We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for the Brady Bunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Riverside Hotel
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Looking for the Brady Bunch”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A somewhat dated, 70s decor made for a fun stay at the Riverside Hotel in Boise Idaho. Extremely clean and efficient, this was not your typical Embassy suites hotel experience. Set on the banks of the Boise river, this expansive hotel was hosting the Wild West historical society annual meeting during our stay.After a restful night, post-kayaking, we awoke to find a stagecoach parked next to our Subaru! Staff eagerly lent us bikes in the early AM for a leisurely ride along the river path/The bar poolside, was hopping on Friday night and we enjoyed a great dinner and conversation with many locals. I highly recommend for a quirky, fun stay while passing thru Boise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    197
    52
    31
    12
See reviews for
208
181
35
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is an older hotel however it has been remodeled and is very nice. Rooms are updated with flat screens and new furnishings. My room was very quiet unlike some of the newer hotels whose walls shake every time someone shuts a door. The breakfast buffet was complimentary and was unbelievable. Omelet bar, waffles and everything else. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool area is huge with nice chairs, umbrellas and bar service.

Room Tip: get a ground floor room with a patio. Nice to sit out in the lawn chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachkid_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRiverside H, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel. We have been working very hard for the last two years to make every stay better. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff was so very helpful in getting us into our room a little early. Our Junior Suite was roomy, clean and smelled good (a must for me.) We loved the shower and large bathroom with two sinks. The current owners are updating the property, so some areas looked a little dated, but always clean.

We had a dip in the pool, were served some delicious drinks poolside and had a late lunch at The Sandbar Patio Bar & Grill (yummy.) There were quite a few folks who watched the football game in the Lobby Lounge and the game was also playing in The Sandbar. Live music in the evenings made it feel like a party happening at the pool.

The Sunday Brunch the following morning at The Riverside Grill was delicious. Tons of choices and I was pleasantly surprised that mimosas were included!

My husband and I spent our honeymoon night at The Riverside Hotel 23 years ago (under different name and ownership.) This visit was almost as much fun! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The bed and pillows were heavenly! Chocolate chip cookies were yummy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRiverside H, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments about The Riverside Hotel. Our Brunch is very popular and I love to hear how people have enjoyed it. Our pool is the largest all-saline pool in the State and I'm so glad you had a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about the Riverside Hotel. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds were AWESOMELY comfy! The staff was friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cochranekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRiverside H, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
A clean, comfortable room is at the heart of any great stay. I am so happy you enjoyed the Hotel so much. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I recently attended the Spirit of Boise hot air balloon festival (which I highly recommend attending) and we were booked at this location by the festival group. Apparently the place has been through a couple of owners in recent years, so I heard mixed reviews about the place. Whatever the case the new owners are definitely headed in the right direction. The staff was super friendly and I just LOVE the location right along side of the Boise river. Which by the way is awesome as they have this trail called the Greenbelt which allows you simple access to the city within a reasonable walk or bike ride (you can rent bikes right on the property which was a cool feature.)

The pool was not extravagant but definitely a lively place to be plus there was ample seating and plenty of towels and food/beverage service. There's a great little outdoor restaurant called the Sandbar, which is located right between on the Greenbelt and the pool. Also you can walk to Joe's Crab Shack which is about a 50-100 yard walk depending on the location of your room.

I had a first floor room which had a sliding glass door that enabled very easy access to the pool. Now the one bad note was the sliding glass door, it was fairly difficult to open I think they need to drop a few bucks on repairs or new doors all together. Beyond the door issue the rest of the stay was awesome and I'd DEFINITELY stay there again! I also want to note outstanding service that was provided by Tamara (Front Desk), Jenny (Sand Bar) and the over night front desk clerk whose name escapes me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRiverside H, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I'm sorry you had a hard time with the sliding glass door in your room. Thanks for letting us know about this issue so it could be taken care of immediately. Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your good comments. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for five days with my large dog, lab, and my kitty. Nice comfy room about 30 feet from the river and the Greenbelt pathway. A cute Tiki Bar/restaurant that my dog and I ate everyday! Great pool, jacuzzi, bike rentals and much more for families...more bars and restaurants in the hotel. Friendly staff, good room service.

Room Tip: River facing rooms. Pool rooms can be noisey, but good for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRiverside H, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I'm so glad you and your dog had a great time at our Hotel. I hope you had the chance to get a dog biscuit at the Sandbar. For your dog, I mean. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely setting along the river, large rooms, beautiful pool area, and restaurants and bars on site; while a little dated and worn in places the setting, room size and amenities make up for it. A little tricky to find, esp. from downtown - watch the one-way streets! Overall, very nice place.

Room Tip: Rooms have fridges and coffee makers, which I didn't see on the room descriptions. Breakfast not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stratkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRiverside H, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank for your comments. We have been working very hard on the Hotel for the last two years, and will continue to do so until you won't see any "worn" areas. Thank you for staying with us. I hope you see the improvements every time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
1.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
746 reviews
1.2 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Property: The Riverside Hotel
Address: 2900 W Chinden Blvd, Boise, ID 83714-6629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boise
#9 Business Hotel in Boise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel's riverfront location offers direct access to the Boise Greenbelt's 26-mile paved trail alongside Boise River. Our spacious guest rooms are decorated in a Contemporary style, including an ergonomic chair at an oversized desk featuring task lighting and an easy-access power source. Work with ease and efficiency from your room, utilizing two telephones with complimentary high speed internet. Guest rooms include one King or two Queen beds, most with courtyard or river views. Pet friendly, must be 21 and over to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Boise
Boise Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing