We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully yummy”
Review of Papa Byrd Bistro - CLOSED

Papa Byrd Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Tallahassee, FL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderfully yummy”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The clerk at the hotel said it was good and when we got there we knew she was right. The smell of the food cooking was a treat by itself. The bread was to die for. I had the special, a braised pork shank. Too much to eat, but could not stop myself. It melted and the sauce had just perfect amount of spice without distracting from the meat. It was one of the better meals I have eaten anywhere and a real surprise when found in the charming little town of Bonners Ferry. Can't recommend it higher enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dp226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have eaten many meals at Papa Byrd's Bistro from soups and salads at lunch, to pizza, calzones and their nightly dinner specials. We have never had a bad meal there. The jalapeno butternut squash soup is wonderful, their salads are fresh, with red, ripe tomatoes that taste like tomatoes even in the middle of winter. The nightly dinner specials are wonderful and creative. The staff has always been friendly and the service has been very good. Bonners Ferry is lucky to have such a fun, fine eatery. We drive 40 miles each way, year round to eat at Papa Byrd's. I've seen other reviewers say it is expensive. I do not believe it is any more expensive than anywhere else given the quality and quantity of food served.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montanabirder406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This little Bistro is kind of hidden in old town Bonners Ferry but it's worth looking for. They have killer pizza, pasta, and specialty salads. I've tried the lasagna, pizza, and a great specialty salad. All thumbs up! Home made pizza crust and rolls. Awesome.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cusinario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam Springs
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good calzone”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The service was very good and the food was exactly what we were hoping for dinner. The salad was fresh and really good. And the calzone was large and perfect for sharing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pesto Pizza Ever!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We come through Bonners twice a year when travelling from Calgary to the Kootneys and always stop in. We love the pesto pizza, Hanks is what we usually order. It may be pricey, but this ain't no Pizza Hut or Caesars, it is piled high with fresh ingredients. Sometimes they have a lunch pizza special and it is cheaper. Leftovers are as good cold. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating. Although the place is small, it adds to the quaint atmosphere. We have been to a couple of the other restaurants in Bonners, but we definitely prefer this by far. Everyone we have either taken here or told about has also made this their favorite. They do not take reservations and their "patio" consists of 2 small tables and they are not open late. They also have very good dinner specials.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Byrd Bistro also viewed

 
Bonners Ferry, ID
Bonners Ferry, ID
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing