We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here with my 3 kids on our way from Colorado to Washington state. Walked in, and the lobby smelled like a bowling alley. I had 2 kids in a stroller, 1 walking, and pulled 1 suitcase. The person at the front desk assigned me to the only room that had 2 beds left, then told me it was on the 2nd floor, and the elevator was broken. When I asked how I was expected to get up the stairs with my stroller she was extremely rude, then made a big deal of assigning me to a first floor single bed room, and bringing in a roll away bed.
The one redeeming part of our stay here was our room service breakfast. Food was hot and tasty, and the lady who brought it was kind and courteous.
I would probably only stay here again if it came up on Hotwire again. Not terrible, but not great either.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMommyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
First and foremost, thank you for posting an honest and open review. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. Your concerns were shared with our department heads and action was taken to correct issues you encountered.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    143
    68
    29
    25
See reviews for
90
92
42
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Did Priceline 3 star, and got this room for about 1/2 price. Lobby is dated and the front desk staff had a bit of attitude, but the room was clean and beds were comfy. What I really liked was the bar and restaurant being open late. The beer selection was great. The bartender let me sample a couple local beers! Food was prepared quickly and was decent. Loved the $5 breakfast. Ordered eggs from the kitchen for couple more bucks. Very nice stay for the money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
While my comments to your review are very late, they are not without gratitude. In a time when people are often too busy to provide any type of feedback, it is always a great pleasure to know that someone has taken the time to put something in writing in regards to their stay with our property.

Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I love stay at the Downtowner! The staff is so accommodating, friendly, and great. Its a fantastic place to get some rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisstuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is perfect for a casual get away or even on business . As a matter of fact this particular red lion is my favorite, out of many. The hotel is very accommodating especially to R&R Members. The rooms are great, very clean and spacious. The bar is fantastic!! My honey enjoyed going down often. Unlike many of those dark empty hotel bars. This one has Good drinks, great food. Nice ppl. And there's always conversation. There a pool table and few choices of games darts act.... !! JASON (bartender) is great and fast...so when things get busy, you'll see him move faster lol but never makes a difference in service! ken (hotel manger) is the best i must add . He's was very accommodating to one of my requests so that made our stay even better !!! I love the pool and hot tube set up Its so nice (not like many red lions) and the gym here is perfect. This would be my favorite part of entire hotel beside the view;) they have options !!!!!! This gym is spacious and has 7 exercise equipments to chose from plus weight bench and two work out mats... Two flat screens and a fresh water system always clean towels .. I've stayed at 2 other places in boise but the red lion has me coming back . The staff here has the best customer service and everything is always done to accommodate the guest !! Business or pleasure its always wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sierena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

One of their elevators was out of order, so asked for a room on the main floor. They put us in the tower which had a working elevator! Fantastic room! Friendly staff and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelladycoleedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
While my comments to your review are very late, they are not without gratitude. In a time when people are often too busy to provide any type of feedback, it is always a great pleasure to know that someone has taken the time to put something in writing in regards to their stay with our property.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

No matter how long I go between visits to Boise, my stay at the Red Lion Downtowner is always my home away from home. I am always treated well by the employees (from the front desk, to housekeeping, the restaurant, and bar). I have always found the hotel to be clean and I love windows you can open. It is convenient to downtown as well as to a mini freeway that takes you quickly to other parts of town. I have stayed there since the late 90's and I have always been a satisfied customer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixie-geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here one night on road trip. Elevator broken. Entry doors greasy/dirty with overflowing ashtray right next to doors. Ick. Room seemed clean but smelled bad despite generous Febreze overlay. Windows dirty. Not really downtown as name implies, you'll need a car to get to most restaurants.

Nice young man at reception though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferncove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. Your concerns were shared with our department heads and action was taken to correct issues you encountered. The elevator that is in our three story building is currently out of service. Our elevator service company has ordered the necessary parts to repair the elevator as quickly as possible. We are told the elevator should be operational in the next couple of weeks. We have been offering to assist guest with their luggage to the rooms on the second or third floor. The elevator in our seven story building is fully operational.

Once again I apologize for the less than positive experience you had our hotel.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.9 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.4 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
685 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
3.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Property: Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Address: 1800 W Fairview Ave, Boise, ID 83702-5123 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing