We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Property on the Way Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Riverside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Older Property on the Way Back”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This former Red Lion Inn was purchased a few years ago by investors and their efforts at rehabilitation and upgrading are starting to pay off. The property is on the west side of Boise near Garden City and it sits along a hike and bike trail along the Boise River. The hotel doesn't take much advantage of that except that guests have easy access to the trail. Most of the rooms overlook the inner courtyard instead of the nicer view of the river. Some of the rooms have been refurbished and refurnished, and these are very good and clean and stylish. The older rooms are ho-hum and drab, and have dings and nicks and dirty corners needed a good cleaning. I was at a conference and saw both types, while I was in an older room. The rooms are very spacious, suite-like, but the older rooms don't take advantage of the large expanse. The breakfast buffet is very good with made-to-order omelettes and a great selection, a little pricy, but worth it. The conference facilities were very good, with large and small rooms and good catering service. There are no elevators, and if you get an upstairs room far from the lobby and cannot park near, the walk up and down stairs is tedious with baggage. There is no valet parking or bellhop service, so you are on your own. If you can't lug your own luggage up stairs, get a downstairs room near the lobby or ask for a handicapped room. I had a room near the back facing the courtyard, and the noisy outside bar and partying at the pool required me to close the balcony doors, turn on the AC (which wasn't really needed) to make white noise.

Room Tip: Stay far away from the back near the outside bar and grill during warm months. If you cannot lug yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRiverside H, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
I'm sorry you had such a negative impression of my Hotel. I would like to speak with you further about this review. Please contact me directly at derek.mcelroy@riversideboise.com. I look forward to speaking with you about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    196
    51
    31
    12
See reviews for
205
180
34
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed a weekend (Sept. 14th, 2013) and had a great time! A few staff I'd like to especially acknowledge are:
Nancy T., Bartender Extraordinaire!
Brittany R. and Lisa H. who were fun and friendly servers in the poolside bar
Ryan the shuttle driver

The hotel is beautiful, the shower is awesome, the breakfast buffet is wonderful, but best of all the staff are icing on the cake!
Cindy T., Seattle

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had reservations at this motel and had to cancel due to a minor emergency. We stopped in at the motel while traveling thru their city to let them know. I was greeted by Amity at the front desk. I explained our situation and she was very helpful and cancelled everything except I had to call Expedia for reimbursement I did so while I was there. I was put on hold for over 25 minutes while they had to call the motel. I went back to the desk and Amity said they had not called or faxed any info to them. She then proceeded to call them herself. She handled everything for us saying she would take good care of us. She did. That's great customer service. This motel has a great employee and we will defiantly come back AND tell all our friends. Great looking motel and location. Thank You Amity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 02Tom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I are currently staying at the Riverside with a 5 day convention. We have been quite impressed with everyone we have encountered.After reading several mixed reviews ,I did not know what to expect. We have had super service from the moment we checked in. Cindy at the lobby bar was fantastic! She suggested a few dining options when we asked about dinner in downtown. She even made our reservations and had James ,also great, to take and pick us up on the shuttle. We had a to die for breakfast next morning! The beds are super comfortable-wish I could take one home! Our room overlooks the parking lot but I'm sure for a little extra we could have had a river view which is the case with all hotels.The grounds are beautiful with roses blooming! Although there are some cosmetics changes in the process,I can't understand why anyone would give this hotel a poor rating. If you want the Ritz Carlton go pay 500.00 a night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee Dee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRiverside H, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I am so happy to hear about what a great stay you are having! It is always great to hear about how my Staff has gone above and beyond in making our guests' stay even better by doing the little extra things that are so memorable. Thank you for your comments, and I look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a wild and wonderful experience at this hotel. late arrival, rushed to the bar for dinner, expecting cold French fries and foolish junk. instead, we were pleasantly surprised by delectable pan fried trout and perfectly garlicky pasta that arrived quickly. So okay, this place might not be so bad. Explored the river walk area, beautiful location with plenty of amenities in the hotel. But the kicker came the second night, as a thunderstorm rolled through. We were having cocktails at the pool bar around 4pm, (with our dog mind you, because they like dogs here). The storm came through quickly and sent everyone scurrying. Without a blink, the lifeguards, servers, bartenders and staff had everyone squared away, all the hatches battened down, and our dog was hanging out inside the bar getting free cookies from everyone around which our icy cold beers were being topped up. when the storm passed, they fired up the bbq again and went right back to business. Yup they have nice rooms, a great location, all the amenities for the kids, lots of good food, but with nice people like that, service industry people in Idaho should get paid waaaaaay more and have free health care.

Room Tip: Big rooms with nice modern updates, bottom floor riverside allows access the path ways easily. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrucil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at The Riverside Hotel in Boise for a group event in September 2013. While we were very pleased with the property and location that's where the praise ends. The service at the hotel at every level was substandard from the front desk at check in to service at The Riverside Grill to service in the bar. Throughout our stay we were met with lackadaisical service that ranged from being ignored at the front desk while clerks were on the phone and uninterested to waiting 10 minutes for service at the bar. We might stay here again but would lower our service expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRiverside H, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
It is very unusual for me to hear anything like this about the Staff at The Riverside Hotel. In fact, reviews in the past have made great comments about the Staff while maybe less enthusiastic comments about the location or the age of the facility. I want to hear more about what happened during your recent stay. I am sorry you had this experience, but I want to make our service even better, and address any individual staff members as needed. Please respond to me directly at derek.mcelroy@riversideboise.com at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We loved staying at the Riverside. The staff is very friendly and they present guests with a chocolate chip cookie upon check in. The hotel has a large, lovely salt water pool. The breakfast buffet is fabulous with locally grown produce. A winner on every level.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
1.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
739 reviews
1.2 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Property: The Riverside Hotel
Address: 2900 W Chinden Blvd, Boise, ID 83714-6629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boise
#9 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel's riverfront location offers direct access to the Boise Greenbelt's 26-mile paved trail alongside Boise River. Our spacious guest rooms are decorated in a Contemporary style, including an ergonomic chair at an oversized desk featuring task lighting and an easy-access power source. Work with ease and efficiency from your room, utilizing two telephones with complimentary high speed internet. Guest rooms include one King or two Queen beds, most with courtyard or river views. Pet friendly, must be 21 and over to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Boise
Boise Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing