We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Modern Hotel and Bar
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern but Tired”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at The Modern last year when visiting family in Boise and loved it - the look, the food, the ambiance all great. This year, the motel seemed tired: the rugs in both rooms (we are a family of five so we rent two rooms) were dirty and stained, the walls were marked up and the bathroom countertop in one of the rooms was burned. The staff seem a little jaded too - with the exception of one stellar front-desk manager, who I remember as being friendly, helpful and responsive last year too. Two times our room reservation was messed up (I won't go into all the details, but one of the hotel employees was great about and the other seemed put out). I love the concept of The Modern and the look, but we'll be looking for someplace new next year. One other note: if you use a wheelchair and need an ADA-room, the only one is in front of the bar, which can be very loud at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal L, Manager at Modern Hotel and Bar, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Joanne, I am sorry the Modern Hotel let you down on your last visit to Boise. You are correct about the carpet and the the bathroom countertop. And I appreciate you pointing it out. These items have recently been addressed.
I am most disappointed that you felt the staff was less than our usual helpful selves. And I am grateful you pointed out Polly’s usual gifted ability to assist our guests. We do hope you come back again. I know you will have a much better experience. Also we do have one other ADA room. Maybe we can make this location work better for you.

Thank you, Michal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    215
    61
    21
    15
See reviews for
108
270
60
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The modern is a wonderful place to stay in Boise. Very friendly staff, excellent location for walking anywhere in town, great bar, good noise management to stay away from the action, if preferred. Nice patio. It would be nice if there was a pool. Good food. Complimentary breakfast was great. Maybe consider having bikes to rent?

Room Tip: Ask to be in the quiet section if you want to avoid the bar/party sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kaumeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,, DC
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The reviews convinced me that I wanted to stay at the Modern when I was in Boise on business. The ambiance and the friendliness were terrific. The food is local and imaginative. My group and I ate there practically every day we were there. The rooms look good, but aren't necessarily practical. I love the sink--but try actually using it to get ready in the morning. There is no counter. The shower doesn't have enough light or enough water presure. A lightbulb by the bed was out and, despite my request that it be replaced, nothing was done. Regardless, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Modern is one of small set of exceptional boutique hotels I've found across the U.S. With a simple, well-executed design aesthetic, great staff and a truly exceptional, locally-sourced breakfast included I would argue it's the best place to stay in Boise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JustJennPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

On a recent Culinary Adventure in Boise sponsored by the Idaho Division of Tourism we had the privilege of staying at the Modern for the first few nights of our stay.

The rooms were nicely updated and the Bar, not only had fabulous cocktails, but also amazing food.

It is a place that I would definitely stay at again if I am back in Boise as it is within walking or biking distance of downtown and the greenbelt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchum, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This small downtown hotel has all you need in Boise. Wonderful beds, modern bathrooms, friendly staff and well known bar and restaurant, also pet friendly. Very convenient to getting around in Boise - our favorite!

Room Tip: We have stayed in 4 different rooms in the past year and they were all good - some with king bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love this place. Truly a great bed with real pillows and nice linens. A wonderful night's sleep which is what matters most to me when traveling. Clean, peaceful, and good service. Breakfast is a nice treat. Fresh bagels, homemade fruit compote and fresh squeezed juice. A great value. My only wish -- a bathtub and a different sink. I know they spent a ton of money on these cool looking designer sinks, but they don't drain. I wouldn't let a sink keep me from staying here again and again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spudgirl345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
1.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
3.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Hotel and Bar

Property: Modern Hotel and Bar
Address: 1314 W Grove St, Boise, ID 83702-6942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Boise
#7 Business Hotel in Boise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boise
#16 Family Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Modern Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this intimate boutique hotel, where architecture and design live in harmony. ADA-compliant. Small parking lot for walk-up comfort and convenience. Street parking when lot is full. Adjacent to the Linen Building Event Center, The Modern Hotel is the ideal spot for meetings and creative professionals taking care of business. Onsite, our business center has all the hook-ups you need to tie up loose ends while you're away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Modern Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modern Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing