We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great room!they are pet friendly ,we had a king room,the bed was soo comfortable ! The bathroom is pretty big ,everything was clean ! They have an outdoor pool ! My boyfriend & I enjoyed our stay ! We stayed there for 3 days

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor and recommend our hotels to others! We appreciate that very much!
Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 535 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great room!they are pet friendly ,we had a king room,the bed was soo comfortable ! The bathroom is pretty big ,everything was clean ! They have an outdoor pool ! My boyfriend & I enjoyed our stay ! We stayed there for 3 days

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience.
We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I love the Red Lion in downtown Boise. They are a pet-friendly establishment, which is very nice, and also very well kept and clean. The bed was very comfortable, large flat-screen television, and the room was well appointed. The hotel is close to everything. The staff is super friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

There may be newer hotels in downtown Boise, but we just love the Red Lion Downtowner. It has great atmosphere and the people there are so friendly and willing to help with anything! Having the shuttle pick us up from downtown after a drink or two is a great bonus!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank JenniferBolkcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our staff and hotel.
Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommend our hotels to others! We appreciate the support!
Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Red Lion Boise had a New Years Eve party that offered a great price on the room and had a great band playing that night. The staff was great, room was clean and comfy. They provided a shuttle service that took us downtown and picked us up so we didn't have to worry about driving, the drivers were great. Over all great stay......

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank Wally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommend our hotels to others! We appreciate the support!
Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I've stayed at a lot of Red Lion properties and this is by far my favorite one. The service is excellent the rooms are clean and beds are amazingly comfortable. I would have given this 5 points but our room (469) was next to a service elevator and we were woken at 7:30 AM after a late night of celebrating New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Bronco12-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience.
We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

i stay at this hotel 5-6 times a month for work. i check in and out at odd times. the staff is very accommodating.

James: the van driver is always very prompt picking me up from the greyhound station and knows all the restaurants around the hotel and can recommend a good one for any type of food you are looking for.

Lupe: Works in the Coffee garden Restaurant always is very friendly even early in the morning. she always gets me fresh cream for my coffee instead of making me use those little 1oz cup things.

Gwen: Front desk Has a very friendly personality greets every guest with a smile. And most important to me always gives me a quite room down at the end of hall far away from the vending machines and the elevator. with out me having to ask. this is customer service!

Kerry: Front Desk she always makes me feel welcome when i arrive at the hotel. Kerry goes above and beyond for me just abut every time i stay at the hotel. when it is slow she will personally take me in the van to the store if i need to buy some thing and the van driver is not available. the other night i forgot to pack Tylenol pms she drove me to rite aid in the middle of the night so i could buy some and get my rest.

Theresa: Front Desk: Night time front desk agent or manager i am not sure. she is always very friendly despite having to be at the hotel all night.

Larry van Driver: Always is very friendly when i see him at the hotel goes out of his way to drop me off or pick me up at greyhound as soon as he possible can.







  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Morgan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our staff and hotel.
Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
855 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
3.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
850 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Modern Hotel and Bar
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boise/Towne Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Address: 1800 W Fairview Ave, Boise, ID 83702-5123 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range: $98 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing