We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I just got back from staying in Boise for our birthdays and one year anniversary. Staying at the Red Lion Boise Downtowner was a great experience. We had a Standard King Room. With a very nice view. The room was exceptionally clean. I read other reviews saying that the place and location was bad but I don't think it was. The food in the cafe and lounge is great! I recommend the American Breakfast. It's to die for! FYI this place is actually close to Downtown contrary to other reviews.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms in the tower because they have a patio you can go out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queen801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
While my comments to your review are very late, they are not without gratitude. In a time when people are often too busy to provide any type of feedback, it is always a great pleasure to know that someone has taken the time to put something in writing in regards to their stay with our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    112
    50
    22
    18
See reviews for
73
75
37
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

great hotel close to down town and the employees are great,i stay here about 3 times a week and love to stay here. montoya and beth at the front desk are always very helpful. the food in the restaurant is great, they serve a buffet in the morning that is a good buffet with lots of variety. i'm always happy to be a guest here.

Room Tip: would stay here even when im on vacation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

At first glance the hotel seems a bit dated which it is. However the rooms are updated and very nice and teh beds are great. The bar has friendly staff and lots of tv's for watching. The front desk and shuttle driver were all awesome.. They weren't supposed to get too close to the BSU stadium on game day because of traffice but the guy knew a secret way to get us close.. Great customer service peeps!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hpaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

What i like in a motel is to feel welcome to have a home away from home not here desk clerk cold snobby should a walked out then rooms had ammenities quiet ok asked for extra pillow again treated badly this is pricey n we did not find what we want or need are going elsewhere tonight in our experience sometimes small family owned places can be better than larger places n thats where we are headed this wasnt personable nice polite we actually went 2 store 2 buy xtra pillows n handtowels! We wont be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 101katra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay and that we did not follow through as we most definitely should have. If you would kindly contact me, I will certainly make it right.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was a Hotwire deal for us , Although we did not specifically choose the Red Lion Downtowner it turned out to be on the best stays on our vacation. The outside may not look like lthat impressive, but the inside was very well kept up, our room was immaculate and extremely comfortable. Slept like we were at home. We also appreciated the location. Close enough to downtown to walk most places, but also out of the main traffic area and quiet.

While the Downtowner does not include breakfast in the stay, there is a a good restauraunt in the lobby with reasonable prices, excellent food, and very friendly staff. The staff of the hotel that we encountered were all very friendly and helpful.

Even though Hotwire picked the Red Lion Downtowner for us on this trip, it's the place we woud go to the next time we are in Boise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

stayed here this week since every other hotel in Boise was filled due to the Boise Open.

Location is bad; nothing is walkable from it except for the strip clubs across the streets.

Rooms are clean, but layout is strange. For instance you can't open the bathroom door without hitting the toilet. You cant put the bath mat on the floor and still close the door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I would like to extend my appreciation for the time you spent sharing your observations on tripadvisor. I am truly sorry for not meeting your expectations. I noticed that you had a two night stay with us. When the room is vacated that you stayed in I will check out your concern with the bathroom door.

In your rerview you mentioned that nothing was walkable. We have many guest that daily walk to the Albertsons shopping center that is less than a quarter mile from the hotel. We also have guest walk to the center on downtown Boise which is approximately half mile for the hotel and easy 10 minute walk. We also make our shuttle service available to guest wanting a ride downtown.

Once again I apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC Utah
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Well, a very good location, but the common areas need a good cleaning. Front desk staff is very nice and accommodating. Beds are comfortable and rooms are slightly above average. Maid service was not very good. Glasses and coffee maker not cleaned each day. Priclined it at $52. It is more of a 2 1/2 star property and in my op[inion, not worth more than what I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room for a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csolsen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. I have shared your concern with our Housekeeping Manager, she is investigating which housekeeper was responsible for cleaning your room. The housekeeper will recieve additional training.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#6 of 55 in Boise
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.3 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#7 of 55 in Boise
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 55 in Boise
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
0.6 mi away
Hotel 43
Hotel 43
#20 of 55 in Boise
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Property: Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Address: 1800 W Fairview Ave, Boise, ID 83702-5123 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing