had ever had. The breakfast staff was better, but still slow.

The casino on location was just ok. I'm a non smoker and they only had a tiny room for non smokers, but I was able to play over an hour on only $2.00 on the nickel and penny machines.

We stayed here on the 5th night of a 10 day motorcycle trip and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elleebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 437 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2006

We stayed at this hotel via a casino bus tour out of Alberta. The hotel was very nice. Food in the restaurant was excellent (roast turkey dinner was fab, french onion soup is a must, jumbo cinnamon buns are really JUMBO). The service was extremely friendly. Pool was a tad warm, but still enjoyable. Views of the river were also enjoyable with Canada Geese capturing our attention. The hotel has built a tunnel under the highway to make it easier to walk across to the quaint downtown area where there were enough gift shops to keep us occupied for a good morning's walk.

Casino isn't a full-fledged casino - no table games, just slot machines. Some machines take Canadian on par. The casino is divided into three rooms, one of which is a non-smoking room. I'm not a gambler either, so I don't know how the pay-outs compare to other casinos.

My only very slightly negative comments were that the hotel had no gift shop. Also the air conditioning noise from the next-door unit was bothersome at times as it backs out onto your deck. And, the non-smoking casino was packed a lot of the time and could actually benefit from being a bit bigger.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snorkelgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stopped here on our way to Canada, somewhat skeptical about staying at a casino hotel (we're not gamblers) but were pleasantly surprised. Except for some smoke in the lobby area, everything was fresh and clean. All rooms face the riverfront and have a view of the river and the mountains beyond, with a private deck. It's a good thing that the rooms face north, since a well-used rail line is several blocks south, and the freight train noise could have been a problem otherwise.
Bathrooms had beautiful marble tilework. The hotel decor in general was well done. The indoor pool and spa were in a large greenhouse type room, spacious and flooded with natural light.
We liked this place so well that we changed our plans to stay at the inn
again on our return to the US, and were again quite pleased. We spent some time on the deck, watching the geese along the river before reluctantly leaving. A great place to kick back and relax!

4  Thank arbornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2005

We stayed there during our trip doing the International Selkirk Loop. We had a king room overlooking the river. There were a couple of things wrong with the room but nothing major; otherwise the room was spotless. Our biggest complaint would be about the smoking. In the dining room - where you stand to wait for the waitress to seat you in a nonsmoking area- you are right beside the bar where inevitably someone is puffing away on a pipe or cigarette - that didn't leave a very good impression. And, being from BC where it is banned, we weren't too thrilled being in the casino next to people smoking. Other than that we had a great time. We loved the pool and hottub area. We would definitely stay there again. BTW if you have the opportunity to have their Prime Rib, do it! Wow!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hank02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Avec le train proche aucune chambre ne doit être calme, dommage le cadre est joli
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bertille19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KootenaiRiverInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KootenaiRiverInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Éviter les chambres proches du Casino sauf si vous êtes accro au jeu et si l'odeur de la fumée d...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KootenaiRiverInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonners Ferry
2.1 mi away
Bonners Ferry Log Inn
Bonners Ferry Log Inn
#1 of 4 in Bonners Ferry
177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dodge Peak Lodge
Dodge Peak Lodge
#3 of 4 in Bonners Ferry
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northside School Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Western Pleasure Guest Ranch
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa

Address: 7169 Plaza Street, Bonners Ferry, ID 83805-8598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Bonners Ferry
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bonners Ferry
Price Range: $114 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino And Spa
Best Western Plus Kootenai River Hotel Bonners Ferry
Best Western Bonners Ferry
Bonners Ferry Best Western
Bonners Ferry Casino
Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa Bonners Ferry, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing