We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bonners Ferry Log Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bonners Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

very nice and clean a good place to just get a good nights sleep and the people are awesome. would be nice to have a better breakfast though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleyguy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 191 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were driving through Bonners Ferry on a 6 week camping trip and were told by my parents "you must stop at Pappa Byrds Pizzeria in Bonners Ferry on our way through" (the best pizza in the world my mother in Australia claims). The weather was less than desirable when we got to town in the late afternoon, so we ditched the tent in favour for a night in a hotel. Choice was quite limited and although the Bonners Ferry Log Inn had excellent reviews I was suspicious, but only because we had rung around a few of the hotels in town and this one cost significantly less than everywhere else we checked.

Soooo glad we made the choice to stay there though. The Log inn is a single level building which would suit those less able or people wanting easy access to there car. Room was basic, but very large, clean and homely. A special mention must go to the bed though, because it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in my life, and did I mention how hhuugggeee it was. So big and comfy, more so after a long day in the van and a big feed of pizza :) Front desk staff were very friendly. Unfortunately we left quite early in the morning so we didn't get to sample the lemon poppy seed bread. Overall, we were very happy with our choice of accommodation and would recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, basic place for a stopover on route through Bonners Ferry. I believe it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate0680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

On a quick weekend get-away with friends we found this wonderful place to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable, charming and relaxing. The coffee and bread in the morning were great. We didn't have time to check out the hot tub but I am sure we will be back to stay here again. The gift store was a delight (lots of unique items) and the people very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Cute little place! I never been in a log cabin so this was really cool. It was clean and felinely decorated. At the reception they have a little store crammed up in a small space. The problem is that they serve a joke of breakfast. We laughed! We got the last slice of cake and had to share among the three of us. It wouldn't be much trouble to serve a good breakfast and romove that funny out of place store and put tables and chairs for the guests. I will definitely go back when I know they proved the breakfast situation. There are no restaurants close by to eat breakfast. I hope they change because we are planning another trip there soon!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedeemerY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay, but I was surprised after reading all the rave reviews to find this place is not as "excellent" as I hoped. It was very convenient for a short overnight stay although the noise from the highway at night and the noise of the neighbors when running water in their rooms as enough to disrupt our sleep. The rooms were clean but very basic. Our room had a few cable channels (15 maybe?) no vcr or dvd, no hairdryer or coffee pot. The front office did not open until 7:00 AM and served orange juice, coffee, hot water, tea bags, and locally made lemon poppyseed bread. It was nice but very limited and we could have used coffee much earlier as well as a light breakfast of toast or fruit for our toddler who is always hungry first thing in the morning and this place is quite a jaunt from a restaurant. Our room did not have a fridge or microwave. They were generous with the soap and shampoo which smelled nice. The comforters and pillows were abundant. Between the highway and the parking lot there is a small man-made pond with fish. The kids (ours and two other families) enjoyed feeding them from a cup of food given to them by someone at the front desk. We did not use the hot tub but my husband said it was indoors. There was an ice machine and a soda vending machine. It worked well for us because we just needed somewhere to crash-out on our way into Montana and it is located right before the turnoff for Hwy 2 that heads east into Montana. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the gift shop was cute. My son was particularly enthralled with the caged doves. The internet did not work well late at night and there was poor cell signal as well. During the morning hours the internet worked really well.
We would probably stay again if we needed somewhere to stay in order to break up the long drive but I found it limiting for us in many ways with a toddler: needing refreshment/food/snacks/coffee in AM, and the noise from the highway was disruptive at times. We liked many things about this place but I can't give it a four or five star for the reasons listed.

Room Tip: Rooms are all on one level facing highway. Only about 1 tenth of a mile off highway. "continen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delancy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This little place is a wonderful find for Bonners Ferry. While it is on the highway it is hidden behind huge trees that deaden the sounds. The rooms are large and have little personal touches that make them so welcoming and comfortable. While they do not have a fridge or microwave, for the price, the value is there. A small continental breakfast with homemade poppyseed bread, coffee and juice is available under the portico outside. Each room also has a table and two chairs outside. What a great way to relax after driving all day. Staff is great and very helpful with great recommendations for food. Would definitely stay again and thank you to the owners and staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmterie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Although this hotel is on the highway, it is surrounded by a lush landscape, complete with a large pond and a water fountain. There is a large round table with 2 chairs outside the rooms and although you can hear the traffic, you can't see it. Inside our room we could not hear any traffic noise. I especially liked the huge closet/dressing area that provides lots of room for your luggage. The counter area in the bathroom is also spacious. Everything is clean, making this a great bargain. Be Aware, the sign only says "Log Inn" so we passed it up. An excellent restaurant for dinner is Papa Byrds Bistro which is very close.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank McBethRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonners Ferry hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kootenai River Inn Casino & Spa
4.7 mi away
Dodge Peak Lodge
Dodge Peak Lodge
#3 of 4 in Bonners Ferry
75 reviews
1.8 mi away
Northside School Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonners Ferry Log Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonners Ferry Log Inn

Address: 43 Tobe Way, (North Highway 95), Bonners Ferry, ID 83805-5480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Bonners Ferry
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bonners Ferry
Price Range: $89 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bonners Ferry Log Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Bonners Ferry Log Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonners Ferry Log Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing