We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northside School Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Bonners Ferry is off the beaten path for us. We don't know when we'll ever get back through there, but we would like to stay here again if we get the chance. Go to their web site. The actual experience is at least as good as the web site shows. Breakfast is exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marathontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 86 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was perfect get-away for us. It was very clean and well decorated. Ruth (who went to first grade in this building) has done a great job making it very cozy & inviting. We like to stay at B & B's but sometimes it feels like your staying in someone's spare bedroom, not here it is very spacious and private. Every room was good sized with VERY high ceilings. There are snacks and complimentary drinks when you check-in, and the Breakfast is out of this world. The couple that own it go out of there way to take care of you, they even cleared the snow off our vehicle in the morning. We will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetBabyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We enjoyed our recent stay at Northside School Bed and Breakfast,. The owners are very friendly and accomodating, and the converted schoolhouse has alot of charm and character. Our room was clean and comfortable, and each morning a very generous breakfast was provided in a lovely dining room. We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank California_traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

If you're looking for a place with true character, personality, warmth and hospitality, stay here. From the moment we walked thru the door we felt like we had landed in the right place at the right time. The Perry's are a great family team. Gene, a retired architect, has restored the schoolhouse to the arts and crafts style of the it's 1912 original construction. Original classrooms have been remodeled to have modern bathrooms. Chalkboards were left in each room and it's s fun to read previous guest's comments and leave your own. Ruth and their daughter, Julie, have collected antiques and brilliantly put together their theme rooms. i commend the Perry's on their many labors of love that to make this place the outstanding experience it is. Thank you many times over.
And then there's the food. Rich, hot quiche, huckleberry pancakes, thick bacon, just to start. Upon retiring, there's freshly baked cookies, hot chocolate and a night cap available.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RioVirginGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

In all a fine place to stay. All rooms have character with charm. Loved them.
We had a fantastic breakfast!!!! The only downfall was.... If you ever saw the movie, "My cousin Vinny" you remember the train coming through the town. Well there is a train but not as serious as in the movie.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdirondackTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B during Christmas, Ruth made sure that we felt like we were family and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. The Food was amazing in the morning! I never expected to have such good food from a hotel of any type. The snow was deep but that did not stop the owners from making sure my car was brushed off of all the snow so we wouldn't have to get cold the next morning shoveling it our selves. Very nice of them! All and all this is a great fun place to stay, and the casino was less then a mile over the bridge. I'd recommend this nice romantic historical get away!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lovetotravelthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We arrived in Bonners Ferry after a lengthy trip from Glacier National Park. Somewhere I had heard about this B & B and when we arrived in town there were signs for us to follow to it. Ruth and Gene are very accommodating hosts. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite (the only king sized bed in the house. It was large, very comfortable and even though it was very hot, the huge windows and overhead fan kept us pretty cool. The highlight was the pool and hot tub. How wonderful to arrive from a long hot trip and have a wonderful pool to jump into!!
Breakfast was delicious and we set off to Washington state well fill and well cared for.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonners Ferry hotels
1.8 mi away
Bonners Ferry Log Inn
Bonners Ferry Log Inn
#1 of 4 in Bonners Ferry
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa
2.9 mi away
Dodge Peak Lodge
Dodge Peak Lodge
#3 of 4 in Bonners Ferry
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northside School Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northside School Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6497 Comanche St, Bonners Ferry, ID 83805-7524
Location: United States > Idaho > Bonners Ferry
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bonners Ferry
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northside School Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 School House listed on the National Historical Registry. Now offering: 9 Theme Rooms, banquet facilities, ADA access, Wedding gardens, wireless internet, breakfast menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northside School Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northside School Bed And Breakfast Bonners Ferry, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing