We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected location for great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Under the Sun

Under the Sun
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Bonners Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family owned eclectic home decor shop that provides unique accessories, clothing, bath & body, decor, and furniture. We are your North Idaho Chalk Paint(R) by Annie Sloan Stockist. We also house an Organic Bistro and Espresso Bar. Serving Lunch mon-sat 11-3p. Our menu includes Panini style sandwiches, salads, homemade soups, and wraps. We have daily specials highlighting local and seasonal ingredients.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unexpected location for great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

At first you'll think that this place is a fabulous shop filled with everything you could ever want for your home, but keep walking to the back of the store and you'll find the Bistro. The decor is eclectic with a vintage fare. The menu has food that is made by hand from all-natural and organic ingredients. The service is friendly and can suggest something special. Be sure to have dessert as these are all made on-site and are simply wonderful. Then work off your meal by shopping the store.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Kale Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Love all the healthy choices and unique menu! yum! had kale chips and no bread burgers that are really good! Great Espresso bar and love the store too! :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank brianandlacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best little Bistro anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Food, coffee and service is always the best. Friendliest people you'll ever meet. The store always carries very unique items. My wife won't let us go through Bonners Ferry without stopping in. Don't miss out on this experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuckstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Bonners Ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Under the Sun is my favorite place in Bonners for coffee, lunch, or finding the perfect, unique gift for your favorite person. The service there is always top notch and friendly. Their lunch menu is so creative, I often wish they served dinner too. The daily specials are exactly that, truly special and always memorable...I had a grilled three cheese sandwich with mango salsa and avocado almost a year ago that I still think about...yes, it was that good! It is rare to visit the same place over and over and over and never have a bad experience, or even a single negative thing to say about. Whenever we have friends or family visiting, we always recommend Under the Sun. They have lotsof vegan/vegetarian choices that even the non-vegan/vegetarian will enjoy. They added bonus is what an awesome store it is, full of fun and unique gifts. The owners clearly have superb taste in all things. It will be a sad, sad day if they ever decide to sell or move on to something else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rspswrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonners Ferry, Idaho
Level Contributor
98 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best place for coffee in the morning and best place for lunch, too! And if you need a unique or thoughtful gift!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a cool little cafe and gift shop all in an old hardware store from yesteryear! Hands down, the BEST COFFEE in town! The have a great little cafe in the back, too. Fantastic sandwiches for lunch, all organic stuff. Don't let that mislead you as dirt sandwiches....not the case at all. Everything I have had there has been really good. The service is always great, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MoeFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under the Sun also viewed

 
Bonners Ferry, ID
Bonners Ferry, ID
 

Been to Under the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing