We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay w/ dog!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I'm not sure what happened to the previous reviewer but we had a very pleasant say at the Red Lion. We usually stay at the Hampton Inn in Boise but we were travelling with our dog so we decided to give the Red Lion a shot (I'd had a horrible experience there a long time ago and had avoided it ever since). We're glad we did!

The staff was very pleasant and accommodating and they were very nice about the dog. The hotel is a bit older but the room was clean, quiet and comfortable and they put us at the end of one wing right next to the designated dog area (really small but much appreciated!).

We liked the outdoor hot-tub - it was much nicer to be outside than inside at the Hampton Inn pool area which can be crowded and loud.

Its an easy walk into the heart of downtown and an inexpensive cab ride back. We were pleasantly surprised by our stay and I'm sure we'll be staying again, even without the dog!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sssv83353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience.
We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 518 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Came to a conference and they had check in issues not having room ready at 3PM, they system went down and couldn't assign rooms. got to room and no internet. Frustrating when you are working away from the office. Staff was really goo at trying to handle the issues so kudos to them.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that tend to have better internet access if this is important to you. I was told that...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay. I am glad you enjoyed our guest rooms and staff, but I am sorry to hear about the difficulty you had checking in and with our internet service. We take all of our guest’s comments seriously as they assist us in providing better service. We hope you will be staying with us again so we can prove our ability to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed here before and loved it. The problem with this stay was that we had our children. The rooms that have enough beds are way to small to have kids in. I went to the front desk to ask for a crib and the women working that night was extremely rude. When I did finally get the playpen bed, the mattress was so stained and disgusting I was not going to have my daughter sleep until I got a sheet for it. I called the front desk and asked the same lady for an extra blanket. She rudely told me they do not have any extra sheets or blankets. I said your kidding, I just need one for my baby and she said she couldn't help me. I had to take the sheet off my bed to cover the mattress. What kind of hotel doesn't have an extra blanket for a baby!!
Friday afternoon when we checked in we were greeted by a very friendly women. Hopefully they will re-evaluate their staff and get more people working like the one that greeted us! We will give this hotel one more try, when we do not have our children, and hope that the women no longer is working there.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunflower980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

I would like to extend my appreciation for the time you spent sharing your observations with me. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. Please be assured that the items mentioned have been investigated and corrective action was taken.

I do hope that you will come back and visit us again and if there is anything I can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent two nights here, almost no complaints. Front desk staff - Friendly, helpful. Rooms - Clean, refreshed (it is an older hotel), quiet, very comfortable. Food - Surprisingly good, and service was excellent.

I spent a weekend here for recreation and a little business. Gotta say, I was impressed. I've stayed in several hotels in Boise, this one stands out. Great room, nicely furnished. Flat panel TV (though I will comment, no HD channels - Probably the cable providers fault, but HD channels would be a nice upgrade).

The food services really surprised me, I wasn't expecting much. I had two opportunities to try their food. First was a Saturday night, around 11:00PM. I wanted some food and a night cap. Their bar area is very nice. They had one bartender on (John), no other floor staff. They got slammed while I was there, but John worked his [--] off in the most professional way. Everyone was happy. I had the Fettuccine Alfredo with house salad. We're not talking 5 star restaurant, but they REALLY surprised me on quality and taste. I opted for room service the next day, Steak and eggs. Steak was cooked to medium (per order), eggs were right on, and the hash browns were excellent.

For the nightly cost, this hotel was more than well worth it. It's location location is a -little- rough in the neighborhood, but I think it makes up for that in quality. I WILL be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. In this economy and time, we realize that you can stay anywhere and your feedback allows us the opportunity to address any concerns there might have been so we can continuously work towards creating a positive experience for all our guest.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We are on a road trip so generally spending one night in most places so are criteria are clean, comfortable bed and good location. This filled all of that. Welcoming check in and very spacious room. A bit of a walk to restaurants for some people but we don't mind that. We used the gym which was adequate and had a night cap at the bar which was also good service. Hotel a bit dated/ old fashioned in decor but still would use it again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CD323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a great hotel to stay in. The room was large and clean and most important everything worked. The service was outstanding. Delicious popcorn in the bar. The hotel was very clean. There was real team work here we even saw a gentlemen who appeared to be the manager cleaning tables at breakfast. We will always use this hotel when in Boise!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gino928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience.
We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels in Boise and this is by far one of the nicest. The rooms were very clean and staff was nice. The restaurant and bar served very good hamburgers and the bartender was great. We will definitely stay here from now on.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunflower980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#9 of 58 in Boise
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#7 of 58 in Boise
731 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boise/Towne Square
3.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Address: 1800 W Fairview Ave, Boise, ID 83702-5123 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range: $103 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing