We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its prime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was comfortable and the staff, for the most part, helpful and friendly. Lobby carpets were worn and soiled, the hotel in general is about ten years overdue for an update. Terrible coffee served in both the restaurants and for meetings.
Wifi access was good throughout the facility. Not a bad value for the price but not impressive either.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodHands4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 531 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have used this hotel before as it is pet friendly, but was not impressed with the cleanliness overall. The room was okay except for coffee drips on the bathroom floor. It had not been cleaned properly. Just because you travel with a furry companion doesn't mean you give up cleanliness!

Room Tip: No breakfast provided. Menu seemed expensive for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexi2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

I would like to extend my appreciation for the time you spent sharing your observations with me. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. Please be assured that the items mentioned were investigated and corrective action was taken as necessary.

Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ok here is the situation 99% of the staff were nice and helpful so I won't make them all go down for the one girl who was working the next morning. The rooms only have one open outlet which is really a pain for those of us that travel with more then one electronic. Our tub did not drain hardly at all, there was a burnt out light in the vanity (weird housekeeping didn't notice these things) the TV was a nice flat screen but reception was poor and the fitted sheets DIDN'T FIT! Subpar hotel and doesn't at all live up to Red Lions standards I wouldn't think.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 224 and it is directly above the entry to the hotel set back a little looked out my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I’m sorry that the room you stayed in had issue with the TV, bathtub drain, light bulb and sheets. Our Housekeeping manager and Maintenance are working on correcting the issues you mentioned at this moment.

I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay.

Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beds are pretty comfortable, shower is nice with good pressure.. Close to downtown and shopping.Staff was friendly and helpful. Free continental breakfast was tasty. Nice roomy, comfortable rooms. Nice atmosphere. Would stay here again. Check in was easy and fast. TV was a flat screen. The rooms are updated and cheery. Good stay in Boise at the Red Lion.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoryLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is older, but rooms are clean and comfortable. The Cafe opens at 6:00 am each morning with a very tasty buffet breakfast for $6. A real bargain. We enjoyed our stay and found the staff friendly and helpfuyl.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

As a "Friend of the Red Lion"; it pains me to write this. I called ahead to ask about amenities as I was travelling to Boise with my two kids, and was told there was a pool and restaurant on site. After a long drive we arrived to find there was in fact a pool...outside and closed until later in the month (As a side note; it was in the 80's). So we decided to get dinner only to told that no one under 21 was allowed in. They offered to set up a table in the hallway outside adjacent to the lobby, which made made us feel like lepers. Needless to say we left and ate elsewhere. The rooms are standard Red Lion, clean and comfortable, however there was no movie service option available as in most hotels. We checked out the next morning and went to a nearby hotel, which was infinetly better. I will stay at Red Lions in the future (Lewiston, ID. is a 5) but never the Boise facility, and would admonish those with a family to do the same. The nearby Boise Inn is far superior, as well as cheaper on the wallet!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott7507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

I apologize for your frustration you experienced during your recent visit. It was personally very disappointing for me to read your review. Unfortunately it sounds like someone gave you poor information when answering your questions regarding our amenities. It is true our pool is outdoors. Our pool was scheduled to open on May 15th. We opened the pool on May 10th, because it is unseasonable warm weather for a few days. Hopefully it will warm back up again soon. Our Coffee Garden Restaurant serves Breakfast and Lunch from 6AM until 4:30PM. Then at 4:30PM we begin serving meals in our Characters Sports Bar where state law requires guest to be 21 years of age. However at the entrance our Sports Bar we have a table set for 6 - 8 guest to order meals if they wish.

Once again I apologize for the less than positive experience you had our hotel.

Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel with a kind and caring staff. I have stayed here multiple times and each experience is always a great one. Jessica at the front desk is so welcoming and helpful. James the van driver is amazing. His contagious smile, joyful attitude, and incredible knowledge of the area is so appreciated. He goes above and beyond to make sure your stay in Boise is wonderful. He is truly so accommodating and makes each guest feel at home.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in downtown Boise. A great clean hotel with amazing customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missym925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at the Red Lion Hotel Boise. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
843 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
0.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
844 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boise/Towne Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Address: 1800 W Fairview Ave, Boise, ID 83702-5123 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range: $93 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing