We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and I've got to say that I was pretty impressed with the property especially given the price I paid! Upon check-in (around 10pm) there were two or three 'parties' going on in the lobby which made me a little nervous but the front desk person assured me that they would be done and over with soon and all noise levels were closely monitored and wouldn't get out of control. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful and true to their word the noise was never once an issue at all.

The room itself was a good size, nice bathrooms, fantastic towels and the bed was so comfortable! Given the fact that I spent my entire stay violently ill from food poisoning, the clean and comfortable room was so appreciated and I can't thank the staff enough for being so accommodating. Free parking, great TV channels to choose from, incredibly convenient location, I truly can't think of a downfall.

No, this is not a 5 star resort, nor does it claim to be. BUT, if you're looking for a fantastic, comfortable and convenient place to stay with a friendly and caring staff, look no further! I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our staff and hotel.
Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommend our hotels to others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 516 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have held two events at the Red Lion Boise Downtowner and have been so impressed both times! The staff is amazing to work with and are so flexible and kind. Our conference rooms were always clean and stalked with what we needed. All of our meals were great and very filling. Rooms were comfortable! There isn't one complaint I can think of. I won't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

While my comments to your review are very late, they are not without gratitude. We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our staff and hotel.
Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommend our hotels to others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room was filthy..it was supposed to be smoke free..it smelled of stale cigs..the side table had a sticky mess left..the bath tub was clogged..there was an old food tray left outside of our room from the previous tenant...not good

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. I have shared your concerns with our Housekeeping Manager; she will try to investigate which room attendant was responsible for cleaning your room, but unless the room number was shared at checkout it may be difficult.. When we are made aware of the issue we can quickly correct the situattion.

Once again I apologize for the issues during your stay.

Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I were traveling through Boise to Eugene Or from SLC and needed a place to stay in the middle that was pet friendly. We decided on staying at the Red Lion downtown because it seemed like a decent location and they were a pet friendly hotel. Friendly may be a bit excessive to say, they are a pet tolerant hotel. When we arrived the "kid" behind the counter (must have been 18) wasn't the easiest to deal with. We had questions about our room and areas that we could take the dog to go to the bathroom and he couldn't answer any of them. When he asked for a government ID to secure the room, my husband handed him his military ID card and the kid told my husband he needed a real ID instead. Once we finally got rid of the kid the rest of the stay was nice. We got to out room which was on the first floor (nice for taking out puppy) and the room wasn't outdated and had comfortable beds. My husband didn't like the overabundance of pillows; he would have rather had fewer medium firm pillows than several soft pillows. There was a flat screen TV in the room that worked perfectly. We went to the restaurant in the hotel for dinner. It was NHL playoffs and my team was playing so I didn't want to make a big thing out of dinner. The bar/restaurant had a huge TV that I was able to watch my game on and the bartender took very good care of us. He made great drinks, although my expectations weren't very high coming from Utah. The food was so-so nothing to write home about but it gave us sustenance in our bellies to account for the booze we were drinking. I was disappointed that they didn't have a designated dog area that was fenced in, but they do have a grass island that was supposed to be the dog area. The potty bags that were offered by the island hadn't been filled, but we brought our own not expecting there to be any. The carpet in the hallway from our room to the pool area looked like it had some major water damage, but other than that it was a decent hotel for the age that it is. All in All it was a decent hotel for what we needed which was a stopover on a long drive.

Room Tip: First floor is great if you have a dog.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

It was a great pleasure reading the thorough review you wrote about our property recently. The points you addressed are very understandable and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A solid 3 to 3.5 star hotel in a great location only minutes from the heart of downtown Boise. The hotel rooms have recently been renovated with new furniture and a flat panel TV. The free Wi-Fi is fast enough to stream video. The fitness center has commercial grade equipment, and the bar is comfortable. The staff went beyond expected service to solve a problem I had when I had to check out one day early on a pre-paid stay. The Red Lion Boise is my hotel anytime I’m in Boise.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor in the main tower.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_H60922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at the Red Lion Hotel Boise. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Its my second time that I've stayed here and my experience was pleasant. The front girl even remembered me which I thought was pretty neat. The rooms are clean, they offer a free shuttle service to downtown (and I think the airport maybe too), they have a hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable tv, wifi and work desk. I recommend this as a great place to stay at a good price close to downtown. FYI - use priceline for the best deal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBiird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience.

Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were walk-ins and only stayed one night but we had a clean room (pillows were soft and fluffy) and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Very close to downtown and the price was right! We didn't check out the breakfast because we slept in to late. Check out was at noon which was super nice not having to rush out the next morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanetten5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#9 of 58 in Boise
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#7 of 58 in Boise
731 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boise/Towne Square
3.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Address: 1800 W Fairview Ave, Boise, ID 83702-5123 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range: $103 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing